We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Had A Great Time Despite The Rain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Maison MK
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had A Great Time Despite The Rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

To say that it rained during our stay in Marrakesh is an understatement it absolutely poured down. It is at times like this that you really appreciate a good place to stay and Maison MK was superb. When the heavens opened we enjoyed the spa treatments, great food, movies, board games, luxurious baths, fine wine and fun that the Riad had to offer. When the sun shone (briefly) we took the opportunity to lose ourselves in the Medina which is just the other side of the front door. We had a marvellous time and will definitely go back!

  • Liked — The Hedonism
  • Disliked — Leaving It
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JasperSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    16
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
467
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Have been to 3 Riads in Marrakech. Masion MK was by far the best for what I paid. It is extremely cosy & welcoming. Once inside the front door & away from the stir of the medina I could but only chill-out to the max.
While its decor has a modern touch it has by no means sold out & maintains true to it's north African virtues. The lighting in the bedrooms & the en suites allow for any mood & the in-house sound system works a treat. The roof terrace is quite large & offers a superb uninterrupted vista of the entire medina. I only had breakfast which was more than up to the task.
All the staff were very friendly & willing to help us with taxis, directions, booking restaurants & clubs etc.
If your searching for a Riad for a cheeky little weekend in Marrakech stop right here - no need to look further. Masion MK and its staff will make your stay is as serene as possible.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Law_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I loved it and had such fun! Set in the old medina of Marrakech, Maison MK is in the perfect spot for taking in the souks – only a short walk to Jemaa-el-Fna and all that it has to offer, it is also only a 10 dirham taxi ride to either Gueliz or Hivernage with the more cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. And that for me is perfect – everything easy, getting lost is fun but a quick request of one of the stall holders for the direction to Bab Ksour and I easily found my way ‘home’. I do not normally stay in hotels when I travel – I prefer to visit friend’s homes or rent private villas – so Maison MK was an extremely pleasant surprise. It felt like being in a private home, with a small number of rooms, everything was very personal from the smiling cleaners, accomplished masseuse, charming waiters and waitresses, the ever helpful and thoughtful manager and everyone I had contact with made my stay a pleasure (not to mention the yummy breakfasts!). There are lots of nooks to hide away in with a book, but also comfortable communal areas to meet with fellow guests, the roof terrace is on several levels (with stunning views of the Atlas mountains and Marrakech rooftops) and the sun beds are luxuriously spacious, not to mention the various places, inside and out, to eat and drink and be merry. Maison mk is the perfect antidote to the crazy outside world.

  • Liked — the luxury
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarahplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Maison MK is situated within the old city walls and is a stones throw away from the famous square, the only place you should stay in Marakesh) After being completely taken back with my first stay at Maison MK, returning for a second was evan better. With an intimate team of very friendly staff wiling to help with anything within the Riad and out i had every need tended to. I feel i have experienced total luxury with amazing food, various lounges and chill out areas, (not forgetting the cinema room) the most beautiful roof terrace and spa treatments, all within this stunning riad. I will continue to visit Mason MK for the foreseeable future.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank DWARDFACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Maison mk has succeeded in capturing the beauty and mysteries of Marrakesh. The city's shapes and colours are mirrored in its architectural and general design details. Permit your eyes to wander from the grand design to its little alcoves and spaces and you will see just how much attention to detail there has been.
And the detail is not just in the "seeing", it is in the "having" too. Superb food(don't miss an opportunity to experience the intimate private dining on offer in the evening), luxurious toiletries and spa treatments, modern entertainment facilities(but you can play Board games too!) and even the use of a mobile phone when out and about containing all the important numbers you might need, all combine (with many other features) to provide a seamless service of superb quality.
You can also be confident- whether it is to arrange to be driven to the Atlas mountains or to have a table reserved for you at one of Marrakesh's many "hidden away" restaurants- that Maison mk will make sure that you are not disappointed.
It is obvious that the management and its staff are committed to providing a first class service which is entirely flexible to your own needs and timetable.
It is not a place for children nor does it have disabled access but then it does not hold itself out to provide such facilities.
As for its location- it is a short drive from the airport ( where you will be met by one of Maison mk's charming staff) and it is a short walk to the Souk and all it offers.
If you are Marrakesh-bound then a visit to Maison mk is a must!

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — In an effort to maintain a certain ambience the bedroom was not as light as it could have been.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peterdoyle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Had a wonderful 3-night stay in January 2009. The owners are photographers and the whole building is characterised by its stylish attention to visual detail.

The bathrooms are particularly luxurious. Breakfasts were excellent and the service faultless. Jallel, the manager, was enormously helpful in making arrangements for us (including at an external hammam) and providing recommendations.

The riad is a stone's throw from the main square, Jemaa al-Fna, but blissfully tranquil (even the 5am muezzin is muted!).

The only (minor) regret was that, while it is a nice idea to be able to connect your own iPod to the sound system, it did not really work in practice (in our room at any rate) as the iPod kept being overridden by the house music (which could become slightly irritating if one were to spend a long time indoors).

All in all, however, I would recommend Maison MK very highly, budget permitting.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Londoner28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We booked Maison MK for four days over New Year's based on the positive reviews here on tripadvisor. Unfortunately, our experience was not as positive. Yes, the riad is very well located, beautifully designed, and staff are very friendly. However, while we were there, the WiFi was broken, and there was a problem with the warm water - and having cold showers in December is just not fun. We stayed in the master suite, which is the largest and most beautiful of the six bedrooms. But it has one major drawback: the roof terrace is right on top of it, and after 8 AM, sleeping becomes impossible (it sounds like people are literally walking on your head). Also, the music system did not work properly in our room, and the remote control for the heating did not work either. Finally, the lovely coffee service in the morning was only offered on 2 out of the 4 mornings that we stayed there. So overall, it was a mixed bag - I am not sure whether we would return.

  • Liked — the roof terrace (sitting on it)
  • Disliked — the roof terrace (suffering from the noise it caused) and cold water
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaroWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, owner at Maison MK, responded to this review, January 21, 2009
After 47 great reviews I guess there will always be the occasional unhappy guest. I called this lady to discuss the issues raised, which was very productive, & I also wanted to respond to her comments here in the public forum.

The "wifi was broken" - we still had wifi on the roof & the first floor, but the wifi on the ground floor was indeed broken for 1 week - the apple laptop we provide solely for clients use had to be connected to the modem directly in the reception - (fixing it involved hammering long holes in the walls to re-cable , not wise whilst guests were in ) - modem was still not a bad solution i feel.

"Cold showers" -Yes, the hot water boiler was definitely not at full capacity over new year - so the showers were not boiling hot. However the other 5 guests staying at the time (including peterdoyle9 - 5 stars on Jan6) did not even seem to mention it being a big problem & certainly didn't say the showers were cold. We had 2 different plumbers in the riad over 4 days to try to fix the problem. It now appears fixed & we are also flying our plumber out from the UK to look at the whole system to ensure this does not happen again.
Music system did not work - it worked for the previous & the subsequent guests - don't know their exact problem.
Remote control for air con - again, worked before & after them.
Coffee service - our fault - the £400 new grinder that we use had a problem & the overnight guardian did not tell us for 2 days that he was not putting coffee flasks outside the bedrooms at 6.30 am for guests. All fixed.

It is a shame that that this lady was unhappy - we genuinely try our best to ensure that all guests have a great stay. I am aware that they also posted a poor review of their restaurant visit for new year's eve & that the lady's partner was suffering chronic back pain (which we hopefully helped a little with an Osteopath that we arranged for him) - hopefully they will come back to Marrakech and have a lovely time on their next visit.
I had a very useful & helpful talk with the lady, but i just wanted to provide a public response to her comments so that both sides of the issue can be read by prospective travellers.

Many thanks,

Paul Hopkins - owner of maison mk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Property: Maison MK
Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison MK 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing