We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Zelda
Nearby Hotels
$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$210
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$346
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$593
$516
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$83
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$233
$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$422
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad 72(Marrakech)
$152
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,058
$1,020
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
136
21
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
21
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terraceben youseffairport transfer arrangedthe interior courtyardphotography museummarrakech museumle foundoukmint teathe location is perfecthot tubcomfortable roomsbig squareevery morningshort walkmichelsouksriad
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 166 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Michel and his team give you a warm welcome, you feel like at home!
The interior is sophisicated, sylish with very nice traditional elements. The Girls working at Dar Zelda are nice and extremly helpful. Breakfest or lunch on the Terasse is a dream!
The location of the Riad is in the Medina and easy to find, convinient close to the souks.
We liked our stay very much and recomend Dar Zelda as a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: go for the Douria Suite with a over twohunderd year old wooden ceiling - pure 1001 night feeling
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra_sanktgallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our holiday in Marrakech actually got off to a bad start. After our driver (airport transfer) dropped my wife and I on the main street, we were escorted to the entrance of Dar Zelda by a man whom we thought is a staff. Apparently not as he started demanding 200 dirhams for his 'service'. We quickly rang the doorbell and was let in the riad. Michel (the owner/manager) was around and took care of the situation by paying the man off. After which, Michel offered us some tea to soothe our nerves and led us to our room.

We had dinner in the riad at night. It was 20 euros per pax - consisting of a 3-course meal - a 3-dish salad starter, a lamb tangine and local desserts. We also had a bottle of red wine for 14 euros. The food quality was good and we enjoyed our food though we wished that the portion for the lamb tangine could be more generous.

Breakfast was standard European breakfast with bread and cheese with the occassional Moroccan pastry. The cheese omelet, in particular, was excellent.

The riad itself was lovely and has a beautiful lounge area on the ground floor and amazing chill-out/dining area on the roof terrace.

What stands out is the service - the staff are very friendly and always greet you with a smile. They also take the initiative to hand us toilet rolls when we put on the "Do not disturb" sign. Laundry and Shisha is free and we appreciate the gesture. We met Aladdin on our last night - a very friendly chap who speaks good English.

But the ultimate service gesture was...... We actually booked the La Carbone room (99 euro/night) but Michel has SLIENTLY upgraded us to the Kenza Suite (185 euro/night). We only found out about this on our last night when we were comparing our room to the pictures on the Dar Zelda website. We really appreciate the gesture. What really stands out was, unlike other hotels, Michel did not even make a song and dance out of this. He just quietly gave us one of his best rooms!

The suite was spacious and have an extra lounge area with a sofa bed. Our room itself has another sofa and was beautiful decorated.

The only bummer was there was no wifi in our room. You can access wifi in the lounge area on the ground floor. Not a problem especially when you are lazing on the sofa with a glass of wine and smoking shisha!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jooeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Dar Zelda is very centrally located in the Medina and about a 10 minute walk through the shops to the “Big Square”. The Medina is a maze so it took us two days to realise how centrally located we were, it was fine once we decided to ignore the advice of local people on the streets who claim to be directing you to the “big square” but actually want you to visit their carpet shop/tannery. Be sure to get the taxi collection from the airport, otherwise the Riad might be hard to find, like I said, the Medina is complex.

The room in the Riad was lovely, and well air conditioned, which is much needed in the summer heat. The plunge pool in the court yard was a nice way to relax and the roof-top garden is spectacular. Its amazing how tranquil Dar Zelda is when just outside its walls is the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

The staff were lovely and Aladdin was particularly great. We inquired about the best way to see the Cascades (a waterfall 3 hours away) and instead of just seeing the Cascades, we saw the Cascades, the Arch, experienced a Hammam, saw Aladdins home town, and met and celebrated the end of Ramadan with Aladdin’s’ family. This definitely made the trip!

I would highly recommend Dar Zelda.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Dar Zelda is an absolutely beautiful guesthouse. The photos don't do it justice! We were upgraded on arrival as we were the only guests. The location is excellent - about 2 minutes walk from the souks. The staff were all so accommodating and helpful. The roof-top terrace and plunge pool made the perfect retreat for afternoons when the Marrakesh July heat beat us. The dinner we had at the Riad was really great (if a little more pricey than other local options) but overall Dar Zelda is excellent value for money. It is however difficult to locate so definitely opt for the airport pickup as we would have struggled to find it after our late evening flight.
Thanks so much Dar Zelda - we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrietainsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Dar zelda. Michel and his staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The location is perfect if you want to experience being in the middle of the old medina. When you need to retreat from the intense atmosphere in the streets, this Riad has a peaceful, great terrace and spacious rooms. Definitely to recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews