We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a good experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Chennaoui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Chennaoui
Ranked #355 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Almost a good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The pros:
- excellent location, near Jema el-Fnaa and other objectives, but in an area with a lot of riad hotels, which seemed safe and quieter
- it looks very nice, with an excellent courtyard and basic, but pretty rooms
- the owners were nice and helpful
- the rooftop terrace was not open in February, but it promised to be a wonderful place where to spend your evenings during warmer seasons
- it was decently clean
The cons:
- this sort of place is built to stay colder than outside, which is great during the hot season, but not so great during cooler months; they had an AC, unfortunately no remote control or other way to start it
- the boilers were unable to provide hot water (or lukewarm at least) for a larger group, that is something that they should really take care of
- the breakfast was not too great, the coffee was horrible, and same things every day
- it can be noisy, so beware if you're a light sleeper (though wonderfully crazy Marrakesh should cure that for you)

Since we were a very large group and the prices were negotiated for us by someone else, I can't really judge the price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyanneRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    12
    4
    9
See reviews for
12
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

THE HOSTS:
Mr Ahmed Chennaoui and his daughter Snaa are wonderful and great hosts. This Riad is very much family run and you will get to see and chat with all members of the family including Mr Chennaoui great children.

LOCATION:
Very tricky to find this Riad. You will need a good sense of direction. It is in the heart of an old part of Marrakesh. Jmaa El Fna is a good 15 minutes walk through a very narrow alley lined with many shops. If you are a first time visitor you will most certainly need a taxi from the airport to this Riad. Or better still contact for the Riad to arrange for airport transfer at 150 Dirhams (£12).
At the end of the alley where the Riad is situated, there is a car park, where you will find some taxis.
Around the corner from the Riad there is a small shop handy for day to day items.

THE RIAD / ROOMS:
There are a couple of single rooms, but the rest of other rooms are very much for multiple sleepers ideal for a group of friends. All rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. There are no TVs and the showers are shared. The reception and dining area are impressive with beautiful wall and floor tiles, a fountain and very comfortable colourful and exotic settees where you can sit down and watch TV. There is roof top terrace with few sun loungers and tables and chair. Ideal for watching sunset in the evenings. There is no bar or restaurants in the riad.

BREAKFAST:
Oranges, croissants, jag of coffees and milk. Not much variations, but there are many places for cheap eating in and around Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gradara, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Riad Chennaoui is located at only 7/8 minutes walking from the Djema el-Fna, the Marrakech's main square. The owners are very kind and polite, and every time we came back they offered us mint tea. The riad is lovely, clean, with majolicas, a fountain and beautiful doors. Price is honest. Recommend!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank EvaG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were really happy with Riad Chennaoui and would highly recommend it if like us, you are on an middle-range budget. We were only going to stay for 2 nights but stayed for 5.

The manager and family that live there are warm and welcoming. We found the manager, Abdul to be extremely helpful, flexible and kind. I a city where it's difficult to trust strangers he was a treasure and went out of his way to make our stay the most comfortable and helped arrange our activities.

Most of the rooms are beautiful and the atmosphere is laid back. Don't expect entertainment, the Riad seemed very quiet but accommodation of the fun you bring.

Some of the rooms are stunning and for a very good price, it would be worth discussing this with the manager to see what's available. There is a great roof terrace (which was usually empty when we were there). The Riad wasn't the most clean and tidy but the space is still great.

Breakfast was good value value for money.

We highly recommend Riad Chennaoui! Great value for money!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are much quieter than 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Myself and my wife had planned to stay for 4 nights over the new year but left after our first night – something we have never had to do in many years of international travel. Our room, and indeed much of the hotel smelt of sewage (which can happen in city's with less developed infrastructure – what was unacceptable was the denial by staff that this was a problem), there was no working lock on the door to our room (again apparently not a problem!). When we gave our reasons for leaving we were forced to pay for a second night as staff would not release our luggage or let us leave until we did this.
Other than these immediate issues the hotel is hugely overpriced, has a run down, chilly and pretty grim atmosphere. A real shame as the building is a rather grand old riad which could have potential. One to avoid (even if desperate) as there are plenty of far, far better accommodation options in wonderful Marrakech.
We ended up in a far more convivial Riad which had friendly staff, a warm atmosphere, was better located and (incidently) cost almost half the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped off in Marrakech for four days, and, at the suggestion of a friend we met in Casablanca, we went to Riad Chennaoui. Amazing experience. The Riad had great wifi, a very comfortable room, a very cool air conditioner, and a beautiful courtyard. The Riad was in the middle of the medina, and only a quick walk away from all of the tourist stops. Abdul, the hotel worker, was very nice and accommodating. The price per night was very reasonable.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay in Marrakech, thanks - in no small part - to Riad Chennaoui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good located beautiful Riad in the Medina near Palais Bahia. Very friendly staff - especially Abdul.

And nobody try to sell anything ore wants to make any business ... ;-)

The rooms are simple, but nice and not so small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casual_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#330 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#256 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#315 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#213 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#247 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#484 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chennaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chennaoui

Property: Riad Chennaoui
Address: Marrakech | Marrakech, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chennaoui 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Chennaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chennaoui Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing