We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tim Tam

Riad Dar Tim Tam
Ranked #475 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $15 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Very good set lunch here and reasonable. Set in an old raid just off the spice square . The selection of Moroccan starters was fresh and excellent and chicken tagine very good just slightly salty but in a hot climate !. The place itself is very beautiful and comfortable seets perfect for chilling after a good lunch. They have 3 different menus the cheapest set lunch at 95 dhr quite adequate we had 2 between 4 of us. Well worth a visit can't see why the review score is so low

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    30
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Complete Tourist Trap-Stay Away!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

After a morning sight seeing we asked our guide to direct us somewhere for lunch and he took us to Tim Tam and left.

On arrival we were the first table there and when they brought us the menu we saw that it was a fixed menu. We didn't want a big meal and so asked for the A La Carte menu which was incredibly expensive, almost the same price as their fixed menu but we still went ahead.

I ordered the pastilla, (165 Dirhams) which was the house special and my five companions ordered kebabs (180 Dirhams, 50p less than the set menu. To give you an idea of costs, a few nights prior to this we sat at a terrace restaurant overlooking the square and a kebab was 45 Dirhams!!!). Up until this point the food in Marrakech was incredible, not so at Tim Tam! The portions were tiny and the quality of the food was not good. Thank goodness we had filled up on bread before the food arrived!!!!

The restaurant gradually became busier (with tourists of course!!!)

Having checked before we sat down and told that they accepted cards we asked for our bill. Of course we were told that they only took cash and expected us to walk with them to the square and take cash out of the machine. We refused! They found a way to accept our card!

We really were not impressed with Tim Tam and strongly suggest that you steer clear!!! This is a complete rip off! There are much nicer Riads with much better food!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A relaxing and delicious lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Sometimes forging for food is the hardest part. We decided to allow a boy to lead us to lunch on a scorching 106F day in the Marrakech medina- it paid off.
We sat in the shade and enjoyed a delicious sampling of Morrocan fare. Good thing we were hungry! The lunch was served at a leisurely pace and it was all delicious. We would definitely recommend this as a great way to try lots of traditional flavors. The Morrocan salads were the best we had on our trip.
Sometimes it pays to follow the "helpful" boys in the medina- it sure that day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caseynash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Overrated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went to this restaurant based on Lonely Planet's recommendation......and were really disappointed. At first glance it seems like a lovely place (the courtyard has a lot of charm), but the menu is overpriced and the service questionable. I asked for Lavazza coffee to which our waiter almost insisted that I had an Arabic coffee, which he said would be much better (and more expensive, I hasten to add). The selection of Moroccan cakes were very overpriced and old and dry. The prices on the menu were so high that we decided not to eat a meal here, which didn't seem to please the staff. Finally, on asking for the bill, the head waiter took a long time to bring it and stopped midway to shout and 'joke' in Arabic with the other waiters. I don't speak Arabic so have no idea what he was saying, but I certainly felt his sarcasm and displeasure that we hadn't spent more money. Particularly when he told is (in English) that the people in Wales are very rich. We wouldn't go back again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jejo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lunch in the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a lovely Morrocan lunch in the courtyard.
The Tagines and salad were filling and nicely presented.
The décor and tables were clean and pleasant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela4742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Dar Tim Tam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Dar Tim Tam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing