We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant holiday!”
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad L'Orchidee
Ranked #183 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A very pleasant holiday!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The riad was staffed by very friendly and helpful staff, which made the holiday so much more relaxing and enjoyable. The riad was very relaxing and the calming decor was a contrast from the hustle and bustle of the medina and the souks. The location was excellent however after a week the basic breakfasts got a little boring but even this did not put a damper on our holiday. Overall great accommodation from which to explore Marrakech!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    76
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
87
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great location once you find it - hidden away down the lanes. This Riad is like a tardis inside. Only 6 rooms so not crowded. Nothing was too much trouble for the team, they were very chatty and helpful. Nice breakfast, as another review mentioned, it wasn't rushed. Excellent value for the price paid - thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stay in this hotel from 25-06-2013 till 29-06-2013.
This period was very hot so we had two excursions to sea (Essaouira and Oualidia).Prices were reasonable.Prices for food and drinks are a little bit high.
Eating outside is much cheaper.Staff did not work very much as a team and there was nobody who leads the staff for dividing the work,so that can be better.It was a little unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent place. The courtyard where breakfast is served is also equipped with beautiful pool. The breakfast is leisurely with nobody rushing you. The atmosphere in the Riad is one of contentment. A lot of care is given to make a stay in the Riad L'Orchidee a special experience. My room and bathroom were large and airy. Nicely furnished. The staff are friendly and professional. They work very hard indeed.
I highly recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: I had a room above the swimming pool. I think it's probably the quietest room as there is no ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hely T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent more than one week in Marrakech and 5 nights at Riad L'Orchidee and enjoyed it very much. The rooms were amazingly big with very nice tadelakt, especially considering the low price. The rooms are nicely decorated and cleaned every day. The staff was very nice and very helpfull. They try to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The last night we had to go to the hospital, fortunatly the riad manager (Alain) was so kind to take us there and stay with us although it was in the middle of the night.
Besides a lovely roof terras my favorite thing to do was to play with the bird Elif.

Next time in Marrakech definetly going back to this riad.!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed for a couple of nights and really liked the riad. Very friendly and kind staff who make a big effort to chat to you and make sure you're OK. Great breakfast and rooms nice, too! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 102janeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this riad last week for 3 nights. We loved it. The riad has 6 rooms, so roughly 12 people are staying maximum. Our room (we stayed in Amarillis) was really quite spacious, with a good sized double bed and a big bathroom, as well as space for our bags etc. The bathroom did develop a bit of an old water smell, but we did have heavy rain and nowhere in Marrakech seems particularly prepared for rain. The rest of the building is equally lovely. There's a pool, though we didn't use it - it's in the center of the riad, around which the rooms are, so it is mostly just for show. We did however make use of the sun terrace, which is lovely - a real slice of peace in a manic city, and the restaurant area (only for breakfast, but it was very good - plenty of food to start your day). You can also buy wine in the riad, which is good, because bars are few and far between in the city.

The staff are the real selling point though - they're lovely, very friendly and helpful. In a city like Marrakech where everybody seems to be trying to trick you out of money, it was lovely to meet a group of locals who love their city and are happy to help.

The riad itself is slightly out of the main souk area, which is good because it makes it easier to find (it's down a somewhat dodgy looking alley, but it only seems that way when you first arrive - it's really very safe) and quieter. I was woken up once by the call to prayer, but I'm a light sleeper. The riad itself is quiet at night. The rooms seem quite close to each other, and the building is quite open plan, so we were worried about noise but mostly noise from ourselves!

Our one concern prior to stay is that we weren't asked to pay a deposit - we neednt have worried. We paid everything when we left, and there was no problem whatsoever. That's just, it seems, how they do things.

I highly recommend this riad.

Room Tip: We stayed in Amaryllis, which was lovely. However, the impression we got is that all the rooms are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelMarieClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#200 of 499 in Marrakech
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#206 of 499 in Marrakech
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#125 of 499 in Marrakech
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#196 of 499 in Marrakech
197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#246 of 499 in Marrakech
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#244 of 499 in Marrakech
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Property: Riad L'Orchidee
Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing