We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Everything you need” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad L'Orchidee
Ranked #140 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

9 of us recently stayed in this riad and couldn't have asked for any more. The rooms were stunning (especially cos I had the big room above the pool) and the people there were brilliant. Ahmed was a good guy but Mohammed the guy who stays there too was top drawer. He let you treat the place as if it were your own home and anything you needed he was on hand to help you with it. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    70
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
80
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Of all the places we stayed at during our 8-day Morocco trip throughout Marrakesh, Erb Chebbi, Fes, Rabat, and Casablanca, the staff at Riad L'Orchidee was head and shoulders above the rest. After almost 24 hours on the plane and train with various delays, being ripped off by a taxi despite reading online reports on how to be careful, feeling like we were going to be robbed by the "guides" that the taxi dropped us off with (and refused to drive further) to take to our hotel, the hospitality by Mohamed was the first bright spot of our trip, and everything became significantly better since.

Although many other Riads say to their customers to read the Riad as their own home, Mohamed really made us feel that way. We felt very comfortable chilling on the couches and common areas, where Mohamed spent much time explaining to us the best places to visit in Marrakech and drawing various paths on our map so we won't get lost in the maze-like Medina. After ordering a few rounds of beer, he realized that we liked to drink and introduced us to various Moroccan wine and liquors. When we commented that we liked the scent of the Riad, which added to the oasis-like decors, he got some of the same scent from the markets and gave it to us as a gift.

The managers were also exceeded our expectations. We were staying 3 nights, and the second night we were upgraded to a suite that was unused for free. They were also very trusting - not asking for payment until we were about to leave, offering to give us a couple of drinks for free when we didn't have the exact change.

I am usually not one to return to the same hotel when traveling no matter how good my stay was - just my nature to try out as many places as possible since we all have limited time, but Riad L'Orchidee is one of the few places I would go back to if we were back in Marrakesh again.

Room Tip: Showers are not created equal - one had very hot, comfy water and another had lukewarm water... not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nocoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

When I arrived, I was very impressed how good looking and stylish the please occurred to be.
It was so nice to dip into the pool during the hot day and to have a breakfast on the roof terrace. Even though the staff spoke really poor English , the were very willing to help in any cases.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This riad is beautiful, calm, and tranquil. It's a great escape to the rush and noise of Marrakech outside. We had a room on the ground floor that was very spacious, comfortable, and well organized. We felt a bit like royalty! The courtyard is so charming with the pool and waterfall and the breakfast served in the morning was plentiful. When we arrived, the assistant manager served us some mint tea and we talked about our plans for the next day (our last in Morocco after 8 days there). He gave us good directions for the few remaining sites we wanted to see and was very nice and helpful.

We had stayed in a different hotel (dar) in Marrakech earlier in our trip which was on the other side of the Jemaa el Fna square and the neighborhoods were quite different. There it was very quiet and residential while around Riad L'Orchidee, you have a real working neighborhood. I actually recommend it for that reason, it's safe and about a 15-20 minute walk to the square which takes you through streets filled with people and everyday shops (i.e. not touristy). It can be a little intimidating but, as I mentioned, we felt very safe. It's also convenient for the Ali Ben Youssef Medersa and Majorelle Garden.

As with many places in Marrakech, it's difficult to find the first time around so use their taxi service or make sure whoever is taking you takes you to the door. Oddly, once you know where it is it's easy to find!

One criticism is that the prices for things in the riad, i.e. a 1.5l bottle of water, are a bit ridiculous. You can buy a 1.5l of water from any small shop for 6DH, I think the riad was charging 2E (about 20DH). However, I understand that they need to make money and the service is great there, especially for such a reasonable price!

In short, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and had a giant room, not sure if the others are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PszczolkaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed with my husband for a weekend break. The hotel is down an alley but thankfully the taxi driver walked us there when the car could go no further. The staff at the hotel were so friendly, helpful and we couldn't fault them or the service and cleanliness of the hotel. They helped book trips, taxis, massage, and even charge phone!!
Marrakech was very chaotic but our hotel was the perfect place to retire to at the end of the night. The roof top garden was beautiful too

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30somethinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca, Spanje
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We were 4 girls staying in this Riad, for 4 nights and we enjoyed every night. Perfect location, 10 minutes walk to the Medina. Very peaceful hotel, good to relax here after a busy day in the city! Very friendly staff, they made us feel like home - Soukran!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MarDeLaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A very pleasant stay at this hotel.
Homely atmosphere, freindly staff.
Never miss a breakfast there.
Spacious lounge for leisure, peaceful and quite from the bustle of the old city, and a very exclusive, peaceful roof terrace, good sized swimming pool.
Great size rooms.
No TV, very good idea.
very good recommendations by members of staff, for visits to various places, and excursions.
Very close, walking distance to good restaurants and Sukhs(market).
reasonable priced taxi rides to various places locally.
Cant fault, definitely go back, and reccomend.

Room Tip: choose FIRST floor rooms, for more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#59 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#127 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#248 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#16 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Property: Riad L'Orchidee
Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing