We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay of 1001 nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Chrifa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Chrifa
Ranked #79 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Bremgarten, Switzerland
1 review
“Fantastic stay of 1001 nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

I got a very warm welcome in the Hotel. And during my stay of 4 nights I got all the information I needed and very hearty discussions. The Patio in the hotel is great. And the rooms are in the style of 1001 nights. Every room is different. The hotel itself is very calm and the view over the old town Fes from the roof is fantastic.

Room Tip: Let you show the rooms when you are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reichesherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    26
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

very warm welcome, very nice staff (hichem very good guy!!) we stayed in beautiful room, we had rich breakfast nice hammam very good location just 10 minutes to bab boujeloud. we had really good time. thanks to all staff not to our second family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItaliaNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

We had booked this hotel for 2 nights. Upon arrival at the hotel we were shown to our room. We could smell dampness as soon as we walked in. This was confirmed by the walls of the bathroom. We asked to be moved to a better room. After explaining to us that this was supposedly a 'feature' of the hotel, we were shown to a room which was better, but still nowhere near what we had expected based on the website. The floor tiles and furniture were quite old and worn and the bathroom also had signs of dampness. Worse was yet to come however. The next morning we were told that we had to pay additional taxes for accommodation that was sub-standard to begin with. This was despite the fact that our booking through hotels.com had explicitly stated that all taxes and fees were included.

This led to our first meeting with the receptionist. I have to say she was very unpleasant to deal with, asking if either of us had any experience of travelling and petulantly turning the computer screen away from us at one point. She eventually admitted having sent an email to hotels.com to sort this out, but still insisted we pay up. We asked to speak to the owner, who consequently didn't bother to turn up. We had a similar confrontation the following day and in addition we were charged several times the cost price for a bottle of water which we had been told was free. We have travelled many places in the world but we will never forget this hotel or the way we were treated. We feel we have been maltreated and quite deceived. Do not be fooled by the website or the slick photography and please do not make the same mistake we did by booking this unfriendly, overpriced, sub-standard excuse for a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdoherty12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

This Riad is absolutely lovely and the service is great. If you require anything: a guide, a car, dinner, tea, etc. The owner or the staff will help you find what you need. The breakfast is simple, fresh and there is something new each morning. Do be nice to the lady who will make your bed as she is also your cook! I will go back if in Fes or to the sister Riad Jardin Chrifa.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jssurleplateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

The place is clean with big rooms, hot water and water pressure excellent. They have a good in house hammam. The owner greeted us and speaks good English. She in fact asked us if we wanted a tour guide to go through the Medina. We took him and the best thing was that when we were with him nobody botherede us (Shop owners, restaurants, children). It is a bit far away and you might feel a bit uncomfortable walking back in the dark but an option would be to take a taxi as besides taxis being very cheap it is 1 min away from Bab Ziat. The only problem is that we booked and paid Hotels.com but on check out we were asked to pay an extra 276 DH for 3 nights for 4 persons, which was not mentioned anywhere. It is not much but is is not expected.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashaciancio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

We spend 7 days at R D Chrifa and due to the vulcano ashcloud from Iceland we even spend one day extra (for a cheaper fare).

Although this place officially is no riad, it sure enough deserves to be called so. Authentic, cosy, clean and the staff's tremendously friendly and helpful.

We had great fun and nice conversations with waiter/host Mohamed, who loves to be called Mohamed Couscous, allthough it's not his real name. He's a real funny guy with a great smile that you can't escape from. Also Meryem, his collegue during the day, is very friendly. The owner of this riad proved to be a warm and helpful person as well, especially when we had to return to the riad after our flight back home got cancelled. All in all a great "Shoekran" to the whole staff!

The room we stayed in was called Volubilis. Due to a very sore back of my wife we were very glad we took this room at the ground floor and we had no stairs to climb. Nevertheless we suggest possible guests on the verge of booking a room to take a room on the 1st or 2nd floor, because of the noise of other guests having breakfast at the patio in the morning.

The location of this riad is maybe not the most ideal, but after having seen locations of other riads at the heart of the real medina, we think Riad Dar Chrifa is located quite well.
It's pretty easy to take a petit taxi from Bab al Ziat (The gate of Ziat), which is a 1 minute walk, and for about 10 dirhams (0,90 Euro) they take you anywhere in the old and the new town. The grand taxi you can order via the staff of the riad is a good suggestion in case you wanna make a longer trip. The price of a grand taxi is not really negociable, but it's fair enough if you considder the taxidriver will be at your service a whole part of the day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonandKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed in Riad Dar Chrifa, 7 days, and it was an tremendous experience. From the first moment on we got in very nice conversations with Mohammed and Myriam. They gave us a very warm welcome. We could ask anything to them, from routes, to packs of cigarettes to train trips.. you name it, They were there for you all the time! Excellent staff! Also the owner is a very friendly and warm man, who gave us a very good and nice feeling. The breakfast is nice. We haven't tasted diner but that must be good as well. The rooms are very clean, although very dark as you don't have a window to the outside. The doors and windows coming out of the inner place, like a Riad does. We missed that. But that's the only critical thing we can say about it. If you visit Fez, Riad Dar Chrifa is highly recommended! Especially if it;s your first trip to Morocco, their help and service makes that you will feel at home in Fez within a day! Enjoy!
Big kiss to Mohammed, Myriam and the owner whos name I always forget....
X

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#52 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Damia
Riad Damia
#62 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Al Bartal
Riad Al Bartal
#14 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Tahri
Dar Tahri
#36 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Chrifis
Riad Les Chrifis
#58 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Chrifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Chrifa

Property: Riad Dar Chrifa
Address: Ziat | 20, Arsat El Hammoumi, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Chrifa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the medina, in the district Ziat, with the possibility of access by car, this charming riad offers comfort and a great environment to see the spiritual city of Fez. Recently renovated with great taste and love, Riad Dar Chrifa is designed in the traditional Moroccan decor which creates the authentic atmosphere. You will find in this house, three bedrooms and four luxury suites (all with bathrooms and air conditioning), situated around a central patio and a lounge that invites you to both rest and relaxation. You can also enjoy the tadelakted hammam after a long day of walking in the Medina, and a pleasant terrace with a beautiful panoramic view of downtown. You can have an evening dinner in the sitting room, the patio or the terrace and enjoy tagines, couscous, grilled meats, pastilla and all the flavors of Moroccan cuisine. We will welcome your arrival with tea and Moroccan pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar Chrifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Chrifa Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing