We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location and great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Nakhla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar Nakhla
Ranked #688 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

It is not easy to find a good riad between the hundreds of riads in Marrakesh, but Dar Nakhla is definitely a good choice!
Great location, great price, nice room and breakfast, good decoration. The staff is the best! Najib and Samir were very friendly, welcoming and helpul and the breakfast ladies very nice too!
Totally reccommend! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madaccfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a great little riad in the medina. Close to the Djemaa el Fna but off of a side street so it is quiet. Clean with a great friendly staff and a lovely roof (where they serve breakfast) with wonderful views. The rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated. Seemed to be cheaper than a lot of other Riads in the area. Watch out for low ceilings in the stairwells, my husband bumped his head a couple of times (he is around five feet, eleven inches (about 1.8 meters)) but he should watch where he is going. By the way, their website is not (currently) listed on the tripadvisor page but it is http://riaddarnakhla.com.

The riad could be a bit hard to find if you do not know where it is (we had a friend come meet us at the train station to show us the exact location). My husband and I put together a quick directions sheet to help – you can view and download a PDF here: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B4KDOs-RLEGxMjNYWk5VZS1UOXFjYXI0MFpLd2Q4dw

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Dar Nakhla is a great place to stay. It's a fantastic lokation – lovely and quite corner of medina and it's just few minutes away from the famous square. Building itself is very interesting, tastefully decorated in a moroccan way, and it has sunny roof teracces. Best of all is a super friendly staff, very generous and helpful. We spent with them fantastic time. They can also organize guided tours in Marrakech, as well as trips out of city. If you prefer to dine in riad, girls will prepere delicious food for you. I'm sure we'll go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levanto, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Riad Nakhla actually saved us from a double booking in another hotel, so we didn't choose them but were really glad they found us. Najib and Samir could not have been more helpful or welcoming, without being invasive but really going the extra mile to make us comfortable. The building is fascinating and tastefully decorated. In two days we kept finding other stairs and more cabinets and niches with beautiful pots and jars. Rooms clean and comfortable.
Would choose to stay here again and gladly recommend Riad Nakhla to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay and was well looked after by Najib and Semir. It was like being at home! The Riad is beautiful and very clean and rooms were spacious and had a great Moroccan feel. It was very near to everything in Marrakesh and also was the perfect place to relax and sit on the roof terrace drinking mint tea and taking in the views of the city. We would defo stay here again, they organised us trips to the mountains and gave us honest advice of what to see etc.

They even recommended places for nightlife hotspots and had a great Morocco evening out with the general manager.

If you want to be well looked after and stay in a beautiful traditional place then stay at the DAR NAKHLA.

Thank you
Marios , Will, Fiona and Katy xx

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mevlambiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

My husband, myself and our 19-year-old grandson visited Marrakesh in May 2011. Our original plan was to spend two weeks in Marrakesh (as well as two weeks in Spain), but changes in work schedules forced us to cut back our time in Morocco to five days. So, it was very important that we squeeze in as much as possible and not waste our time. Najib, manager of Dar Nakhla, is the best. He advised us as to which would be the best tour for us that included riding camels into the Sahara Desert, and other advice and overall friendliness.
You might read older reviews of Dar Nakhla (before Summer 2010) that have bad things to say about Dar Nakhla. Be assured, those bad things have been fixed and more!! It is an extremely pleasant place to stay. If you want to experience Moroccan culture, this is the place to stay. It’s not the Ritz Carlton, but we didn’t want to be isolated behind gates in a fancy hotel. We wanted to experience Morocco and Moroccans. And we surely did staying at Dar Nakhla and having Najib to help us. Samuel and the rest of the staff were also very helpful, friendly and welcoming.
Inside Dar Nakhla’s walls there was quiet and serenity. Step out the door and you are two blocks from the hustle and bustle, and noise, that is the medina of Marrakesh. Our room had a private bathroom, A/C and very comfortable beds. The room was decorated in authentic Moroccan style including a beautifully painted cedar ceiling. Just outside our door was a sitting room area shared by three rooms. There we met people from France, Spain and South Africa. A bonus for us. Our 19-year-old grandson really appreciated the good wi-fi; OK, we older folks did as well. Other older reviews have mentioned noisy and smelly. We experienced neither. Dar Nakhla is clean, quiet and no bad smells, and we always felt safe.
The terrace was a special sanctuary. Set on several levels, we could sit out in the sun, or if it was raining, there is a Berber tent set up on the top level to keep dry. Yes, it rained while we were in Marrakesh.
I tried to brush up on my French so I could converse with the staff in French. But, there was no need. Najib and Samuel speak good English. Stay at Dar Nakhla; it will be an experience of a lifetime!!

Room Tip: middle floor room with the shared sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty4889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

We loved staying at Riad Nakhla, which is in the medina, but much easier to find that many other riads. Najib, our host, was very gracious and helpful. The riad was renovated in July 2010 and each room is quiet and clean with private showers and toilets. In addition, it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riad Nakhla
Hotel Riad Nakhla
#41 of 76 in Essaouira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#143 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#98 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nakhla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nakhla

Property: Riad Dar Nakhla
Address: 72, Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #688 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Budget Places and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Nakhla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nakhla Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing