We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spacious riad with fabulous staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Demeures d'Orient

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Demeures d'Orient
Ranked #558 of 1,162 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spacious riad with fabulous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of an organised tour and were a bit concerned about the location - was it too far from the action? The riad is perfectly located on the edge of the medina and is accessible by car. For first timers this is great because your taxi actually takes you to the door of your riad. The medina was actually in close walking distance and the riad was a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of the medina. The rooms are spacious and clean plus we had the opportunity to sit around the pool to relax. The outstanding and memorable part of our stay was the staff - nothing was too difficult and everyone wanted to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. When we needed to find a bank ... we were driven on a motorcycle to the closest ATM. When we wanted to go out to a particular restaurant in the medina ... a porter walked us to the restaurant and arranged for the restaurant to call when we were ready to come back and walked us back. All part of the service, with a big smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuxtonTravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    29
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I originally booked to stay here for 3 nights but left after 1 although was charged for 2 nights, after a 3 hour argument with staff and the owners daughter! I have never come across such rude and uncaring staff in a hotel.
So to start, when we approached the riad the area didn't feel safe. Lots of unsavoury looking characters hanging around and aggressive youths shouting at our driver. Guy on reception didnt speak any English so we didn't get any sort of welcome, guide to the area, etc. we were given a mint tea on arrival but then had to ask to go to our room as we were left for over 30 minutes. We were not offered dinner/snacks although arriving at 8.30pm, just as well we had a table booked elsewhere.
We wanted to walk to the restaurant but the driver who picked us up from the airport said it was too far so wanted to take us, this I believe was more because of the dodgy area rather than being too far to walk, as again we got shouted at from youths outside the riad.
Breakfast.....a slice of toast, 2 mini crossaints, small pot of yogurt, coffee and a OJ! Not great for a riad that charges 190 euros a night. Plus the waiter took the crockery and cutlery from the USED table next to us, yes, we were given dirty plates. By this stage we had had enough and wanted to leave, which resulted in the manager saying he didn't really care that we were not enjoying our stay and would still charge us for the 3 nights booked even if we didnt stay. We then waited an hour for Sophia(owners daughter) to turn up, who then had better things to do before speaking to us and again was not bothered that the staff were rude and unfriendly. She was more concerned about getting the 3 nights money from us.
I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here, this was my 3rd visit to Marrakech and there are lots of fabulous places to stay at half the cost, which are in a better and safer location. Also there is no fitness centre as advertised

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Riad is beautiful - the pool is not really useable as it was a little too dirty for my liking and the water was cold. The rooms are very nice but not so nice as to justify the price. I was expecting more for the money charged. They quote in Euros but charge in Dhirams so you lose on the exchange rate. The prices are London/New York prices and you can get a better priced room elsewhere in the area. Our room had a fireplace which we lit each evening - the draw on the chimney is not good at all such that, during the course of the evening, the room became "smokey" . They try very hard with the service and the staff are a delight. All in all, an average experience made memorable by the local characters!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NightOwlReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not the easiest place to find, down many twisty turny side roads and at the end of a newly paved street the Demeures d'Orient is a very pretty old town Riad. An enormous pool in the central courtyard with rooms on two levels of varying degrees of opulence, all exquisitely done and very well maintained. Slightly unnervingly we were the only guests for the entire stay. It was a little quiet. It's a very good choice for the old town, the staff are absolutely adorable, Towfik who serves breakfast (and dinner and all the bar drinks and mint tea) is charmingly shy but has a fantastic memory for what people like and delicious little bowls of olives and shortbread biscuits and steaming pots of mint tea things appear every time you sit down. Other members of staff will happily show you the way to and from restaurants in the old town or down into the souks. The Hamam is very efficient and luxurious hidden behind vast ancient Indian doors. On cold evenings they'll make up great blazing pine log fires in each room which crackle and roar efficiently through the night. We celebrated a birthday while we were there and a vast homemade chocolate cake appeared for breakfast with flowers and smiles. It was adorable. A good choice for the old town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boywithkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in early November. All very good: friendly staff, good rooms, breakfast very nice. Only a couple of things to be straightened: telephone in the rooms do not have a call list so to call the reception is trial and error; the design TV stand is really an eye sore in a room completely and well decorated in arab style.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuseppe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Quite a spectacular example of its type. Very large rooms, well appointed. Fireplaces, huge beds, down pillows. Like everywhere in Morocco, poor light for reading. The evening meal we ate there was great - typical Moroccan fare but better than most restaurants. Breakfast is a set menu of fruit, yogurt, pastries.

Room Tip: If you want a frire in your room, they come to start it. And they don't know how to. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesVerne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had tried to book the Dar Charkia in Marrakech as it is ranked 2 on trip advisor. It was booked so our agent recommended this riad. It is absolutely beautifully decorated and think it will only be a matter of time until it creeps up tripadvisor to one of the top riads in Marrakech. We stayed in 2 rooms - the Royal suite which was gorgeous - and a suite on the lower floor on the far right side of the pool- also gorgeous. The bathrooms are beautiful and there are comfy robes and slippers provided. The rooms both had fireplaces for cold evenings. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - speaking English which was useful when our French let us down!
One of the negatives was being woken up for the first calling to prayer from the local mosques. There must be a few in the area as it was very loud and the first one of the day is quite long!
Will definately recommend this riad!

Room Tip: Royal suite or suite on the bottom level far right of the pool. Think higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kampbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.6 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#52 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#67 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#38 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
3.3 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#46 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demeures d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeures d'Orient

Property: Demeures d'Orient
Address: Demeures d'Orient 10, Arset Ben Nasser | Riad Laarouss-Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 1,162 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Demeures d'Orient 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"DEMEURES D'ORIENT LUXURY RIAD & SPA" located in the heart of the old Medina, accessible by car, remains open in the East of 1000m2 serene blue sky. Around the vast vaulted patio and flowers, the freshness of its pool and fountain, is arranged the refined elegance of eleven luxury suites. Each one is an invitation to travel in countries of the East ... On the ground floor, the great library, bar and restaurant tadelak with warm colors and three luxury suites open onto the garden. Intimate and mysterious, fun place of water purification, Hammam, two massages rooms have been made in the pure oriental tradition. Access to the balcony of carved wood on the first floor by a large marble staircase and Zelig serving six beautiful suites and a luxury apartment. Finally, the immense panoramic terrace adorned with turquoise tiles opens off the snow-covered Atlas, the Koutoubia and the colorful medina of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Demeures d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing