We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad L'Orchidee
Ranked #147 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I were there in mid January. We had such a good time- the riad was clean and comfortably heated when it got a bit cold at night. We enjoyed breakfast on the rooftop every morning consisting of a variety of different breads and Moroccan pastries.

The manager and staff were friendly and very helpful, making our first time to Morocco very easy. They gave us recommendations and helped us to book some day trips as well as a hammam. One day we were tired from sightseeing in Essaouira and they organised dinner for us at the riad consisting of everything from salad to fries, tea and even shisha for a reasonable price. We would go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darylteo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    68
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
77
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a great time at the riad. The staff were helpful and the place was truly a lovely place to stay. The breakfasts were amazing.

The Only down sides were that the drains smelt, which at times was a little overbearing. Also we were given a tourist map on arrival which we were charged for when we settled the bill.

We returned booked two extra nights at the riad, will stay there again and shall be recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alykg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Riad L'Orchidee for one week over the Christmas period 2012. We were welcomed in to the Riad with mint tea & Moroccan biscuits whilst we were checking in and were provided with some local knowledge, a map, etc by the staff who spoke very good english. This was absolutely great as it gave us our bearings and we were advised of all the basic & important information like breakfast time :-).

The Riad is situated within the old medina and is about 10 minutes walk from the main square and also about 10-15 minutes walk in the opposite direction to the new city where you can find lots of nice restaurants such as Al-Fassia. There is a parking square about 2 minutes walk from the Riad where you can get a taxi if you need (the Riad staff gave us lots of info on what prices to pay/haggle for depending upon where we were going).

Our room was large with a queen sized bed as requested which was very comfortable. The room had lots of storage space (perfect for any length of stay) , free wifi, aircon with remote control and a large bathroom.

Breakfast was continental style and very good and varied each morning. It is also worth pointing out that there is a nice quite good sized roof terrace where we spent many hours relaxing in the sun.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, coffee or tea at any time and always ready to answer your questions.

All in all a great Riad in a great location with great staff at a very good price

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A really lovely Riad with good accommodation. Staff very friendly and welcoming; they go out of their way to be helpful. Can't praise their hospitality enaough. The Riad is not easy to find, we recommend using the airport transfer, but it is away from noisy streets. We stayed in the winter, the courtyard was cold for eating, but the bedrooms had individual heaters and we very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank PAUL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Do not be put off by the alley ways you have to walk to get here. The front door opens to a wonderful Riad The rooms are well furnished with everything you need The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble.With a 15 min max walk to the square its in an ideal location to explore all the city has to offer. There is even a small pool to relax in and a roof terrace to what the sun go down and have a beer

Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms are similar But if you are a light sleeper go for a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This riad is in a good location in some of the smaller streets. It's a 15 min walk to jemaa el fna square. Good fun to walk and did not feel unsafe at any time even in middle of night.

We were picked up at the airport and had a tea and then a very nice lemon chicken tagine on arrival.

There is a roof terrace (if you can stand the heat in marrakech) and a fridge with water, sodas , beers and wine for a reasonable price. Rooms are spacious and clean.

We booked a tour to the ourika valley through jean-christophe the manager who comes in every day and will help you in every way he can. Speaks perfect english.

Great stay,

Peter and Dorien , Holland.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_NL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and we were both extremely happy with this Riad. First and biggest tip, if flying in, contact the Riad before and arrange an airport transfer as it would be very hard to find without this. We paid 15 Euro one way for 2 people and thought this was great value for money. When you arrive you will see what I mean

The Riad is clean and the decor is traditional. Our room was a good size and comfortable, I think we had the lead in room as well. Breakfast varied every day but was always a good selection and filling.

The service was great, have no complaints there at all. The only slight issue we had was that one of the staff members spoke no english but with my broken french we always managed to get what we needed.

Its location would have to be one of the biggest selling points to this Riad. It is about 3 min walk to the start of the Souks and about 10 from there to the main sq. You can walk the main road way which takes about 15 mins to the sq and this will offer a less "hassle" stroll away from the Souks.

The terrace on the roof is great to get away from it all. Being an almost dry country it is not easy to find a bar and have a nice drink. We bought some duty free and spend a few hours on the roof making our own drinks in the sun - perfect!

Would recommend this to anyone looking for great value, good service and a comfortable stay in a crazy city.

Room Tip: Book an airport transfer with the riad as it may be difficult to find without this
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#62 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#131 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#58 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#207 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#56 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#64 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Property: Riad L'Orchidee
Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing