We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WONDERFUL TRANQUIL OASIS - RIAD SOFIA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sofia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Sofia
Ranked #242 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL TRANQUIL OASIS - RIAD SOFIA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I recently spent a week at the idylic RIAD SOFIA and I can only say highly positive things about this beautiful tranquil oasis.
The service was lovely, I was given a complimentary "Hamman" which was just wonderful after a long day wandering around town...I had a beautiful spacious room all to myself (I was travelling alone) with an open fireplace and an area to breakfast if you wish.
The rooms are very spacious..the bathroom beautiful! 2 sinks and a stone bath in an alcove...in traditional Marrocan style.
I loved retreating to my "oasis" in the afternoon for a rest and a tea..sometimes the maid would offer me free mint tea which was very nice.
I would definately return to this hotel. They also have another lovely place nearby which I stayed in one night called RIAD JULIA which is very similar in it's layout and design.
Both have rooftop terraces where you can lounge around or eat...
I felt extremely comfortable in both hotels, they were spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, very peaceful.
I would not really recommend it for children though as everything can be heard in the courtyard so it's necessary to not make too much noise in the courtyard.
A beautiful oasis in the middle of the Medina..and only about 10-15 minutes walk to the centre (Jemaa El Fna)
HIGHLY RECOMMMENDED!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms were spacious and lovely from what I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine-Ryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    21
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
48
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

In a city teeming with great riads, I took a chance on Riad Sofia based on the recommendation of an acquaintance. The riad is nicely decorated and the rooms are quiet and a nice size. However, the low quality of service was a marked contrast to all of the other riads and hotels I stayed in during my four weeks in Morocco. I was the only guest for one of my two-nights stay and was basically ignored the entire time - in fact, I had the distinct impression that I was the only person in the riad at times and even had to answer the door one night because someone kept ranging the doorbell and I was concerned that it might be one of the staff. A housekeeper who barely spoke French and no English handled my check-in and checkout because the manager never seemed to be around. I had to ask for clean sheets to be put on the bed (after finding numerous hairs when I turned down the bed), and the manager basically called me a liar until he saw the sheets for himself. The riad doesn't have or provide bottled water (even for sale), so you have to lug your own drinking water back to the room. And the manager was sleeping in the salon one night when I came downstairs to use the wifi (which doesn't work in the rooms). Although he got up and offered to move out of the room, I had the distinct feeling I was invading someone else's space. When I checked out, I was told the credit card machine was broken and when I asked if it was possible for someone to help me carry my bags to the main street to get a taxi on the day I left and was told that "this is not a service we provide." I moved to another riad in Marrakech after the second night (for a lower price), and it had a much better/safer location, closer to the Djemaa el-Fna, and the service was terrific. You're better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I decided to stay in this riad as it had great reviews, and as a single traveller a lot of other riads were quite expensive for one person. This riad was definitely great value for money. All the staff were very sweet and keen to help and avoid me getting lost! It is about a 10-13 minute walk to Jemaa el Fna, even at night I felt quite safe on my own. The area the riad is located in is quite local, with kids and families so it was great to see a real part of Marrakech. Room was very comfortable, shower was a bit tempermental, but other than that I would definitely recommend this riad to the budget conscious traveller looking for a real piece of Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulata_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I cannot reccommend this place highly enough. The Riad Sofia has been impeccably restored and is an oasis of calm in a city that is bustling with life. We were stranded during the volcanic ash disruption and Ziad the manager gave us as much access to his computer as was necessarry to re book our return. Lets face it there are worse places to be stranded. Hadija and Sahira were excellent housekeepers, the place was beautifully looked after and the food excellent. Friendly and hospitable describe perfectly the team that run the hotel Sofia. Our children Luca 8 and Scarlett 10 loved the pool and we would retreat from the heat of the roof garden to invigorate ourselves in the courtyard pool. We plan to return again and again..............................

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesfolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

It was a lovely Riad with lots of Beauty and Charm. Ziad the Manager is superb and always on hand to help out however he can. Transfers from the airport were arranged by Ziad and were cheap and the driver was a really nice guy. The rooms are superb as is the rest of the accomodation. Ziad was always on hand to arrange things for you and give local information and advice and is definitely a great asset.

The Riad is centrally located and was only 10-15 minute walk from the main market which also has lots of lovely restaraunts (and I would reccoment the Marrakechi - it was great).

We ate in the Riad on one of the nights and for about £25 we had a three course meal that was so lovely and could have easily fed 4 people with the generosity of the portions........excellent quality and excellent value for money!!!

The breakfasts were very nice too and especially lovely on their beautiful sun drenced roof terrace.

If we returned to Marrakesh again we would most definitely stay at the Riad Sofia again and would without doubt reccomend this place to friends and family!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBiggaFigga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonty
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I booked this Riad for a large group vacation (7 couples, 3 babies) after much internet research. I have to say, all of our expectations were met or exceeded.
We were met at the airport, and taken to as far as the vans would go. Then the hotel manager (or assistant manager?) Ziad led us to the riad while the luggage travelled by cart. Upon entering the riad we were all astonished and amazed. It is as beautiful as the pictures show. Very authentic looking with great common areas, nice rooms and fanciful bathrooms. The roof is an awesome place to spend an afternoon relaxing after the souk or a late night smoking a hookah after dinner. Every time we walked in the front doors we felt immediately refreshed and as if stepping into a 1001 nights story.
And I can't say enough about Ziad. He was an absolutely wonderful host. He arranged everything for us - from babysitting for our little ones in the evenings, hard to get restaurant reservations, an excursion to Essaouira, and a marvelous marvelous marvelous dinner at the Riad. (Those of us with children regretted not staying in every night for our dinner.) I would absolutely and whole-heartedly recommend this lovely riad to anyone looking for an excellent value, in a great location with really warm staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fontypooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

We were greeted at the airport by the taxi arranged by the riad and received a warm welcome at the Riad when we arrived, including a pot of mint tea. Our room (Wattaside) was clean, roomy and traditional, just as it looked on the internet photos. The location was good - about a 10-15 minute walk to the main square. The terrace at the Riad was very pretty and made a nice setting for the tasty breakfast that was provided.

I would definitely return to this Riad and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carinad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Julia
Riad Julia
#396 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Zayane Atlas
Riad Zayane Atlas
#274 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Casa Sophia
Riad Casa Sophia
#123 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Asdika
Dar Asdika
#100 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad RabahSadia
Riad RabahSadia
#240 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sofia

Property: Riad Sofia
Address: 179, Derb Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Near Dar El Bacha Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Sofia 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Sofia invites you to discover the Moroccan way of life in a traditional setting with all modern comforts recently installed. The architecture and decor are elegant and restrained. There is a, swimming pool a Berber tent on the roof terrace and a Moroccan hammam and massage. The Riad comprises 7 air-conditioned rooms, each one with a sitting area and a bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing