We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A treat but don't eat for a couple of days first!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le TOBSIL

Le TOBSIL
Ranked #78 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $72
Cuisines: Moroccan, African, Diner, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Inside a traditional house of the Medina, warm atmosphere, carpets, rose petals and candlelights for a tasting menu of moroccan specialities with the unobtrusive sound of 2 Gnawas musicians. (closed in July-August)
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A treat but don't eat for a couple of days first!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our Riad Manager recommended this restaurant for our final meal in Marrakech and it didn't disappoint. It is a little touristy but then we are tourists and there is only so much avoiding places designed to appeal to us that makes sense, otherwise what point are you trying to prove?

The restaurant is in an old Riad and is available through reservation only. Hidden in the tangle of the medina you are met by guides who bring you to the door.

Meals are set menu and the £60 per head includes your wine and all food. There is plenty of food. First course was a delicious selection of Moroccan salads, followed by a chicken tagine, then lamb tagine, then poached pear, then a small desert pastry, coffee or tea and a moroccan liqueur. I hope this conveys just how much food was presented.

It was raining outside but by UK considerations mild temperature but the heating was on full and the fire blazing in the grate beside our table. Combined with the vast quantities of food and the hypnotic live music the thought of curling up and sleeping in the sofa type seating was very appealing.

We barely needed to eat the following day either!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Unique_Vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    119
    49
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were recommended to go to this restaurant by our raid owner as we were told it was excellent Morrocon food. We did not realise that it is a set menu which includes wine ( this is not made clear ) . We were given a selection of various starters which were all rather bland. This was followed by a chicken in crepe tangine which was tasty, but by the time the lamb tagine and couscous arrived we had had more than enough to eat which was a shame as it was delicious. Desert was poached pear. The service was superb and the ambiance pleasant, but it was a tourist trap - there were no locals there and it was very expensive , nearly £60 per head (although we did have a bottle of wine).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still an amazing restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Read some bad reviews but decided to go back anyways after 6 years and they did not dissapoint. Just love the fact that they pick you up and lead you through the maze of the city and then you enter this amazing riad where you have food. You always get a fixed menu and the food was great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eveline_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant is so hidden away that not only do you have to reserve a table, you have to reserve a guide to meet you to take you to it. When you arrive, all you see is a large wooden door. It is opened quietly & you step down into the most amazing room of dinner tables. At the back is a cosier bank of tables for romantic dining. The smell of woodsmoke pervades from the log burner, rose petals are strewn on the tables and musicians quietly play. There is no menu, just a constant stream of abundant delicious food, Of the 5 courses the first was my favourite, comprising on no less than 12 tiny tasty appetisers. Service was impeccable, the wine & water flowed and it was probably the most romantic meal out I have ever had.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucywholunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Christine Rio never fails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite restaurant in Marrakech. Many restaurants in Marrakech come and go but we can always count on Cristine for the best food, wine and service. Whenever we bring friends to Marrakech, Le Tobsil is our first dinner stop. We've dined here on many a happy occasion and have wonderful memories of this 20 year establishment..all done in a beautiful old Marrakech Riad.

Helpful?
Thank ormerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le TOBSIL also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le TOBSIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing