We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad and Amazing Hospitality”
Review of Riad Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Sofia
Ranked #264 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I booked this Riad for a large group vacation (7 couples, 3 babies) after much internet research. I have to say, all of our expectations were met or exceeded.
We were met at the airport, and taken to as far as the vans would go. Then the hotel manager (or assistant manager?) Ziad led us to the riad while the luggage travelled by cart. Upon entering the riad we were all astonished and amazed. It is as beautiful as the pictures show. Very authentic looking with great common areas, nice rooms and fanciful bathrooms. The roof is an awesome place to spend an afternoon relaxing after the souk or a late night smoking a hookah after dinner. Every time we walked in the front doors we felt immediately refreshed and as if stepping into a 1001 nights story.
And I can't say enough about Ziad. He was an absolutely wonderful host. He arranged everything for us - from babysitting for our little ones in the evenings, hard to get restaurant reservations, an excursion to Essaouira, and a marvelous marvelous marvelous dinner at the Riad. (Those of us with children regretted not staying in every night for our dinner.) I would absolutely and whole-heartedly recommend this lovely riad to anyone looking for an excellent value, in a great location with really warm staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fontypooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Riad Sofia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 144 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2009

We were greeted at the airport by the taxi arranged by the riad and received a warm welcome at the Riad when we arrived, including a pot of mint tea. Our room (Wattaside) was clean, roomy and traditional, just as it looked on the internet photos. The location was good - about a 10-15 minute walk to the main square. The terrace at the Riad was very pretty and made a nice setting for the tasty breakfast that was provided.

I would definitely return to this Riad and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carinad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Possibilité de demander une chambre twin
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastien b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank olibu2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jsigna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Giovanni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.7 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 502 in Marrakech
882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#225 of 502 in Marrakech
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Julia
Riad Julia
#406 of 1,160 in Marrakech
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#41 of 1,160 in Marrakech
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,160 in Marrakech
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sofia

Address: 179, Derb Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Near Dar El Bacha Medina, Marrakech 40003, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $51 - $1,189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Sofia 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Sofia invites you to discover the Moroccan way of life in a traditional setting with all modern comforts recently installed. The architecture and decor are elegant and restrained. There is a, swimming pool a Berber tent on the roof terrace and a Moroccan hammam and massage. The Riad comprises 7 air-conditioned rooms, each one with a sitting area and a bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing