We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect for a long weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Bel Haj

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Bel Haj
Ranked #226 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a long weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

The perfect place to escape to for a long weekend. We enjoyed wonderful hospitality from delightful smiling staff. A welcome respite from the bustle of the souk and the sightseeing. Lunch under the tented canopy on the terrace was definately a highlight. Very comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieO49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

What a lovely riad ! peaceful and yet right in the heart of the medina. Perfect location. Excellent service and luxurious (and super clean) surroundings. Lunch on the roof terrace is a must !! Perfect base for visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vmdUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

This is a good base for a visit to the city, reasonably priced but with exceptional service

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mongoose09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We arrived late evening at the Riad after being met at the airport by a driver arranged by the riad. Initial apprehension on the approach to the riad proved to be forgotten on walking through the front door into a haven of tranquility and style.
We booked the Meknes and Rabat rooms,both located on the first floor. The rooms were tastefully decorated,immaculate and uncluttered. Our bathroom (finished in tadelakt, a Moroccan polished plaster) was fine,consisting of a large shower,washbasin and loo.
Lovely fluffy towels, a hairdryer and toiletries including locally handmade soap.
Breakfasts were taken on the rooftop terrace (apart from one day when rain prevented this) and were a great start to the day.
On our second evening we ate on the rooftop terrace. Our meal was absolutely superb - first course of Moroccan salads,followed by tagines (Lamb&prune with almonds,and Lemon chicken),then a fresh fruit salad to finish. All of the meal was outstanding, and excellent value too. Also worth mentioning is the way the staff took my partner's food allergy into consideration,at both this meal and breakfast too.
Staff at the Riad were fantastic-discreet yet attentive at all times. The riad had a quiet and peaceful ambience, which was fantastic when returning from the madness of the souks! Ideal for those people searching for a tranquil getaway.
We were appreciative of the riad's location - barely 10 mins stroll from the Jemaa El Fna and the souks. Do not be put off by the walk, it is fine and safe. Just keep a look out for mad moped/cycle/car drivers who thunder down the crowded streets!
Overall a fabulous 4 night stay in a superb riad-would heartily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankincensed09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights in this great little Riad. We had a really enjoyable time staying here, the location is great (only a 5 minute walk to the Djema el-Fna), the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, always around at the right time and definitely made us feel very welcome.

The Riad is beautifully decorated, the rooms were not huge but perfectly adequate and very comfortable.

We chose to dine at the Riad on our final night, on the roof terrace - the food was fantastic (and there was plenty of it) and the service was perfect. Breakfast was also excellent, and slightly varied each day so we had no complaints at all.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay, would definitely consider returning should we venture back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Hats off to all the staff at Riad Bel Haj. Each and everyone of them made us feel at home and at ease while staying at this quite, tastefully decorated Riad 5 minutes walk away from the main square in Marrakech.

Our adventure with Riad Bel Haj started off on the right foot from the moment we contacted Chris (one of the managers) regarding our stay, our e-mails were answered promptly and Chris went beyond the normal requests for a room by suggesting that we dine the first night at our Riad considering the first night in Marrakech can be overwhelming for the first time visitor and he was right about that! Well, dine we did… our dinner was severed by Aziz (a wonderful, gentle young man working at the Riad) on the rooftop terrace by candlelight. I cannot even begin to describe the taste, textures and colours of this meal so carefully prepared by Saida (a very talented woman who is the chef at the Riad). Infact we had booked elsewhere for our wedding anniversary celebration but after out first dining experience at Riad Bel Haj we elected to dine where we knew we would not be disappointed. Having mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary we arrived back to the Riad in the evening to find an abundance of glorious surprises awaiting us, all to which made this years anniversary one we we’ll never forget.

I could continue however what more can I say that hasn’t already been said by others who have stayed at Riad Bel Haj. Trip Advisor again didn’t let us down!


A special thanks to Amal who met us at the Riad when we arrived at the beginning of our trip and made us feel immediately in capable hands. And of course Chris who brings with him a wealth of experience and professionalism.

I would no doubt recommend Riad Bel Haj to families, couples or even groups looking to book the whole Riad. You will not be disappointed!
Jacquie and Marcello
Italy

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

The location of the riad is excellent and the rooms are great. The used lots of nice materials and objects for decoration. The personal touch of the peope is heartwarming.
We are looking forward to book this or one of the other two riads in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur_van_adrichem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#174 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#20 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Alena
Riad Alena
#127 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad CharCam
Riad CharCam
#122 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#28 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bel Haj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bel Haj

Property: Riad Bel Haj
Address: 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Medina, Riad Bel Haj is situated in the Ksour district, only 5 min walk from Jemaa el Fna square, the Koutoubia mosque and the Souks. Ksour is one of the most required districts of Marrakech for its peace, in spite of the closeness of Jemaa El Fna square. Riad Bel Haj offers an oasis of calm and serenity, rhythmic by the remote calls to the prayer of Koutoubia and birds song. The riad, recently renovated with taste and respect of the Moroccan traditions, offers nevertheless to the visitors a modern and comfortable place to remain in Marrakech. Magnificiently decorated and brightened up with artistic achievements and authentic Moroccan materials, the riad also has modern equipment such as reversible air conditioning, free WiFi access The riad is located in the middle of a quiet and well lightened derb and very easy to find, in Bab Ksour, very closed from restaurants and stores of Gueliz, Marrakech modern district. The nearest access for vehicles is 50 meters far from the Riad Bel Haj door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Bel Haj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing