We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Hotel Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Perla
Ranked #67 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Nizwa, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I wouldnt have chosen this hotel myself had i the choice. I was put up here by the organisers of a conference i was visitng... it is walking distance from the main train station... and is in the newer part of Fez, with local stores and cafes around. However a 10 minute walk can take you to the Boulevard Hasan II which is an exciting place in the evenings.

But it is very far from the medina and the older parts of fes...

The best thing about this hotel were the staff members, Othman at the reception and Emad who served us the meals, where excellent hosts.

Had a great time at Hotel Perla.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyeshaMualla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
12
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located to the train station and several attractions can be reached in 10/15 minute walk, like the Royal Palace and the Mellah where you can visit the synagogue and the jewish cemetery. Across from the hotel there is a grocery store where you can buy refreshments and beer or sodas. Several restaurants are close to the hotel. The hotel staff was nice and they helped us to contact a guide to visit the Medina. Our room was comfortable and clean and we had hot water all day. Breakfast was generous and good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphisdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

When we came in late at night, the receptionist wanted 444 dirham for the room.LUCKILY we wanted to pay by visa and had to wait until the next day to pay since the price was only 420... It became obvious why he wanted us to pay cash
When we went for our luggage in the car he called a 'watchman' to check if our car was parked on a good spot... obviously he wanted some money for it (and no we didn't gave any for such a lauzy help... In Europe we learn to park our car ourselves...).

We were handed the key of a room. when we entered the bed was slept on and there was a dirty plateau with diner leftovers on it. when we went back down we got an other room with a smaller bathroom and a crack in the sink. he later called to our room to tell us to bring the key down of the dirty room instead of coming to get it himself...

Overall a very bad impression abduction only stayed here as a necessity...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E-static
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fes hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

What do you want" Clean, affordable, next to Train Station and a Taxi fare from there to the old Medina is just MAD10.
Can't get a coffee until 6am though and service is .... well 'local' levels of expectation so no probs really.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makasssar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Arriving at sunset in Fes, My wife went to the receptionnist and after being told that there was a room for 60€, she inquired about a cheaper place to stay for the night.
She was told to go a bit further, around the mosque, and look for the Hotel "aârsh".
After having looked in vain for this hotel, she then asked the man in charge of the mosque where was the hotel.
"aârsh" actually means jail in moroccan language replied the man, and said he whished the receptionnist 10 years stay in the recommanded place.
Is it a crime to ask for a room for less than 60€ (a quarter of the local minimum official wage) and get this kind of abuse, in a muslim country where hospitality is a must ???

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getridofLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I arrived on the train from Marrakech around 8:30 pm without a hotel reservation. I walked to several hotels 1) Royal Mirage wanted $100 eventhough Internet rate was $46; 2) Ibis asked $65 with breakfast; 3) Ramada rate $80 and Perla $45 without breakfast. The bed in my room was full of hair and I saw long strands of hair on the tile floor. The heater blew cold air and I froze the entire night (in morning I realized that window was wide open!). TV worked well and I watched a movie in English.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlgm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We were recommended this hotel by the Ibis receptionist, as their hotel was full.

Like Ibis, this hotel is close to the train station, but a fair walk from the Medina. It is certainly worse value for money than Ibis. The room was just OK (with a useless tiny niche with a table and two chairs - apparently they call this "junior suite", also the price was higher), the bathroom slightly moldy, the tooth cup disgusting, the shower nice. The hotel is in a side street, but still gets some traffic noise.

The receptionist insisted on cash payment in the evening (before the bill was issued), but the difference between what we paid and what was written on the receipt was "only" 4 Dh.

Further drawbacks:
- no internet access
- no credit cards accepted

Conclusion: O.K. if you are stranded at the train station, but there are certainly better places in Fez for the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrej71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#83 of 98 in Fes
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#54 of 98 in Fes
732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#57 of 98 in Fes
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#90 of 98 in Fes
120 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#70 of 98 in Fes
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#45 of 98 in Fes
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Property: Hotel Perla
Address: 15 Rue de La Jordanie | Quartier de la Gare, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing