We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing birthday surprise”
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison MK
Ranked #39 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a place, after receiving a trip to Marrakech as a surprise birthday present once I found out we were staying at Maison MK after researching the hotel the reviews looked incredible. The hotel is in fact this and more. The Staff could not do enough for us, the spa treatments were a great way to start the mini break then after a busy day walking the streets to return to the chilled out atmosphere on the relaxed roof terrace for drinks, dinner and ambience were outstanding. I am fortunate enough to travel to a lot of hotels with work however have never had the experience and felt so at home and welcome as here, thanks to all the staff, I would recommend this place for to anyone! And hope to receive the same surprise again next year!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
There are newer reviews for Maison MK
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 754 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

I took my boyfriend to this hotel for his 30th birthday and it was a really special stay from start to finish. The Maison MK were attentive and friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. Breakfast was delightful on the terrace and we loved the fresh OJ, yoghurt and selection of breads combo. We were impressed how tranquil it could be on the roof with birdsong whilst the hustle and bustle of town was in full swing down below, two diff worlds that striked the perfect balance of R&R and adventure. Loved the boutique style of our room and bathroom was heavenly with rainforest shower, created a romantic funky atmosphere and again we were surprised how quiet it was at night being a city retreat. We also made the most of the spa on site and were relieved we opted for the hammam as it was still authentic but felt more hygienic than perhaps a communal one would have been and my massage was nice and strong pressure just how I like it. We are already longing to return here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The numbers say it all: over 430 "excellent" reviews in Tripadvisor, the number 1 restaurant experience in Marrakech... what more can I say? Well, the glowingly positive feedback is all true. This is an exceptional small hotel, designed with meticulous care and eye-for-detail by two very creative Brits (Paul and Aoibheann Hopkins, who we were lucky enough to meet and hang out with on the roof!) and run with equal care and passion by them and their fantastic team, headed by the friendly, super-chic and professional manager, Hanane.

Nothing here is too much trouble. I had a hunch I was going to be in for this kind of experience as soon as I started emailing prior to our trip - the responses were always lengthy, informative and very timely (and friendly too). Having been whisked from the airport, you enter the chaotic, dusty Medina, turn right and then a door with "mk" is ahead of you. Inside lies an oasis of great taste, tranquility and charm.

I loved everything about this place. The food was wonderful - I've eaten in a lot of top places and this was a very solid 1 Michelin-starred standard, which in Marrakech is an achievement (curiously, this city is not the foodie mecca you'd expect). The rooms are beautiful, sporting very high-end finishes and supremely comfortable beds. The view (and sounds) from the roof terrace are amazing, the drinks keep flowing, the pool is super-refreshing, the cinema is a great touch... I did not experience the spa personally but one of our group did and she said it was the best massage of her life.

We took two excursions organised by the riad: one into the Atlas Mountains in a 4x4, visiting an Argan oil co-operative and enjoying lunch in a Berber home; and a half-day learning how to cook Moroccan food with the chef Omar, with a trip to the market, and the communal bread oven, culminating in lunch (our handiwork!) on the roof. Both were organised exceptionally well, and were actually great value for money as well.

If you're visiting Marrakech for a short break, this is the place to go to let somebody else do the organising, relax and enjoy the very best hospitality. Thanks to all, great work, keep it up!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlotlondon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Staff is super friendly, surrounding area is quite and very safe (you don't have to worry about returning to the maison late at night), there is a great attention to details in everything in this place, you even get a mobile phone with a morrocan SIM in the room to use during your stay, in addition to an IPod with a great playlist of music to use in the room (connected to a sound surround system using a docking station) or outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamal_farhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely place,and lovely people.My wife and daughter joined me in a cooking class that was the highlight of our visit, with the evening gourmet meal a close second.
Brilliant place to stay and especially to eat! The cooking lesson was such fun! Really recommended.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank GarryGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A beautiful small Riad with excellence in everything they did for us. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Food, room, ambience and service all without fault. Hanane the Riad Manager is exceptional in her level of care. Thank you Maison MK, we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Maison MK at the end of last year. I loved the feel of the riad with it's very personal service. It is this personal touch that really gives it the edge over it's competitors. Maison MK offer extremely comfortable accommodation with a relaxed vibe. The public areas are really nicely done with ample space for lounging around. The hammam was an experience in itself! And definitely comes highly recommended. As does the delicious tasting menu!
I would definitely return to this beautiful 'home from home' without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#17 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#23 of 502 in Marrakech
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#28 of 502 in Marrakech
641 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#26 of 502 in Marrakech
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $239 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison MK 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our five beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! We have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing