We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean & quiet, a good place to call home in Marrakech” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad L'Orchidee
Ranked #172 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean & quiet, a good place to call home in Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

First of all, definitely get the airport transfer as the Riad would be impossible to find on your own the first time! The Riad is small, quiet, very clean, cozy, and has a very nice staff (particularly Sandra the french woman at reception). Breakfast was included for us, and was absolutely delicious. The Riad is about a 12 to 15 minute walk away from the square, and conveniently has ATMs on the way the way there.

The rooms are spacious, have strong air conditioning, bathrooms are very clean, and Wifi reaches the room.

I removed one star not because of the Riad itself but because of a trip we booked through it-- we went on a day trip to Ouzoud waterfalls (which by the way is absolutely worth it, breathtaking place!) and paid to be on an airconditioned mini-bus. The bus was FAR from air conditioned, extremely cramped, and after talking to other travellers we realized we had paid a little more than everyone else by booking through the Riad. We felt we overpaid and were falsely advertised to.

However, other than that trip, this RIad is truly a relaxing and great place to come back to at the end of a day in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    73
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
83
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for the first two nights of our first trip to Marrakech and it was lovely. It's a bit tricky to find as it's down a few alleyways where taxis don't go but once you get your bearings it's easy. The Riad is well situated for exploring J'maa al Fna and the north of the Medina. The staff are excellent - really friendly and accommodating - and the Riad itself is a welcome calm, quiet, cool place amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The ground floor pool is particularly wonderful! Our room was lovely and the bathroom was completely unique. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Riad is very pretty and charming inside. All of the rooms are decorated well and are clean and comfortable. The location of this Riad is a little tricky as it is through the souks but once you get your bearings it's not too difficult to find. The team were very helpful and friendly. We had a mix up with our taxi transfer on the morning of departure and the owner herself came at 5am to drive us to the airport. The food and drink here are also excellent. The terrace is developing and the plunge pool was a welcome relief after the heat of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The riad was staffed by very friendly and helpful staff, which made the holiday so much more relaxing and enjoyable. The riad was very relaxing and the calming decor was a contrast from the hustle and bustle of the medina and the souks. The location was excellent however after a week the basic breakfasts got a little boring but even this did not put a damper on our holiday. Overall great accommodation from which to explore Marrakech!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great location once you find it - hidden away down the lanes. This Riad is like a tardis inside. Only 6 rooms so not crowded. Nothing was too much trouble for the team, they were very chatty and helpful. Nice breakfast, as another review mentioned, it wasn't rushed. Excellent value for the price paid - thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stay in this hotel from 25-06-2013 till 29-06-2013.
This period was very hot so we had two excursions to sea (Essaouira and Oualidia).Prices were reasonable.Prices for food and drinks are a little bit high.
Eating outside is much cheaper.Staff did not work very much as a team and there was nobody who leads the staff for dividing the work,so that can be better.It was a little unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent place. The courtyard where breakfast is served is also equipped with beautiful pool. The breakfast is leisurely with nobody rushing you. The atmosphere in the Riad is one of contentment. A lot of care is given to make a stay in the Riad L'Orchidee a special experience. My room and bathroom were large and airy. Nicely furnished. The staff are friendly and professional. They work very hard indeed.
I highly recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: I had a room above the swimming pool. I think it's probably the quietest room as there is no ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hely T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#118 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#70 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#66 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#247 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Ariha
Riad Ariha
#108 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Property: Riad L'Orchidee
Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing