We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sensational!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison MK
Ranked #3 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Before travelling to Marrkech with my girlfriend I researched many of the hundreds of riads in the Medina, and found Maison MK to be the outstanding option for a modern twist on traditional Moroccan style, coupled with excellent service, and a great location. We were not disappointed.

Greeted at the airport by the ever helpful Amin, we were whisked through the City walls, and led along the narrow streets to the riad's imposing front door. Jallel, the manager, greeted us with mint tea and cake. Prior to us arriving, they had checked if we had any food allergies, and remembering that I don't eat eggs or nuts, the chef, Nora, had prepared two cakes without these ingredients. They were delicious, as they were every day we were there, and it was a great first impression of the service we could expect. Jallel gave us a tour (i won't spoil it for you, the website is impressive, but the reality is far better), and arranged our plans for dinner that evening. They are relaxed about you eating in, or out, and if the latter, you are in luck. Jallel has an extensive network of contacts in the city, and especially at all the top restaurants and bars (of which there are many fabulous ones to try), and can get you in anywhere, even on the day. He even found me a bar to watch the football in.

Maison MK's great location in the medina meant we could easily visit the Jemaa El Fna square, the Souks, the Kasbah, and various other attractions. We also took a Caleche (horse drawn cart) ride, which was a great way to see the sights. If you decide to spend time in the riad, there is much to do aswell. Whether you fancy shisha, dvds, games, sunbathing, hammam, or massage (my girlfriend said her massage from Hasna was the best one she's ever had), you can indulge, and seemingly at any time - the staff are happy to assist.

Our lasting memories? The views from the roof terrace really are amazing, and breakfast is delicious - best scrambled eggs ever, my girlfriend said. We used the terrace as much as possible, relaxing on the cushions with a drink in the evening or lazing in the afternoon sun. The rooms were also wonderful. Very comfy beds, all the amenities you need, cool music playing, and a great shower. We had the pleasure of being upgraded to the master suite for 2 of the 3 nights, and it is a fantastic room. Above all, the service was terrific, and we are quite fussy guests! Amin even delivered one of the yellow ducks to us after we had departed.

All the staff at Maison MK are wonderful, we can't remember all their names, but Jallel, Nora, Amin, Somi, Layla, Hasna and Paul - thank you so much. You fully deserve the excellent rating you have on Tripadvisor. We will be back soon. Peter and Jen.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PistolPete2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    16
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
468
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed at Maison MK for our Honeymoon at the end of October. We had a truly amazing time and this chic boutique hotel made our stay all the better. All the staff were very attentive without being intrusive and could not do enough for us, the small number of rooms made it feel like we were the only ones there even though we were not!
we were given lots of information on where to go and where to eat and our excursions were all sorted for us without us having to do anything but say "we would like to do.... " they even provided a mobile phone for our use in case we got stuck/lost - and that is very likely in the souks. The food was delicious and breakfast out on the sunny terrace (even at the end of october) was a must!
Being in the centre of the medina was a great location and our trip into the Atlas mountains was fantastic - even having tea at our Berber guide's home. We would definitely stay again and would recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsGStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We just came back from our trip to Marrakech, we stayed in this hotel for three nights. From the moment we arrived we were greated with mint tea and friendly staff til the last moment we were there it was fantastic. The staff was very friendly, and the manager Jalal was very welcoming great and informative. We will stay in this riad the next time we are in Morroco. I will reccommend it to all my family and friends. Thank you so much for the great service.
Leila Taheri .chicago

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leilachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

If you want to live like a king then come to Maison MK. The pictures on the website however beautiful, do not do this haven justice. Think of the heavenly ambiance of a luxury spa, with calming music piped into all areas , friendly helpful staff and copious amounts of cushions to sink into.

If you are lucky enough to have booked the Master Bedroom, you wake up to the sun gently highlighting a cross crafted into the lovely wooden windows, one of far too many special touches to mention here.

Breakfast on the lovely rooftops overlooking Marrakesh with the mountains in the distance is a perfect way to start the day before you take your life into your own hands traversing the manic streets of the town.

The breakfast consists of tea and coffee, fresh orange juice, with fruit yogurt compote, bread with jams and pastries.

You will find yourself spending time in all of the hotels spaces from the opulence of the camel room, to the dvd lounge where you can't resist but to have a go on the xbox 360. The pool is lovely just after sunning yourself on the terrace.

Don't forget to have a lovely massage, with the pick of the bunch being the Hammans.

Overall if you want peace and tranquility a couple minutes away from the hustle bustle of Marrakesh markets, then this is the place to come. It may be expensive, but it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moodini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed at Maison MK while on a television shoot in Marrakech and I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is stylish, fun, friendly and incredibly luxurious. The rooms have Moroccan mobile phones, i-pods, hairdryers, giant plastic bath ducks and delicious chocolates. The masseuse is fabulously good. The manager Jalel and owner Paul are really helpful and good fun and the staff are attentive without being sychophantic. The roof terrace has one of the best views of the Atlas mountains in town - I know because I checked out a load of them for filming.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolaglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

maison mk looked so wonderful on the website I didn't expect it to be a million times better in the flesh. It really came alive with the fun and friendly staff, beautiful lighting at night and lazy morning breakfasts on the roof terrace. With so many places in Marrakech to choose from , it can be a hard choice... unless you know of this place. Then it's simple. There really is nowhere better.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

What can i say fantastic stay. The staff and manager and owner were all excellent, went out of their way to please us, nothing was too much trouble. My wife and i both had beauty treatments in the Riad again first class.
The rooms were of top quality, bathrooms especially. All in all wecan highly recommend this place for romantics far and wide!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andyjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Property: Maison MK
Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison MK 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing