We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2 brother in laws and there 2 kids (each)”
other travelers have booked this property
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool)
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool) La fontaine et le bassin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool)
Dar Essoaoude - La fontaine et son bassin/petite piscine à débordement (pool)
La fontaine et le bassin
Dar Essoaoude - La Maison du Bonheur
La beauté du cèdre sculpté
Terrace
Terrace
Un accueil chaleureux avec un thé de bienvenue et patisseries marocaines
Tradition du chant, pour vous sur la terrasse !
Le Salon et sa bibliothèque
Le salon confortable en hiver (chauffage par le sol et cheminée)
Le salon
Le salon
Le Patio, la fontaine et son bassin, l'entrée de la chambre 1 (Triple)
le Patio et l'entrée de la chambre 1 (triple)
La chambre 1 (triple)
La chambre 1 (Triple)
La chambre 1 (Triple)
La chambre 1 (Triple)
The Bedroom 3
La mezzanine de la chambre 1 avec un lit simple
La salle de bains de la chambre 1 (triple)
La Salle de bain en mezzanine de la chambre chambre 1 (triple)
La salle de bains de la chambre 1 (triple)
La salle de bain chambre 1
La chambre 2 (double)
Chambre 2 (double - lit 160cm)
Chambre 2 (double avec salle de bains en suite)
Salle de bains de la chambre 2 (double)
La salle de bains 'en suite' de la chambre 2 (double)
La chambre 3 (Twin)
La salle de Bain de la chambre 3 (twin)
Salle de bains de la chambre 3 (Twin)
Salle de bains de la chambre 3 (Twin)
Tradition de la danse, à domicile pour une occasion spéciale !
Au milieu du patio, un magnifique travail de zellige
The Bedroom 1
La beauté du cèdre sculpté, sur la terrasse
Zellige sculpte et citation à l'origine du nom de la maison
Le plafond du salon : réalisation unique, en cèdre
Les traditions du cuivre et du plâtre en harmonie
Le jardin privatif, devant la maison
Patio
La tradition d'accueil, à l'eau de fleur d'oranger
La cuisine
Tajine de poulets aux coings
Tajine de viande aux pruneaux et amandes
Entrées chaudes aux fruits de mer et légumes de saison.
Tajine de viande de veau aux petits pois et artichauts.
La soupe marocaine ''Harira'' .
Couscous aux légumes
Salades marocaines, une spécialité de notre maison.
Tajine de légumes ''Végétarien''
Briouates aux amandes et miel
La Pastilla au lait 'Knafa'
Dessert au Pommes.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
YusufN_12
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“2 brother in laws and there 2 kids (each)”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first visit to Morocco, we arrived at Fes airport approximately 8.30 pm we were greeted by a friendly driver (Hameed) organised by the manager (Fatima) of the Riyad where we stayed.

Our group consisted off Myself, my brother inlaw, my 2 children and his 2 children.

Upon arrival at bab Rcif our bags were taken by Ameen and Ayoub (2 workers at the Riyad) we were led through a small market and up a load of steps in to a very narrow alleyway and once we were in Wow well what can I say it was a different world then one would imagine, after walking through the hustle and bustle of a very busy area. Fatima had prepared some lovely mint tea for us followed by a lovely meal.

The Riyad is located very conveniently near shops, markets, taxi ranks, Hamam etc.
The local market was literally a stones throw away and you could purchase almost anything you want from fresh fruit and produce to household goods.

Fatima made our stay as comfortable as possible she offered us a few ideas in terms of places to visit and also gave us a hint of what to expect etc.
We had breakfast and dinner at the Riyad every day the breakfast was light and delicious and the dinners were just amazing home cooked Morrocon dishes prepared to perfection by Amina every meal we had was absolutely delicious and prepared with so much care. I think my favourite meals were the lamb Tagine followed by the pigeon pie.

The Riyad also benefited from a very small pool which the kids and bro inlaw made the most of during the hot afternoons.

During our stay we went on a few trips the most memorable was the trip to the atlas mountain through the country side followed by feeding the monkeys in the forest the kids really enjoyed the trip.

We also made a day trip to Rabat beach which was around 130 miles away it was well worth it, we went to a posh sea food restaurant followed by a few hours at the beach.

Fatima, Amina, Ameen and Ayoub treated us with care and respect and went over and beyond to make our stay comfortable, she really knows how to take care off people, Amina is one great cook and Ameen is a very friendly and caring housekeeper not forgetting Ayoub's fantastic service and wonderful smile.

If I ever went to Fes again I know where I would be staying.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2016
Thank you Yusuf … please, do come back. Dar Essoaoude and the team would be very glad to see you again.
Alain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like a dream from beginning to end”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having visited Morocco many years ago, I had a rough idea what to expect, but I had not been to Fes nor stayed in a Riyad before.
I was with my brother in law, and our 4 children aged 6,10,11 & 12
The property is located right in the centre of the action, with a view over Place Rcif, which appears to be busy pretty much all day and night !
Local amenities were great, with a fruit/vegetable/meat/fish/you name it market within a minute's walk of the house.
We were greeted at the airport by a friendly driver, arranged by Fatima, the lady who can arrange almost anything for you during your stay.
On arriving at the Place Rcif, it was a short walk up busy footpaths with the help of Fatima's son Amine, to find the house, which is at the end of a vanishingly small alleyway.
Inside, it is like a tardis - you would never expect this level of size and quality of house in such a location.
On the ground floor, there is a central tiled courtyard, open to the sky, with access to master double bedroom, which has a mezzanine floor containing a single bed and an en suite. Also off the couryard is the kitchen, which has its own secret mezzanine level where the staff can stay overnight. The ground floor plunge pool was very popular with the kids (and dads) for cooling off after a hot day out. From the lounge there are stairs up to the top floor terrace level, where meals were taken, and which leads on to two further en-suite bedrooms. All the rooms were air conditioned.
So the food was superb, prepared in house by Amina, and very reasonably priced, served whenever we wanted it. Highlights included lamb tajine, turkey kebabs (brochettes), and local dishes that stretched the imagination.
Trips out were available, courtesy of the ever helpful Fatima, we went to see the monkeys in the Mid Atlas mountains, to the beach at Rabat (2.5 hrs by autoroute), and on an official guided tour of the Medina so we didn't get lost.
We ate at the Ruined Garden Restaurant for lunch a couple of times and that was great too.
Pricing of goods in local shops seemed a little variable - beware of the numerous "family cooperatives" offering standard products at crazy prices - walk away and spend your money somewhere else instead.
Our favourite trip out was a taxi to Bab Boujloud, then walk down through the shopping all the way round the Nejjarine mosque until we popped out back at Place Rcif. The maps were almost useless, and we frequently had to pay small boys 50 dirhams to show us the way back.
We did make it to Jardin Jnin Sbil and it was lovely, got send home at 7.00 when it closes.
We also found the McDonalds and Pizza Hut and Carrefour to be interesting, in the Ville Nouvelle. Taxi rides were relatively good value, ranging from 15 to 50 dirhams - metered was definitely better value !
To conclude, we were superbly looked after, everyone had a great time, it was good value for money, and I would recommend you to take the plunge !

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and service
Liked least: We did get tummy troubles from eating local ice creams unfortunately
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thank you Tim. I am happy when I read this, happy that your kids and their dads had a good time at Dar Essoaoude.
You were the first to enjoy the pool, and this too is great as I think that your kids loved it and the air temperature was getting hot.
Hope you had a safe return and wish you the best,
Alain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
579eugene...
Miami Shores, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our choice to stay at Dar Essoaoude for 4 nights in order to really have a deeper Fes experience was perfect. The owner has created a true oasis of tranquility amidst an absolutely authentic restoration of this centuries old home. The location is very convenient and our inn keeper was in tune at all times with our needs. She prepares delicious suppers and breakfasts are generous in choices. She provided for us a wonderful well seasoned guide and made sure we were perfectly on our way to catch a 6 am flight. Dar Essoaoude hopefully will always have a place for our return!!!!

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2016
Eugene, Dar Essoaoude will remember you for years, will always have a place for you in its heart, and will live in hope of your return.
Alain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador...
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We arrive no knowing too much what to expect , but from the beginning Our Host Fatima was incredible , she was waiting with cookies and hot tea. show us the apartment which was clean and well renovated, it does have an elegant and spacious garden we had book the whole place so we were alone and did not use all the rooms. It came with breakfast which was served on the terrace at our convenient time. We had ask also to have dinner prepared
and the food was perfectly delicious, her and her two assistants a Young man that served and a cook di an excellent job of choosing the right foods for the four nights we were there. The Last dinner we ask for music and she book us a group that play and dance all Moroccan traditional music, for a very good price.. I can not stress the sad feeling we had leaving this place, it was a perfect spot right outside the entrance of the Medina and Fatima and her crew made it so remarkable and pleasant to stay. I will highly reccomend this place

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our host Fatima and her crew
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2016
We are so happy to read this.
Your satisfaction is our motivation and your happiness is our pleasure.
Thank you for all, and hope to meet you again
Alain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F
Durango, CO
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must in Fes”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I cannot recommend Dar Essoaoude more highly. The dar is lovely, clean, and perfectly situated to explore the medina. Fatima, Amina, and Amine were wonderful to all of us and always went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. We ate dinner every evening at the dar, and were spoiled with all of Amina's cooking. Everything she made was exceptional, even my 8 year old daughter who is very picky loved Amina's cooking.
The furnishings are simple in their elegance and made to make guests comfortable. We ate a lovely breakfast each morning on the terrace overlooking Bab Rcif.

I hope we can return to the care of Fatima and her staff and enjoy Fes again in the near future.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff was the best!!!!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2016
Thank you very much Lisa, it was a pleasure to have you in Dar Essoaoude. Making your family feel like home was our aim, and we are happy if we succeeded. It would be a great satisfaction to welcome you again, and there is still much to discover in Fez.
Warmest Regards
Alain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre G
Toulon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience for my first time in Morocco”
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our trip started with a driver organised by the owner to pick us up from the airport. After 15 minutes on recently refurbished road through the new town we arrived to the medina. This Dar is ideally located close to one of the medina's main entrance. One of the staff was waiting for us at the gate and took our luggage to the house. We were then welcomed with tea and sweets. The house is newly renovated with an impressive attention to details, every bit of traditional decoration is available here, from zellige to cedar doors and ceiling and carved plaster. The room was very confortable and always clean. The house manager, Fatima was very keen in showing us around and explaining the medina history and secrets. As it was my birthday, she organised some traditional dancers and singers during an unforgettable lunch time on the terrace overseeing the medina.
I greatly recommend this Dar where you feel like home.

Date of stay: January 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2016
Bon anniversaire ! Special occasion, special treat !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberadiv...
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, authentic and newly renovated home, excellent service!”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay was amazing!!!! This is a beautiful home, excellent staff and great location.
Taxi stand 2 mins walk. Caretaker Fatima is like family and welcomed us with great Moroccan food! This is a great location if you visit Fez, in the heart of old town medina. You will not be disappointed. We lived here with our four kids. The steps are not as steep as other riads and the layout of the home is perfect for families with kids or even without kids. Normally terraces are a floor above the home-rooftop. In this Riad, the terrace is at bedroom level overlooking rcif square. There is a dining table on terrace and a great place to congregate in evenings.
Happy to say we all felt at home during our one week stay!

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2015
Nous sommes heureux d'avoir réussi à vous satisfaire ! Notre maison, adaptée à une famille ou à un groupe d'amis, est effectivement votre maison, et Fatima y veille avec discrétion et dévouement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing