We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quite a Walk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Shalimar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Shalimar
Ranked #704 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Random Lake, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Quite a Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Riad is a quite a walk from the main centre (at least 15 mins) and while situated in the less touristy area of Marrakech it is not great area to walk at night. The nearby mosque will wake you every morning at 5am. Good but probably could do better.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelled_1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Wonderful little riad in the medina, but comfortingly away from the center. We were looked after like family, enjoyed daily continental breakfasts with fresh squeezed orange juice, and had one truly memorable dinner in house when we were both medinaed out (thanks Neza!).

A note on the benefits of being outside the tourist medina - it's far less stressful. When you go outside and stop for a minute, people flow by without noticing... nobody tries to get you to eat in a restaurant, buy a carpet, try a date, hire them as a guide or get a henna tattoo. If you want to be able to come and go comfortably from a charming little hotel and not always be a marked target for direct sales aficionados, this is an ideal option.

I'd go again without question.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elvisgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Riad Riad Casa Mora Shalimar is wonderful. It is a little palace in the middle of the Medina. The staff was really helpful and kind, but unfortunately they didn’t speak English and we don’t speak French. Other than that, everything was great. The Riad’s surroundings give you a real experience of the Marrakech’s people. I would recommend after you take a walk to the main plaza (El Fna) a couple of times, to take a taxi (about 2 Euros), because the contamination of the Mobylettes is really bad and dangerous.
The owner gave us detail information of the place and recommendations prior to our arrival that really help us out. They arrange for the taxi to pick us up at the airport. Overall the experience was great. I’d recommend this Riad to anybody.

Room Tip: The Jacaranda suite is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCCfromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is the first time ever that I am writing a review but I have to because I had such a great experience at this riad with my friend. When we arrived we were given the option to have a cab from the riad waiting for us for 15 euro (a little expensive but we arrived late at night so it was safer). The cab driver waited for us in the airport and took us straight to our riad. The lady, Neza, that works at the riad only speaks arabic and french (which we did not understand) but we still managed to understand each other somehow and she even gave us umbrellas when it rained. The breakfast was pancakes, bread with jelly and butter, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. It was delicious! The rooms are CLEAN and cleaned every day, there are clean TOWELS too! Only downside is you get a key to the front door but your room door does not lock. However, nothing was stolen and they are always at home.. it's a small place so it's nothing to worry about. There is free wi fi internet but it did not work in our rooms unless you stood very close to the door. From the outside you would never be able to tell how beautiful it is on the inside. Definitely a good price for an amazing stay! Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

I tried to find the cheapest, but highest ranked riad and this is it.
40 Euro a night and well worth it. Etienne the owner invited us to dinner on our last night and we didnt pay anything...great hospitality and very elegant riad. Highly recommended to those who dont want to spend over 100 euros and experience a real riad.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalpalace1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

The Riad is a bit far from the Plaza Jeema El Fna(15-20 min walking), but once you learn your way is totally worth it. The service is great, rooms are clean and decorated with a simple and beautiful taste.
Breakfast was good. The Riad is very quiet. It has a nice terrace where you can have breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane-Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

First things first - this is a great Riad. It's small (only 3 rooms), clean, relatively quiet (bring earplugs for call to prayer from nearby mosque at 5am!), comfortable rooms, good hot water, roof top terrace, breakfast and if you are interested, you can order dinner. We stayed in a variety of places in Morocco and Riad Shalimar was one of the best and MUCH better than the other place we stayed in Marrakech.

This Riad is in the Medina, in a residential neigbourhood. It is 'the real' medina where the locals shop and live and is only a 100m from Bab Ailen (one of the gates in the city wall). Be prepared for a walk however as it is not near Djemaa El Fna (the main square) where a lot of the action is and the entry to the souks. It is a good 15 minutes walk through winding, busy, crowded streets and whilst it's all very interesting the first or second time you walk to the square it can be a bit of a long walk after a long day sightseeing. Note also that the staff do not have a word of English (French & Arabic/Berber) but we were able to point and do charades to get by.

Overall though, good value and a true Riad with all the trimmings

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#140 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#98 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#146 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shalimar

Property: Riad Shalimar
Address: Derb El Hammam | Bab Aylan, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #704 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shalimar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reception & Transfers aeroport: ! 24h/24h ! All points of interest accesible on foot. A traditonal house in one of the last authentic popular neighborhoods. Belgian owner he lives on site. Situated in the medina near Bab Aylan outside tourist flow... ! THE REAL MOROCCO ! At 1,2km from Djemaa El Fna square. Easily to find by foot (20min) or by taxi (at the door). Souks 600m. Owner We also provide dinner. Halima our Moroccan home cook prepares the best traditional dishes possible. 12 to 15€ Excursions possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Riad Shalimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing