We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great cafe/restaurant with excellent puds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Clock

Cafe Clock
Ranked #7 of 205 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great cafe/restaurant with excellent puds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We came here on our first night in Fez and both ate the chicken couscous, although not the cheapest of meals compared to other places in Fez, the food was really good and in our opinion worth the extra money. The view from the terrace was nice and the staff were friendly and the service was good.

Although the menu was rather small the food was very different to what was offered in other restaurants which is why we liked the place and came back twice for the delicious puddings (mainly the chocolate pudding but also tried the Lemon tart)!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spw1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    828
    239
    65
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Traveller friendly, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

One of the most welcoming places I've been to in Morocco. Very friendly staff, attentive service. Clearly geared towards tourists and it works. Nice rooftop dining, weather permitting, with some decent views. Food is good, a mix of Moroccan and western dishes. Offers concerts, movies, yoga, cooking classes. Good location, just keep an eye out for the markings on the doorway. Almost missed it the first time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank valzebub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Couldn't see what the fuss was about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Cafe Clock was recommended by several people including the owner of the Dar we were renting from a friend. We visited in the first night we were in Fes, and just stopped for a drink as we didn't find it to be typical enough for our first meal in the medina. We went back a couple of nights later to eat. I thought that it is the kind of place that would appeal to young Moroccans who wanted something different from the usual Fez offer, a bit trendy, a bit westernised but as we had come to Morocco to experience Moroccan culture it wasn't what I was looking for. Having said all that, the people were all lovely, friendly and chatty, especially the girl with the very strong East London accent who sounded like she had under-studied the Artful Dodger, and said she had learned English from some friends who were living in Fez.
I had a chickpeas and lemon burger which was ok, my friends had lamb burgers and falafel with humous and tabbouleh but I found my burger fell apart. the salad was nice though, as was the almond milk. everyone enjoyed their food but I didn't feel it all lived up to the expectation that had been built of it being 'the, place to eat in Fez. Sorry guys, very nice but not superlative and we ate in nicer and more interesting places.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mariocatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food, chilled atmosphere,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really liked the funky design of the Clock cafe,On Fridays they have a tiny cinema, yoga lessons ,Calligraphy lessons and excellent food.
The service is great and the waiters are friendly .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patty187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“moroccan style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lovely, lovely little cafe, very much geared to travelers but also nicely rooted locally. The food is great--a mix of Moroccan-style street snacks and more creative cafe food (there's a camel burger!). The place goes up and up and up (eesh, the poor waitstaff), and there are even seats on the roof. I ate here a couple times and liked just about everything but the slightly bland lamb burger. Great couscous, good harira (soup) and tasty little fried-potato thingies (maakouda). And they've just published a cookbook, and they run cooking classes, so if you like something, you can figure out how to make it yourself!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tenmali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Clock also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Cafe Clock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing