We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Kantzaro
Nearby Hotels
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$399
$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$55
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$633
$440
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$259
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$318
$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,064
$1,024
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$458
$439
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
115
20
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
20
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagical place to stayatlas mountainsenjoyed our staydonglehassanforaysvillaguesthousetaxisdrivermedinacalm
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 138 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is almost excellent...but misses on every level. Arriving on a Friday night for a long weekend, we decided that we would take the offer of a meal, which was probably the worst meal we have had in any hotel. The full time housekeeper turned up the next day and was extremely helpful; an asset to the hotel. The assistant however blew hot and cold, sometimes very pleasant, sometimes almost rude. The rooms and the villa itself with a few adjustments could be beautiful and the setting is almost lovely. For example, the pool was very nice for the six rooms and associated guests but the umbrellas were old, broken and looked like they had come out of the shed. Proper white calico umbrellas would have made it an excellent feature; as it was, it just looked tatty. Lastly, our room was nearest the kitchen and there were powerful smells of boiling lamb almost all the time, which we had to try and ventilate constantly and burn a scented candle to try and clear. Oh and the WIFI internet coverage means you have to sit within about 6 feet of the dongle (no router that I could see) to get a connection. In summary, for a bargain stay, as long as you eat out and aren't expecting the Ritz, its a great place to visit - but it could be very easily so much better. Sort the food out, the internet, the smells and the umbrellas and you could have a 5 star place here.

Room Tip: Don't go for the one nearest the kitchen.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited Marrakech for my mother-in-law's 70th birthday and wanted to explore the city but then be able to retreat to relax and recover. And Dar Kantzaro was simply perfect. We were welcomed like family, told to treat the Dar as our home and nothing was too much trouble. We ate home cooked meals throughout our stay lovingly prepared by Badia (not to mention the terrific birthday cake), we pestered Hassan for cool Casablanca beer at all hours and yet he never failed to smile, and Najia and Rachida did a marvellous job of keeping our beautifully furnished rooms in perfect order without ever intruding or disrupting our stay. And the Dar is really stunning. A small palace in the tranquillity of an olive grove and personally the distance from the city was inconsequential as Mustafa and co whisked us back and forth in air conditioned comfort in the Dar's car. All smoothly managed by Naima who was a charming and helpful hostess. We loved the city (Naima arranged for a guide, Mustafa, to show us around, something we would thoroughly recommend to ensure you get to see what you want) although you need to watch out for the mopeds careering around the Medina and Souks. But to come home to the Dar and its lovely pool and a cool beer was the perfect tonic and we can't recommend it enough. In fact we may well come back to Marrakech just to stay at Dar Kantzaro that's how nice it was!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCornishCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

very good service, very good quality of meals, very nice atmosphere.
It was a dream of 1000 and one night.
Personal was perfect for giving informations and tipps and was perfect for doing arrangements for enterprises all over marrokko.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This Guesthouse was lovely! couldn't complain about the cleanliness or the staff (who were extremely helpful!!!). The rooms were a huge size and this felt more like a home rather than a Guesthouse/Hotel as it was extremely cozy. The only downsides to this hotel was that it is quite far from the city centre of Marrakech (about 20-30mins taxi ride) so you are reliant upon taxis as the buses didnt seem that frequent. Also, there is no fridge in your room so again you are reliant upon buying all your drinks and food from the hotel as the nearest supermarket is quite a distance away (and the price of the food and drinks was a bit steep). Also, Wi-fi is only available in the lounge area and not in your room.

However, if you want a peaceful place away from noise where you can wake up to olive trees and a picturesque view of the gardens this is the place! Would definitely recommend for those who want a secret getaway!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are generally well decorated!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarKantzaro, Owner at Dar Kantzaro, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Mrs Mulika,
Thank you for staying with us this month and taking time to share your impressions about your stay. We take your comments very seriously as they enable us to improve our service to our customers.
You have pointed out the location of Dar Kantzaro as a downside and we understand that you may have found the trip into town a bit long in occasions, probably due to traffic. It usually takes 15 to 20 minutes to get to the main touristic attractions.
In fact, a lot of our guests come to Dar Kantzaro for the calm of quietness of the house and the garden, away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our Villa Hotel.

Mehdi Amrani Joutey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Dar Katzaro in April and it was brilliant. Amazing home cooked food (the best we had in Morocco), really friendly and helpful staff and lovely rooms, grounds and pool. Perfect for people who want to combine a city break with a holiday by the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelondoneater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews