We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely outstanding.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison MK
Ranked #8 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The numbers say it all: over 430 "excellent" reviews in Tripadvisor, the number 1 restaurant experience in Marrakech... what more can I say? Well, the glowingly positive feedback is all true. This is an exceptional small hotel, designed with meticulous care and eye-for-detail by two very creative Brits (Paul and Aoibheann Hopkins, who we were lucky enough to meet and hang out with on the roof!) and run with equal care and passion by them and their fantastic team, headed by the friendly, super-chic and professional manager, Hanane.

Nothing here is too much trouble. I had a hunch I was going to be in for this kind of experience as soon as I started emailing prior to our trip - the responses were always lengthy, informative and very timely (and friendly too). Having been whisked from the airport, you enter the chaotic, dusty Medina, turn right and then a door with "mk" is ahead of you. Inside lies an oasis of great taste, tranquility and charm.

I loved everything about this place. The food was wonderful - I've eaten in a lot of top places and this was a very solid 1 Michelin-starred standard, which in Marrakech is an achievement (curiously, this city is not the foodie mecca you'd expect). The rooms are beautiful, sporting very high-end finishes and supremely comfortable beds. The view (and sounds) from the roof terrace are amazing, the drinks keep flowing, the pool is super-refreshing, the cinema is a great touch... I did not experience the spa personally but one of our group did and she said it was the best massage of her life.

We took two excursions organised by the riad: one into the Atlas Mountains in a 4x4, visiting an Argan oil co-operative and enjoying lunch in a Berber home; and a half-day learning how to cook Moroccan food with the chef Omar, with a trip to the market, and the communal bread oven, culminating in lunch (our handiwork!) on the roof. Both were organised exceptionally well, and were actually great value for money as well.

If you're visiting Marrakech for a short break, this is the place to go to let somebody else do the organising, relax and enjoy the very best hospitality. Thanks to all, great work, keep it up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlotlondon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
476
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Staff is super friendly, surrounding area is quite and very safe (you don't have to worry about returning to the maison late at night), there is a great attention to details in everything in this place, you even get a mobile phone with a morrocan SIM in the room to use during your stay, in addition to an IPod with a great playlist of music to use in the room (connected to a sound surround system using a docking station) or outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamal_farhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place,and lovely people.My wife and daughter joined me in a cooking class that was the highlight of our visit, with the evening gourmet meal a close second.
Brilliant place to stay and especially to eat! The cooking lesson was such fun! Really recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GarryGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

A beautiful small Riad with excellence in everything they did for us. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Food, room, ambience and service all without fault. Hanane the Riad Manager is exceptional in her level of care. Thank you Maison MK, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Maison MK at the end of last year. I loved the feel of the riad with it's very personal service. It is this personal touch that really gives it the edge over it's competitors. Maison MK offer extremely comfortable accommodation with a relaxed vibe. The public areas are really nicely done with ample space for lounging around. The hammam was an experience in itself! And definitely comes highly recommended. As does the delicious tasting menu!
I would definitely return to this beautiful 'home from home' without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Staying at the Maison Mk was a truly excellent, special experience. From the moment we arrived to minute we left, the service was impeccable. Attentive but never intrusive, and always warm and friendly. Beautiful, personal rooms with especially gorgeous bathrooms. Amazing lighting and soothing music throughout the hotel lent it an air of tranquility and calm. Having completed the Marrakech Marathon my friends and I were also in need of high quality Spa treatments, which we received to perfection in the small but cozy Spa. A truly blissful, thorough massage and an equally lovely hamam. And, of course: the amazing roofterrace with views of mountains, rooftops, sunsets and sunrises. Returning to Marrakech and Maison MK is not a matter of if, but when.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

most excellent stay at Maison MK is a sometimes cold although friendly Marrakech,very friendly staff, delicious food, great spa, and when the sun does shine the roof terrace is a great place to catch the rays, if I go back this is the place I would stay, what more can I say !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Property: Maison MK
Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison MK 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing