We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning riad run by a really lovely guy”
Review of Riad Jean Claude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Jean Claude
Ranked #40 of 221 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Riad Jean Claude is quite simply an oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Fez. Located really conveniently for all the sites of Fez, this riad is a real hidden gem. The riad and its garden are both absolutely gorgeous. The owner, Jean Claude, is a really lovely hospitable man with an excellent understanding of what guests want/need. He really went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast is also really delicious. His place is really excellent value for money and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippyspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 139 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2010

Riad Jean Claude was perfect for us; 7 people in the 4 available rooms. It felt like our own house as we rented the whole riad. The terrace and gardens were gorgeous even though it was winter. Jean Claude was a wonderful host; very helpful and charming. He organised trips with drivers for us, helped with internet, drove us to other parts of Fes and gave us insights into this amazing ancient city. Breakfasts were generous and bottled water always available. the location was perfect for us; just inside the medina so we could walk virtually anywhere within the medina.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Riad Jean Claude has been a wonderful choice while staying in Fez. It is owned by a gentle Frenchman who made our stay an absolutely unforgetable experience. Place is quiet and well located on the Medina (you won't get lost at all!). Our room was on the top floor with a nice balcony outside to enjoy the sunny days while drinking a sweet mint tea. View from the city worth a picture from there too. Delicious breakfast, fruit, plenty of crepes, baguettes, croissants and all types of jam to choose from. We will definitely come back here again and I strongly recommend the place to everyone who wants to feel part of the magic of Fes.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africa1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Enjoyed a wonderful two night stay in this superb riad. Jean Claude is the BEST host one can ever imagine.

This riad is absolutely FANTASTIC and highly recommended. An oasis of peace and tranquility just a few steps from the lively Fes medina.

Superb location. One minute walking from the medina and less than five minutes walking from Bab Bou Jeloud.

The riad is really nice and wonderfully decorated. It has a fantastic garden, a swimming pool, a pretty moroccan salon ... ¡and an incredible terrace with stunning views on the medina!

We slept in room Meknes and we must say it was marvelous. Very nice furniture and decoration, with all the commodities and a big bathroom.

Breakfast is superb and what makes this riad absolutely unique and unbeatable is Jean Claude ... ¡what a marvelous host! ... He picked us from the bus station and gave us a very nice tour around the city walls. The highlight of this tour was an incredible viewpoint where we enjoyed one of the most beautiful panoramas ... ¡Fes bustling medina from the top!

He gave us the best possible advice about plenty of practical issues, he walked with us to the medina and recommended placesto dine, he borrowed us a wonderful guide to discover the medina by our own ... ¡and he even caried us to the airport! ...

Always smiling, always willing to help ... ¡what a kind, friendly, generous and superb host!

This unique riad and this unique host are definitely recommended if you want to enjoy a PERFECT stay in such an interesting city like Fes

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guitarrajaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Riad Jean-Claude is probably the best location in Fes if you want to visit the old town (Medina) of Fes. Hidden behind a small door, a wonderful world will open for you. A nice garden, a (small) swimming-pool and then the splendid house: moroccan "salon" and terrace and the rooms in the typical morrocan style, all furniture and decoration very well selected.
Jean-Claude is really the perfect host: he waited for us at the airport, showed us around when we arrived and he is always ready to give you a lift. He is present when needed and he has answers to all questions. And last but not least, the breakfast he serves is simply fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRCPAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Riad Jean Claude is a delightful small riad. Our stay here was made even more memorable by Jean Claude, who couldn't have been more helpful. He walked with us to Restaurants in the Medina to ensure we found our way; on two other nights he drove us into the new town to restaurants; he also took us to a view point to see Fez at sunset and on our last day drove us to the airport for our flight home. Nothing was too much trouble for Jean Claude.

The Riad itself is set in a small pretty garden, where there is a refreshing small pool. Breakfast is served on the terrace - fresh fruit and freshly based croissants, pancakes and rolls. All very relaxing and peaceful - a real oasis, given that the Riad is right on the edge of the Medina. This was great as it is accessible by road (with taxis available in the adjacent square) and only a 2 minute walk into the Medina.

Our room was located just off the garden and was decorated beautifully - traditional tiles on the walls, four poster bed, large settee for watching TV(good selection of channels) and very exotic dark red velvet curtains and bed cover. The a/c was also very efficient and there was plenty of hot water for showering.

We had three excellent dinners whilst we were in Fez, and would highly recommend Dar Roumana (creative Moroccan) in the Medina and Maison Blanche and Le Majestic (both French) in the new town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Jean claude met us at the station even though our train was late and returned us to the station on departure day even coming in to make sure we got the right tickets.He walked us to the restaurant area in the rain to make sure we knew where to go. He also took us for a drive up in the hills for an overview of the town. Breakfast was beautiful and Jean-Claude a caring and attentive host. The weather was not condusive to enjoy the garden and pool area. Wonderful location to enjoy the delights of FEs..

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 100 in Fes
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Dar El Mandar Farm
Dar El Mandar Farm
#2 of 221 in Fes
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 76 in Fes
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jean Claude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jean Claude

Address: 10 Bis Derb El Miter, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $80 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Jean Claude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing