We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Friday couscous”
Review of Riad Bel Haj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Bel Haj
Ranked #157 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had a lovely lunch at this lovely riad in the heart of Marrakech's teaming medina. Couscous is a traditional Friday lunch for Moroccans. I must admit that while I have had couscous in the past it is not a favourite dish and certainly not one I would have ever thought to order. But when in Morocco...

Imagine my surprise and delight to discover a delicious meal. The dish was served with an assortment of slow cooked vegetables, and a crisp bread with which to scoop up the meal. The veggies were tender but far from over cooked and the dish was so plentiful I could not finish it. The meal concluded with orange slices sprinkled with cinnamon. Light, healthy and flavourful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topdrawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 191 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent the most special week at Riad Bel Hag, you are made to feel that this is your home and the ladies that work there making breakfast and keeping the place spotless are very very lovely.
The location is just right and the roof terrace is amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richmond921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a fairly small Riad, just four rooms. Decor is tasteful, rooms are not huge but enough room for storage etc. There is a nice size plunge pool, and a nice upper terrace for relaxing.
The staff are fab and nothing is too much trouble. The Riad does offer dinner and while tasty is expensive compared to elsewhere.
Location really is five mins from the main square, also close to car access so not too far to carry luggage.
I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scot_happy_snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 3 comfortable and enjoyable nights at Bel Haj. The staff were warm and welcoming. From the delicious home cooked roof top lunch upon arrival, to restaurant and tour guide bookings. Their attentiveness was much appreciated. ((They even helped out when our son was sick!)
The Riad location could not be beat. Close to the major sites, easy access to taxis, safe and comfortable to simply meander to and from. Our suites were comfortable, fresh and clean. The small size of the Riad made it feel like it was our own home away from home.
Mandy was immensely helpful. Providing local tips, engaging conversations, and a responsive last minute airport taxi booking. We would not have made our flight without her help.
We have already recommended your Pure Riad to friends back in Canada. Thx very much.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our second flood rooms. Particularly listening to the children playing in the lane late i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

An outstanding personal service enjoyed at Riad Bel Haj , Friendly attentive staff, who never found anything too much trouble. Luxurious furnishings, lashings of hot water, and great attention to detail throughout.

Room Tip: None of the rooms will disappoint -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azzouna, Owner at Riad Bel Haj, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Mark,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Riad Bel Haj. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are delighted that you had such a good time. Your kind words about our staff will be passed on to them and they will be delighted. We hope to see you again in Marrakech before too long.
Best Wishes, Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at another riad in the Pure Riads group but did come to visit this lovely riad which is located so close to the square and the souks - quite perfect. The owner, Stuart, invited us here for a drink before dinner on the roof terrace. It is a beautiful riad and we would not hesitate to recommend it . Thank you for a great evening !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azzouna, Owner at Riad Bel Haj, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Angela,
Thank you for your lovely review of Riad Bel Haj. It was a pleasure sharing a drink with you on the roof terrace and I do hope that, next time you come back to Marrakech, you will stay with us at Riad Bel Haj.
Best Wishes, Stuart, Owner - Pure Riads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here with friends in April and had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect - from the superb locaton to the superb staff, the plunge pool and the rooms with excellent levels of comfort. Dined at a big dinner at Riad Adoreand had a hammam and massage at Riad Tzarra - both places owned by the same people. Also had a sublime driinks evening ion the roof terrace of Dar Hanane - possibly the best views of Marrakech. All in all, a great experience - huge thanks to Stuart and Mandy for organising such a great trip - we will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnut1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azzouna, Owner at Riad Bel Haj, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review of Riad Bel Haj. We well remember your stay with us and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. The dinner party on the roof terrace of Riad Adore was memorable for us too. We are so glad that you managed to visit all our other riads and particularly happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our hammam and massage experience at Riad Tzarra. We hope to be able to welcome you back to one of our riads again in the future.
Best Wishes, Stuart, Owner - Pure Riads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#69 of 500 in Marrakech
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#74 of 500 in Marrakech
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#49 of 1,172 in Marrakech
385 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Catalina
Riad Catalina
#194 of 1,172 in Marrakech
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 500 in Marrakech
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bel Haj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bel Haj

Address: 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $58 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Medina, Riad Bel Haj is situated in the Ksour district, only 5 min walk from Jemaa el Fna square, the Koutoubia mosque and the Souks. Ksour is one of the most required districts of Marrakech for its peace, in spite of the closeness of Jemaa El Fna square. Riad Bel Haj offers an oasis of calm and serenity, rhythmic by the remote calls to the prayer of Koutoubia and birds song. The riad, recently renovated with taste and respect of the Moroccan traditions, offers nevertheless to the visitors a modern and comfortable place to remain in Marrakech. Magnificiently decorated and brightened up with artistic achievements and authentic Moroccan materials, the riad also has modern equipment such as reversible air conditioning, free WiFi access The riad is located in the middle of a quiet and well lightened derb and very easy to find, in Bab Ksour, very closed from restaurants and stores of Gueliz, Marrakech modern district. The nearest access for vehicles is 50 meters far from the Riad Bel Haj door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Bel Haj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing