We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time in Fès”
Review of Dar El Menia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar El Menia
Ranked #112 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I loved Dar El Menia! It's a lovely place hidden in a gem that is The Medina in Fes. Being a first timer in Morocco, I was worried that my friend and I would get lost, especially in the medina. It is literally a maze but the people at Dar El Menia made it seem like a piece of cake getting there. Our flight from the airport arrived an hour late and we had scheduled a pick-up(HIGHLY RECOMMENDED) and we were worried the pick up guy would leave but we found him there waiting and we were so thankful. The trip from the airport went smoothly and when we arrived at the medina we were met with a guide from Dar El Menia. He was super friendly and led us through the maze to the riad. From the outside it looks grim, but inside it is gorgeous with classic islamic architecture. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff were so friendly. It was also a lovely view from the terrace. Dar El Menia is located perfectly in the medina and I highly recommend it to anyone looking to have a pleasant stay in Fès.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valoreo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Dar El Menia in the heart of the Medina. We would start the day with a sumptuous breakfast on the roof top (eggs, baked bread, jam, butter, coffee with cardamon (I didn't like the cardamon) and when I requested not to have it, they were happy to oblige. I loved our guide recommended by Graham our host. He was very open, told lots of amazing stories everywhere we went, and never tried to foist any items on us. At one point I bought a leather jacket and it arrived not quite as I ordered. He took the jacket back to the vendor and corrected the problem to my satisfaction. Our room was comfortable and well furnished. The only drawback was the first night our room had a low ceiling and my husband is very tall. Graham changed our room the very next day. We were disappointed he didn't have room for one more night. We are returning again this summer and will book our room with him once again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked the entire dar for 15 nights for a floating population of family and friends. It turned out to be perfect for us, allowing us the flexibility to be as busy or lazy as we wanted each day. Jamal, our host, guide, friend and advisor, was so fantastic and funny and helpful. Mostapha and Um Kithum prepared the most delicious breakfasts each day that set us up for a full day of adventuring. This was the first time in Morocco for all of us and we all fell in love with the place and will definitely come back. The dar felt authentically Moroccan and was comfortable and charming and the shower was great (better than at my home!). There were sufficient places (sitting areas, kitchens, roof top) for us each to have privacy when we wanted or to gather in different groups. Beds perfectly comfortable. The dar is located right in the heart of the old medina which we loved - perfect for venturing out each day in a different direction. We came to know our local cafes and shops, and found everyone tremendously friendly. We are relatively poor linguists but found that people could understand us with our crazy mix of school French and English and sign language. I am still raving about Dar El Menia, three weeks after my return, and dreaming about how soon I can go back.

Room Tip: The variety of rooms offers many options for families, couples and friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Quite simply the place to stay. Graham, our host was most welcoming and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and decorated in an authentic, traditional style. The meals were second to none thanks to the chef Um Kal Thum, she certainly is a great asset. This B and B is perfectly located to visit the main attractions on the Medina area. Very reasonably priced and great value for money. check this place out, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memyselfneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Dar El Menia is an ancient house in an ancient city, beautifully restored by its English owner. There are only four rooms, so the experience is more like staying in a guest house than in a hotel.The Dar provides just the right balance of unobtrusive help and support - staff are around in the mornings and evenings, and in the afternoons guests have the house to themselves. Having our own key to the front door and use of a kitchen was a real privilege.

The rooms are beautifully furnished, but we spent most of our time on the roof, lounging on the cushions and watching the sky change colour over the rooftops. As others have noted, the Dar is situated right in the middle of the medina, so is easy to pop back to when the shopping and sight seeing all gets too much!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Organised_person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our first visit to Morocco, We found Dar El Menia on the Internet,
We were met in the parking area by Jamal and on our walk to the Dar we started to haqve grave doubts as the alleys became narrower and narrower. Our fears were soon dispelled when we entered the front door and walked into the magnificent courtyard.
The accommodation was excellent as was the service and frienliness of Graham, Jamal, Mustafa and Kathan. A added bonus in a "dry" (alcohol-free) country was the "honesty bar" in the kitchen so we could have a drink on the roof terrace and watch the sun setting.
The location of the guesthouse was perfect and right in the middle of the vibe, which is Fez.
Would we return to Fez? Most definately and we would stay at Dar El Menia.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Pikap39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Visiting Fez is like going back in time - staying at the Dar el Menia makes the time travel complete.

On my architecture travel trough Morocco - Dar el Menia was not just a place to stay but also an architectural experience. The house is a beautiful old traditional courtyard house situated nicely in the labyrinth of the Fez medina. Feeling at home in your study material - what a treat!

Dar el Menia ended up being my temporary home in Fez. The host Graham and his crew are very helpful an welcoming - doing their best to make your stay in Fez pleasant. Fez is a very intense experience - packed with impressions and it's recommendable to invest in accommodation were you feel at home and relaxed.

Dar el Menia is beautifully decorated and restored with respect for the traditional Arab architecture and handicraft. There is a lot of beautiful handicraft details - beautiful cedar doors, stucco work and original tiles flooring. The roof terrace is an excellent break from the narrow and hectic allays of Fez - for breakfast - a siesta - or a sundowner.

I warmly recommend to knock the door at the Dar el Menia. Staying there is much more than a just a pleasant stay - it makes it possible to get a little piece of the Arab architectures hidden places.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Else-Rikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar el Bali
Dar el Bali
#17 of 217 in Fes
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ryad Salama Fes
Ryad Salama Fes
#12 of 217 in Fes
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#10 of 217 in Fes
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Siham
Dar Siham
#45 of 69 in Fes
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Menia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Menia

Address: 7 Derb el Menia | El Kobra, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $70 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar El Menia 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar El Menia lies in the heart of Fes (Fez) Medina, former imperial capital of Morocco and the world’s largest medieval medina. Fes is a UNESCO World Heritage Site but it is not a museum it is a living, breathing city and Dar El Menia provides the perfect luxurious base to begin exploring the old and the new. This dar, or courtyard house, is at least 250 years old and has recently been completely restored using local craftsmen, techniques and materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Dar El Menia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Menia Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing