We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location and Wonderful Team”
Review of Dar Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Alhambra
Ranked #441 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Location and Wonderful Team”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our 4 night stay in Marrakech was considerably enhanced by Hamid and his team for whom nothing appeared to be too much trouble, including the wonderful meal we were given on the evening we arrived. Hamid was exceptionally helpful in organising trips and taxis . All arrangements made by him were faultless. Excellent suites and a beautiful roof terrace which gave us fabulous views of the city and helped us to orientate ourselves amidst the labyrinthine medina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viking51, Owner at Dar Alhambra, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hamid, Fatna and Assisa take great pride in trying to make every guest feel at home and enjoy their stay in the Riad. We are overjoyed that you are satisfied!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    27
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
83
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Fantastic stay in this beautiful riad. We found the staff to be charming, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were made very welcome, our suite was stunning, the food incredible. Marrakech is a busy chaotic city and the Alhambra is an Oasis of peace in the middle of it all. Would definitely book to stay there again and can highly recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We've just returned from 5 fabulous days & nights at Dar Alhambra.
Hamid, Aziza and Fatma are excellent hosts - relaxed, engaging, and happy. It really is like one big family - guests just don't disappear to their rooms, the relaxing atmosphere and style of this beautiful Riad encourages guests to chat & share hidden gems & discoveries. Charming, comfortable bedrooms with Air conditioning and a really relaxing roof terrace.
Aziza & Fatma serve fresh tasty breakfasts every morning and the kettles always on for a welcome mint tea or coffee.
Hamid will organise and advise on trips to the mountains, coast or other area with Mohamed the Riads careful and knowledgable driver. Don't forget to EMail ahead of your stay and arrange for Mohamed to meet you at the airport - only 150DM return for us 4. Don't worry about the language either - Hamid speaks mainly French but plenty of English too, as does Mohamed.
Excellent base -we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: There is a suite off the central courtyard if you need easy access but all the rooms are lovely and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely Riad lots of character,great roof terrace.Had evening meal there which was great.Hamid and the ladies were wonderful.Hamid is the man to arrange your trips he uses a great English speaking guide Mohammed.As others have said it is well worth asking Hamid to arrange your airport transfer untill you become familiar with the location it is not easy to find.It seems that flights from Britain arrive quite late at night so if you want food a good place to visit is Kui Zin very close but closes at 10pm.We would go again.

Room Tip: Worth having a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogeraston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This entry to the riad is just a door in a wall, but once you move inside you will find a large cool building decorated in beautiful traditional style. The pictures on the website really don't do justice to the beauty of this Riad. The rooms are large and It is a joy to wake up in a comfortable bed. Breakfast is typical Morocccan style with delicious orange juice and great coffee. Staff were friendly and always willing to help with any queries or small problems. My bags were stored while I went to the desert for a few days. Hamid, the "main man" speaks good english. The riad itself is situated close to historical sights and the souks. One tip: Study your maps well to identify a couple of routes back and forth to the riad so you can look confident and avoid the "helpful" people offering to guide you back to the riad .... for a price of course.

Room Tip: The rooms are all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tranverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked our holiday to Marrakech to celebrate my 40th with my 5 best friends. We had two rooms, 1 for 2 of us and the other for 3.
The rooms were lovely and our whole experience was magic. Hamid with Aziza and Fatna were wonderful and catered for all our needs. Whatever we wanted, we just had to ask and it was done for us. The weather was amazing as well, so every night we spent the start of our evening drinking 'sun-downers' on the roof. Would highly recommened this Riad. You'll feel safe, looked after and most of all relaxed. Thank you everyone for making it a holiday to remember. xx

Room Tip: Just beware of call to prayer at around 5:30. By Day 3 we didn't really notice it it, but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed two weeks with Hamid, Aziza and Fatna - it's more like a family home in a 1363 palace (with superb intricate workmanship) than a hotel. Yes, that is a 650 years old building! Bedrooms and bathrooms were extremely well presented in the Marrakesh style.We had half-board and all the evening meals were great Moroccan dishes, cooked to perfection, and very varied. We could eat in the dining room, or as we preferred, on the low cushioned sofas in the courtyard. Continental-style' breakfasts any time when you get up and enter the courtyard - no having to rush down to meet a cut-off deadline... very relaxing. Hamid arranged all our desert and Atlas mountain trips and gave lots of information about Marrakesh and Morocco. Our third visit to Morocco, and by far the best. Can fully recommend this Riad, and we'll be returning there on our next visit to Marrakesh. Thank you, from Heidi and Ken from Pinner, England.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#255 of 500 in Marrakech
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#155 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
#697 of 1,139 in Marrakech
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#241 of 1,139 in Marrakech
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#363 of 1,139 in Marrakech
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chi-Chi
Riad Chi-Chi
#277 of 1,139 in Marrakech
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Alhambra

Property: Dar Alhambra
Address: 33, Zaouiat Lahdar | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 16th-century Riad, a haven of peace in the very heart of the Medina, lovingly restored in the pure Moroccan tradition - painted cedar ceilings, sculpted stucco, zelliges, marble floors...Impeccably clean, all rooms with private bath, and air conditioning. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Superb 360 view of the Medina, the Koutoubia and the snow capped Atlas mountains. One hundred yards from the Medersa Ben Youssef and the Marrakech museum, 15 minutes from Place Jemaa al Fna. Excellent cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing