We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“wonderful time was had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Ranked #155 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful time was had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

we went as a group of 38 people......mostly women....our average age group was 60.....the hotel was very centrally situated......rooms were very well appointed as well as the adjoining bathrooms....we had excellent breakfasts and 2 dinners were tasty and the last dinner was excellent......the serving staff was very helpful.... even the housekeeping staff was very meticulous.

Room Tip: volubilis was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    100
    29
    15
    12
See reviews for
64
235
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

For my first visit to Marrakech, I was seduced upon arrival. I felt like I was transported to the set of Kismet, overwhelmed by colors, scents and history! We were greeted by the riad's driver at the airport and whisked off into the medina. The driver took our luggage and escorted us into the secret oasis tucked within the heart of the souk, a perfectly hidden venue, away from chaos and tourists. This riad has the perfect location on the edge of the souks, close to everything, yet far enough away so you may find peace. We felt welcome and safe here. Upon entry, our senses were seduced not only by the intricate detail and beautiful design of the riad, but by the freshly prepared hot mint tea offered. Fantastic! Following the tea, we treated ourselves to massages and the hammam. What a wonderful way to begin our visit! When we arrived in our room, the bed and bath were covered in rose petals. We truly felt like we arrived in the Sultan's bedroom! Attention-to-detail at this property was paramount -- the presentation was more than lovely, keeping in tune with traditional riad (a traditional Moroccan house or palace with an interior garden...Riads were inward focused, allowing for privacy and protection from the weather in Morocco). The tile work, mosaics, colors, indoor garden, painted ceilings, all stunning. Breakfast on the terrace was perfect and your only need to view the city...as this riad is a perfect place for cocooning -- whether sleeping late, enjoying the hammam or reading in the manicured courtyard. Dinner was also quite good, simple yet flavorful traditional Moroccan food and a welcome treat by the fire, after exploring all day (and terrific service with a smile, particularly Simon, merci!)! I travel extensively for business and was happy to experience the Esprit du Maroc, as it was not just-another-hotel. The owner of Esprit du Maroc has done a wonderful job recreating a magical ambiance for her guests. Note: Morocco can be a challenge sometimes, if you're used to fast service -- Have patience, enjoy another cup of tea, everything here gets done, eventually. As I had to unexpectedly work during my visit, the staff at Esprit du Maroc was also willing to manage my requests, whether getting photocopies, faxes or an extra bottle of water. Thank you so much! We had a wonderful visit and look forward to our return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanotti-A-broad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our arrival was not as planned .We arrived by prearranged transport from the airport ( not organised by the Riad ) and were left far away from the Riad. 3-4 guys with a hand cart put our luggage in it and proceeded to bring us down the streets - h hitting my head twice down the unpleasant passage to get to the riad.Th 'guys' who brought the baggage were given equivalent of € 8 .They throw it on the ground and demanded equivalent of € 22 !!! Certain fear grabbed us to go out then in case they attacked us . We stayed in riad and had food. It was nice but so slow . It was very expensive.The rooms were also very expensive for the stay . It was certainly overall not what we expected. The staff did their best although at times there was only 1 person to do everything .The first hamman I took ( done by the cook ) was very good . The next was the worst I ever had . No effort at all put into it at all .The owner appeared at least once and didn't even say 'hello;.We will definitely not return .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biggestjohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a beautiful property, with a lovely courtyard and pleasant rooms. The poor service, unfortunately, makes the overall experience well below the average, especially if one considers the high prices charged. Although always courteous and available, the staff do not seem to have received proper training and one feels they are constantly improvising in the various tasks they perform. The gym – one of the reasons we had chosen this riad – is not well maintained and the treadmill for instance is of such low quality that it is of no practical use.
The worst part nonetheless was left for the end, when I requested the hotel manager to book a car for us. The rental agency he suggested left us waiting for two hours and when it finally arrived the vehicle was dirty and old, even though I had been specific about the required condition of the car. I cannot help but supposing the manager's criteria was the highest commission offered instead of reliability of the service. I would have appreciated an honest piece of information.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielMFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
275 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

visited during a 2 weeks stay in Marrakech, the spa facilities were very luxurious and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. There was actually no guests staying in the hotel on the day we visited and they did offer us a great discount to stay the night there! I cant comment on the hotel itself only that the rooms looked very nice. I agree on some reviews that the pool is tiny and I expect the Riad it could be a bit of a nightmare to find on foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ternat, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed one week in this Riad from July 14th till July 21nd 2013.
The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious, a good bed with clean sheets, they changed the towels every day.
We had breakfast on the lovely terrace every morning, (little variation though)
The staff was very friendly and always present.
We had one meal in the riad which was very nice, compared to the local restaurants price is rather high. (same for the spa)

We advise to buy a detailed map of Marrakech (medina) in a local store (maps in travel guides are not detailed enough), once you orientated yourself, finding the riad even in the evening is not difficult at all.

For excursions and taxi rides you can make better deals by negotiating them yourself, rates in the riad are high.

When you stay in Marrakech during the ramadan, like we did, you should bear in mind that the sights of the town and shops close early.

We would surely recommend this riad to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwyz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We’re four friends from Switzerland and had a fantastic stay at this Riad in February 2013!

The room and bathroom were quite large and very clean. Wi-Fi in the room is not optimal, in the lobby it works really well.

The service and kindness of the staff were great. Taxis were organized for us to our full satisfaction. The staff always helped us with all our questions.

On the terrace of the Riad there is a magnificent view of Marrakech. There are beach chairs where you can sunbath wonderfully a few hours.

We took breakfast (a standard one is included in the price) in the sunshine on the terrace and twice we ate there in the evening. For dinner the best way is to inform the lobby in advance, so you can already halfway order your food. The prices are more expensive than the standard in Morocco or as it is on Jemaa el-Fnaa, but the atmosphere and the lovely service we’re worth it. Quality of the food is great by the way.

We can therefore only recommend this Riad. Surely it is very useful if you know exactly the location of the Riad in advance. It is quite hidden in the alleys. It’s possible to achieve the Riad with a small taxi, walking distance from Jemaa el-Fnaa is ten minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdiK1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#127 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#39 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#70 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#88 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#228 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Property: Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Address: 12 a 17 derb Belbekkar | Zaouit Lhardar- Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un des joyaux de la Médina à l’abri des regards...Un Palais du XVIII, où règne la magnificence des mille et une nuits … 10 chambres, Spa de 200 m2, salle de fitness : culture du bien-être. Les plaisirs de la table avec son Restaurant «gastronomie marocaine».Un moment magique avec son Jardin sur la grande terrasse.La plénitude de ses 3 patios dont un avec Piscine. Retrouvez un lieu privilégié dont le nom,"Esprit du Maroc"exprime le raffinement de sa décoration sortie tout droit d’un rêve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad And Spa Esprit Du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit Du Maroc Hotel Marrakech
Riad Esprit Du Maroc Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing