We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sensational ambience and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le TOBSIL

Le TOBSIL
Ranked #81 of 758 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Inside a traditional house of the Medina, warm atmosphere, carpets, rose petals and candlelights for a tasting menu of moroccan specialities with the unobtrusive sound of 2 Gnawas musicians. (closed in July-August)
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sensational ambience and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant on a wet evening in January. Getting there was half of the adventure...... should defo have gone in wellies though as the dark alleyways were mud baths! The restaurant itself was amazing..... we weren't entirely sure what to expect, nor whether or not alcohol would be served. Gentle arabic music was wafting around and a fabulous open fire sat in the corner of the room, embers glowing brightly. All of the tables were drenched in rose petals. Staff were lovely and spoke perfect English. After an aperitif we were given the choice of wines (all included in the price) and then the food arrived. A have to say that although very nice there was far too much of it and the chicken tagine was far too sweet. It is certainly an experience not to be missed though but just wished the food could have been better! Also there was no indication of price at the beginning of the meal - it was rather expensive!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    119
    49
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Great ambience and service, shame about the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's worth going to Le Tobsil just for the ambience and the live music, plus the excellent service. We really enjoyed watching our waiter pour the Berber whiskey (mint tea) - an experience in itself. However, the food was only average - we had a chicken tagine which was overly sweet and a lamb tagine which was OK but nothing to write home about. The mezzes served at the beginning was good though. The meal was quite expensive compared to other places we'd eaten at in Marrakech. If I only had a limited number of days in Marrakech, I would not put this restaurant on my list, but as we were there for a week, I'm glad we went.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank s1m0ne192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plenty of food, wonderful ambiance, pity about the ordinary flavours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel and getting there was so much fun we thought we were in store for an amazing treat. You're met at the top of an alleyway by a man wearing a hooded shroud with name badge on it that reads topsil. In perfect english he greeted us and shepherded us down a series of poorly light narrow alleyways deep inside the medina and brought us to a door, a simple wooden door. After a gentle knock the door opened to reveal what I thought was only the stuff of fiction. We were ushered into a 12th century 3 story house light by candles with arabic music wafting though the ether from a corner of the room where two musicians seemed to be in a trance. The tables were beautiful showerd in rose petals and the staff spoke good english and french. But then the food started to arrive and it was clear we had not prepared properly. The entree was 13 plates of food for 2 of us, and then there was 2 tagines, a military sized vegetable couscous dish, desert, a pastry and mint tea!!!! What the food lacked in tastiness was gained through the ambience. Make sure you haven't eaten for a week and remember not to judge all Moroccan food by this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Christmas Night Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Atmosphere fantastic, food was amazing. Would prefer if there was an alternative to the set menu as just so much food.
Wonderful experience would highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LittleBirdLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The restaurant is in traditional riad with seating in the interior courtyard and upstairs too. (When we were there, the courtyard was covered.) The interior is fantastic: Moroccan carpets, candles, live music etc. The food was also very good. We were offered the set menu which was 4-5 courses and included the wine (that was not the best i have ever had). It was a little expensive (by local standards), around 50 eur/person, but we really enjoyed our night in this restaurant and would recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le TOBSIL also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le TOBSIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing