We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #21 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, African, Moroccan, Mediterranean, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were staying at a Riad nearby and went here for a meal one evening. The setting was very pleasant, the staff excellent and friendly and the food {with a good selection) was very good. A lovely evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    228
    62
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to visit this riad for lunch as it was on the same derb as the riad we were staying.

It wasn't hard to find despite local children asking if you needed help finding it.

Once into the lobby, remember this is a hotel/riad rather than solely a restaurant, we were guided to an outside eating area next to the pool. We went for the buffet lunch which had a selection of mooccan food and some more western meats. The food was nice and tasty but as you find with most buffets, was slightly overpriced.

However it was the setting that made this lunch stand out front others in marrakech. The pool area and gardens were beautiful and quite romantic. We had a walk around after our lunch. We were also offered use of the full size pool area which we would definitely taken up if we had known as it would had been a nice change from the plunge pool in our riad and a great place to relax away the craziness and midday heat of marrakech.

We would recommend for a relaxing lunch if you're not in a structure budget if not just for the pool area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bam411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
116 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“The owner is laughing at you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went here on a recommendation, so will no longer take any notice of this persons views. You enter via a bar, with lots of staff milling around doing nothing, but grinning at you. Once in the restaurant the setting is very pleasant, (even romantic) sitting around a large pool, with lots of twinkling lights. The food is good, bland international stuff, the service indifferent/surly & very slow. It's pretentious and selling a mediocre experience at a European price, which is quite outrageous bearing in mind you are in some back street in Marrakech and you are paying for a single person meal what lots of Moroccans' earn in one week. If I ate this meal in London, in a similar setting, I would expect to pay 50% of what we were charged. We left feeling full, but ripped off and I certainly would not recommend it. The only person having a wonderful experience in the owner, when he looks at his bank balance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flaki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jardinsmedina, Directeur général at Les Jardins de la Medina, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam
Your comments caught our attention, and rather than laughingly dismissing them, we would rather take the time to answer them, at the risk of sometimes being contradictory. We consider that the key to our success is through making the best possible offers, balancing quality with price, and that under all circumstances, it Is the satisfaction of our genuine customers that counts the most. This is, for example, the reason why each of our guests is always invited to complete an evaluation of their experience, and this document is later analysed to determine our action plans for improvement.

In the first place, you do not enter the restaurant through the bar but through the Reception area of our riad, which was formerly a princely residence of the Medina. Our hostess then accompanies you to the gardens and to the restaurant beside the pool. The menus at our Riad offer a choice of 45 dishes for dinner (and 25 for lunch), using only fresh produce and they are entirely home-made; from our starters to our desserts, including our pastries and bread. Our argan and olive oils are chosen from carefully selected producers from the region of Essaouira. 60% of our dishes are based on original Moroccan cuisine from different Andalucian, Berber and other regional culinary traditions. We are not like the ‘mass tourist factories’.
Yet given the remarkable character of our place, (the largest private garden in Marrakech) and the small size of our dining area, we limit our number of guests to allow everyone to dine in the best conditions.
Our restaurant is mainly for the guests of our boutique hotel. It Is open 7 days a week from 07.30 – 23.00 hours non-stop, and a catering team of 30 persons are on duty daily to the great satisfaction of our guests without exception. Since we are talking about prices, and in this historic and princely surroundings, we offer a lunch (starter, main course and dessert) for 250Dhs per person (or £18). In the evening, in addition to our "Carte, we offer 2 other menus ; the first of Moroccan inspiration for less than £30, with appetisers included, and a Tasting Menu, incorporating flavours from here and overseas, for less than £35. Finally our wine cellar offers a selection of 14 wines by the glass in addition to our main wine list, a choice of Nespresso coffees or Harney & Sons teas, as well as a choice of digestives, such as pure malt whiskeys, cognacs, old rums and quality liqueurs.

We let our clients make their own choices and comparisons. It is undoubtedly why for these reasons that the Les Jardins de la Medina received the Award of Excellence for its restaurant and for its boutique hotel - The Traveller’s Choice 2013 for Morocco and Africa. So we should like to thank you for allowing us to present our boutique hotel and its restaurant to you in a better way and we invite our readers to discover on Trip Advisor the genuine comments about our services in these two categories, we fully trust their judgement. Please check also our Trip Advisor Comments on the Hotel category.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FABULOUS food and setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We came here after reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were truly not disappointed. The food was simply delicious, the service was 5 star and this was, without a doubt, the best meal we had in Marrakech. We loved it so much that we came back for a 2nd meal before leaving...and again it was wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

One of the best restaurant in Marrakech. We had a tipical Moroccan dinner. We started with a mix of three different pastilla and then we had one chicken tajine (one of the best I ever had in Morocco), a lamb tajine (very good) and a seafood cous cous (average, and full of veg with few pieces of fish). The atmosphere is nice and altought the temperature was very hot we enjoyed the fresh air created by the vegetation all around. Obviously, the price is expensive compared to most of the restaurants in Marrakech but good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing