We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place I ever stayed in”
Review of Dar Zelda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Zelda
Ranked #286 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Staying att dar Zelda made our first time in Marrakesh a complete architectural experience. This beautiful private house has been restored in exquisite taste.
We were lucky enough to stay in the traditional suite of rooms that combinined traditional arabic grandeur with modern comfort in a way that I won´t forget in a hurry. I fact, I don´t think I have ever stayed in rooms as beautiful as these, anywhere.
The roof terrace with the wiew of the minarets was perfect for breakfast and early evening relaxing after the bustle of the streets.
The location, close to the northern part of the Souk was perfect for exploring the medina, The staff very friendly and efficient, and made sure we felt perfectly at home in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: The traditional suite of rooms was breathtaking
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Archibald_Frid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Dar Zelda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 147 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

Pesonal service from the start, providing a taxi pick up from the airport (for a fee). This car journey is an experience itself - the traffic in Marrakech is manic! As we arrived in the evening, we ate in the hotel the first evening and the food was lovely.

We paid for one of the smaller rooms available but it was well sized with a large, comfy bed and very clean.

Breakfast was served on the roof terrace which was nicely laid out and very peaceful. We enjoyed returning to the riad about 4pm each day and relaxing on the roof terrace with a bottle of wine and a book before heading out in the evening.

All staff were very helpful and polite and went out of their way to ensure an enjoyable stay. This included telephoning restaurants on our behalf to make reservations (Le Foundouk) and actually leading us to the restaurant to avoid getting lost in the winding streets!

The Riad is close to a mosque with external speakers and so you will hear clearly the prayer chants (including 4am prayers!) but this is part of the Marrakech experience, isn't it?!!

I hope that we will be able to return to Dar Zelda again in the future but at the very least I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duffyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We just come back from Marrakesh where we spent a week. We stayed at the Riad Dar Zelda and had a wonderfull time. The riad is very well situated, 5 min. walk from "la place aux épices" and 10 min. walk from "la place Jemaa El F'na". The owner, Michel, is very frendly and professional like all the employees, many thanks to all of them and especially Mustapha and Nadja who were so kind and helpfull with us. Our room was a junior suite, plenty of space and very good value. I defenitly recommend this place to stay in Marrakesh. We will come back again for sure. Jérôme.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivierapremiumtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We had a wonderful stay - the riad is very well appointed and a great value for the price. We thought the staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to accomodate us and our small children. When I mistakenly paid twice (once on a credit card, once by cash - it was my mistake, not theirs), the manager jumped on his moto to intercept us at our car and return the money when he realized what had happened. There are many riads in Marrakech now and I couldn't compare it to all of them, but we had a lovely few days here and I would return in a minute.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Amidst the sights, sounds, and smells of Marrakech's markets and souks, it's easy to become overwhelmed. Even if you're only spending a few days in this pink city, you'll find yourself surrounded by both excitement and (sometimes aggressive) enticement from the vendors and locals that make up the Medina's population. Dar Zelda is a lovely, welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of that excitement. Tucked away on a small path, it's interior is charming and sophisticated. The staff is attentive and accommodating. Throughout our stay, we were treated to lovely balance of European hospitality and local custom. Simple rooftop breakfasts in the morning and mint tea in the evening. They are happy to walk with you to restaurants so you don't get lost in the endless criss-cross of streets, score you a bottle of wine for a night in, launder your clothes, or suggest recommendations for better shopping, nightlife and the like. Marrakech often times felt more like "travel" than "holiday" because of the locals' tendency towards over-embracing it's tourists (to put it gently), but Dar Zelda managed to become the kind of peaceful home base that one needs if they are looking to find relaxation in this vibrant and colorful city. Oh, and it's proprietors are apparently in the midst of building a spa adjacent to the riad.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jseid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Landing in this riad after the first cultural shock of Marrakech is just a blessing. Mint tea as a greeting, beautiful and spacious room(The patio was amazing), great staff. Almost all is included (water, tea, juice, breakfast), there is wifi which makes it very convenient...and it's difficult to wonder out! The terrace is great and you can see amazing sunset. There is a small pool to freshen up (first floor) before sunbathing on the terrace. Michel, the owner, was just the best host. Easy to walk to all places within the Medina and to two amazing restaurants: Founduk and Terrasse des Épices.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Just a super place to stay in the Medina very near the Souks and the Central Place of Marrakech and with a super great and kind staff ! I do highly recommend such a place for a stay !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IFTHATMIGHTHELP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#93 of 502 in Marrakech
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#154 of 502 in Marrakech
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#149 of 502 in Marrakech
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 502 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#34 of 502 in Marrakech
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zelda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zelda

Address: 7, Derb Laakar | Kaât Bennahid, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $83 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Zelda is a small luxury boutique hotel in magical Marrakesh. The Riad has 4 double bedrooms, 3 junior suites and one grand 19th-century luxury suite. The decor is resolutely Zen and minimalist, but respectful of the ancient Moroccan artisanship: wrought iron, silks, precious woods. Every room is refined and luxurious.Dar Zelda is ideally located in the heart of the Medina (historical city center), just next door to the Medersa Ben Youssef (a must to visit; in all the guides) and the Museum of Marrakech. The riad is 10 minutes from the celebrated Place Djemaa El Fna and 2 mn to the souks (bazaar).Dar Zelda has a discreet/competent team of workers always attentive to realize your desires.The riad has 24 hour reception and room service. Lunch, dinner or snacks can be made to order anytime. You will enjoy the small heated pool and several terraces dominating the entire Medina and the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zelda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing