We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
Derb Chtouka, 21 | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-81851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Amazing place. The food was excellent, the service was very professional and definitely value for money.

The atmosphere was very nice although it was not traditional.

I ate the monkish dish and it was really delicious!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EVANGELIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    226
    59
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great, cozy, hidden little spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The wine, food and service were all excellent. We found this on Tripadvisor and really enjoyed the experience. The ambiance of the restaurant was great. It was chilly at night and they had the fire going and nice plush seats were we enjoyed some local wine. We didn't know when we arrived that it was a set menu but the staff were very accommodating and let us pick a few things off the a la carte menu. The hotel looks really nice too and we will have to try that next time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant based mainly on the good reviews on here and I have to say I was disappointed. The staff seemed disinterested and unfocused, we had to ask to order deserts (surely they want to make money?), I heard the couple next to us say they'd been waiting 30mins for theirs. We finished our admittedly free bread before our drinks arrived, and finished them quite quickly however nobody came to ask if we'd like another, which we would have done. The most attention we got was when we paid, when 3 members of staff appeared from nowhere to hover around us. I didn't leave a tip because frankly I didn't think they deserved it, I do the same thing in the uk.
Apart from the servcie the food was ok, tasty and well presented however in my mind Le Foundouks was much better in all areas and a fair bit cheaper. I also preferred the atmosphere there. Sorry Les Jardins de la Medina but I expected more from what I'd read

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DreamPlanDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful place, great service, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We went looking for les jardins at the recommendation of the Best Restaurant Maroc. The restaurant is located in the Kasbah area away from the noise and crowd of the Medina. The place is stylishly located behind beautifully carved wooden panel gates. The garden is very beautiful which is purely dreamy accompanied by tastefully selected music.

The wine list is nice the the De La Ferme range was in offer when we visited. We had complimentary smoked salmon canapé with our drinks which was nice.

We tried the selection of meat samosas, picked sardine, Peche du jour and Lamb marrakeshi. The food was absolutely wonderful. Staff are attentive and polite (by saying thank you in Arabic, we were rewarded with extra bread buns!:)

At the end of the evening, the staff called us a taxi which was very thoughtful.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Le-fantome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Les Jardins for my husband's birthday and we could not have been more delighted with the food, ambience and service. An oasis in the bustling Kasbah - we had a pre dinner drink in the cosy bar with a roaring fire. The menu was very interesting, with food from "here and there", which was a nice twist. We had both eaten a lot of Moroccan tagines over the previous few days so went for something a little different, I chose a veal curry with thai rice which was spicy and smooth and delicious. After dinner, they presented us with a birthday cake complete with candles and sparklers, a really lovely touch. It wasn't the cheapest meal, but if you had eaten this well in the UK, it would have cost at least double. Highly recommended! The service was impeccable. Thanks to everyone for making the birthday evening so special.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellsterism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing