We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the bests in Marrakech”
Review of Dar Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Alhambra
Ranked #449 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the bests in Marrakech”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed 2 night at Dar Alhambra. Well, like many people mention, the location is a bit tricky to find if you're first time in Marrakech and especially when you arrive at night when the souk is closed. Also, since the Mosque is located very close, if you're a light sleeper, you might wake up at 5am in the morning.

Still, this riad is an excellent choice. The riad itself is soooooo beautiful, well decorated (i fell in love with it right away) and very clean. It's located very close to Medersa Ali Ben Youssef, one of the must-see tour point, which also helps you to find the hotel.

I would definitely like to stay here if i visit Marrakech again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    27
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
83
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a hire car from the airport and followed the map as far as we could but got confused in the heavy Marrakesh traffic at night. Following a phone call to the riad, Hamid came out on a motorbike with a friend, and took us through the Medina, parking within a few yards of the Alhambra. The Riad is beautiful, and of all the Riads we stayed in during our holiday was the most luxurious. The beautiful Stucco walls and carved cedar wood was really beautiful. The room was a good size and the bed was really comfortable.
The bathroom had a spa bath and pretty coloured tiles.
Aziza and Hamid were wonderful hosts who were warm and welcoming, doing everything they could to make our stay a comfortable and happy one. We stayed in to eat the both nights we enjoyed wonderful home cooked tagines and cous cous with tender meat and a tasty sauce prepared by Fatna the cook.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor is lovely and has a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nest T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here at the start of October and this was our first holiday in Marrakech.
Hamid arranged a taxi from the airport right through the Medina to the front door of the Riad! which I would recommend as the medina is like a giant maze!
Once through the front door, the instant feeling was of walking into a palace of total peace and tranquility.
The interior is amazing, and very ornate with wonderfully detailed plaster detailing and a beautiful central area with seating and an open roof space.
The bedroom was very quaint, with little shuttered windows looking into the central courtyard.
The bathroom was tiled in multi coloured tiles with large wardrobes and very well appointed.
We ate our evening meal one night and on the whole it was nice, we had tagines which contained meat which was very tender, but seemed to be in a lot of oil, we were also served loads of side dishes which resembled a mini banquet and was very nice, and Hamid and the two ladies that work with him, always made you feel very special and waited on you for your every need, whether for a pot of tea, or breakfast carried all the way up onto the amazing roof terrace.
The Riad is situated right in the middle of the Medina, and in a good spot with the museums and other areas of interest close by.
The Riad is immaculately clean and a great place to relax after a mad day in the city!
Hamid is a perfect gentlemen and always happy to give advice or suggestions on where to visit and how tog et there.
There is a very nice restaurant nearby, the name of it slips my mind, but you pass it on your left on the way to the square, and in the main square, the Cafe Paris has a lovely balcony from which you can sit and see the whole square and everything going on.
The food is very good here and the service friendly.
Overall the food is good, but the food stalls in the square on an evening aren't as good as they are hyped up to be, and the hygiene and prices are not the best, we paid £18.00 for a meal for 2 consisting of several different kebabs and side dishes, and we didn't think this was particularly good value.
Beware the water sellers etc who charge you for even taking a photo of them from a good distance away, as I found out when I snapped them with a full zoom on my camera from the other side of the square and he came running over demanding money!!!
The worst thing here are the youths hanging around on every corner in the Medina, who will lie to you telling you that the street you are on is closed or you are going the wrong way to your hotel
They then offer to show you the correct way and demand money for leading you on merry wild goose chase, and become very nasty when you offer them a couple of pound and they demand silly money like £5-£8 for guiding you a few hundred yards!!! be warned!!!
Marrakech is an amazing place, with lots to see, but be prepared to also witness animal cruelty, filthy areas, poverty, and lots of locals quite happy to try and rip you off.
I would definitely visit again and will be much better prepared for a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Durham63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you want to experience the real Marrakech, rather than a Westernised, Disney-esque version of it, then this place is perfect.
It's slap bang in the middle of the world famous medina, which is like being on the set of Raiders of the Lost Ark (snake charmers, monkeys, donkey carts etc) yet behind the front door (along a typical medina alleyway), it is an oasis of calm. Run by manager Hamed, who greets you personally upon arrival, it is a lovely Riad that hits exactly the right note of friendliness and customer service.
There's the extremely hard-working Aziza who cleans the rooms, serves breakfast etc, and the wonderful chef (Fatna??) who makes deliciously fresh food on the premises.
Breakfast is freshly baked bread and pastries, and you must try her tagines - they are exquisite.
The en-suite rooms are small but atmospheric, decorated in the Moroccan style, and there is lovely a roof terrace for sun worshippers, with views stretching across the rooftops. It's lovely up there.
A word of warning: it is right next to the Ben Youssef mosque, so the call to prayer will wake you up at 5am each morning. But it only lasts a few minutes and is all part of the charm of the 'real' Marrakech.
Compared to the Westernised hotels in and around the city, this Riad is incredibly reasonably priced, well situated, and run by local people who can't do enough to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.
Yes, there are a few quirks and no TVs/phones in the rooms etc but we found that to be quite liberating. We also felt we had really experienced Marrakech rather than a sanitised version of it. We would definitely go back to this Riad again.
**It is about a 3 minute walk to the main square.

Room Tip: Choose one of the two 'suites'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graceface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our stay at the Riad Alhambra was perfect - Hamed was so helpful, welcoming and hospitable; the rooms was beautiful and clean; the food was excellent, particularly dinner; and the location of this riad is ideal - right in the centre of the all the souks, not far from the main square. Hamed was very helpful in booking coach tickets for us, taxis and organised meals for us whenever was convenient for us - no set meal times!
I will recommend this riad to all of my friends, should they stay in Marrakech.

(NB. there is no pool or fitness centre, but i can't un-tick on the ratings form)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenAmy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay.
I'm not sure how we ended up here - we'd booked in elsewhere online, and on turning up there, we were then brought to the Alhambra.
This is a calm, cool, beautiful riad. Our room was simple, clean & traditionally decorated. The onsuite bathroom was great, with a big bath and seemingly neverending hot water. The aircon was essential.
Our hosts were lovely, helpful & freindly. Breakfast was plentiful & set us up for the day.
We ate in the riad on our first night, and the food was great, again, plentiful, and traditional. It was quite expensive compared to in Marrakech itself, but very good quality.
I'd definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The higher the room ther further from the sitting area in the middle of the riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was a luxury oasis right in the medina, something you really crave to relax in after a day haggling in the busy markets. Really inspirational, beautiful accommodation, lovely how it just has six rooms, really gives you a feeling of privacy and relaxing in your own home (albeit a luxury, mansion type one!) great food and service - would recommend to anyone. Most beautiful place we stayed in on our round the world trip which has been four months so far. Breakfast was simple and could have had a little protein but otherwise was well presented and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#269 of 500 in Marrakech
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad El Grably
Riad El Grably
#462 of 1,153 in Marrakech
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Cannelle
Riad Cannelle
#356 of 1,153 in Marrakech
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
#117 of 1,153 in Marrakech
234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#241 of 1,153 in Marrakech
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Cherrata
Riad Cherrata
#71 of 1,153 in Marrakech
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Alhambra

Property: Dar Alhambra
Address: 33, Zaouiat Lahdar | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #449 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 16th-century Riad, a haven of peace in the very heart of the Medina, lovingly restored in the pure Moroccan tradition - painted cedar ceilings, sculpted stucco, zelliges, marble floors...Impeccably clean, all rooms with private bath, and air conditioning. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Superb 360 view of the Medina, the Koutoubia and the snow capped Atlas mountains. One hundred yards from the Medersa Ben Youssef and the Marrakech museum, 15 minutes from Place Jemaa al Fna. Excellent cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Dar Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing