We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tizwa Fes
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Riad Tizwa is quite simply a magical, unmissable experience. From the minute you arrive, when you are greeted with mint tea in the beautiful courtyard, you are looked after like a member of the family and encouraged to think of the house as your home. The rooms are breathtaking - it's hard to believe that you can stay somewhere so palatial on this kind of budget. We had two enormous rooms for our group, and you could see the love that had been lavished on the decoration of both - they were full of individual touches and decorated with an enormous amount of sensitivity and flair.

You start the day in the best possible way, with a delicious breakfast on the roof terrace as the sound of morning prayer drifts over the rooftops. At night, the beds couldn't be more comfortable, and we all had the best sleep we'd had in years - the place is completely silent, despite its fantastic position in the Old Town.

But what really makes this hotel stand out is the staff - they were attentive and friendly from the minute we arrived to the minute we left, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The wonderful Miriam offered us a piece of cake one day, and when we said we liked it, she made it specially for us every day from then on - all on the house. In short, this is a wonderful hotel and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnypanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
97
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I can only add to the already-glowing reviews of this fabulous Riad.
On arriving, rather tired, from Marrakech by train, we were greeted warmly and given the obligatory mint tea. The warmth and helpfulness of the service (provided by Samir and Mirieme) knew no bounds throughout our 5 day stay, and it really did feel as though we were living with friends.
Service aside, the rooms are all lovely - we had room one, on the basis of tripadvisor reviews, and were not disappointed: beautiful big room, comfy big bed, very quiet, and lovely and dark at night. All the Moroccan touches you would expect, also - beautiful cushions and furnishings.
Finally, the Riad is in a perfect position, just outside medina walls: very central, and only a little way along a quiet side-street, elminiating the need to fumble around in sligthly scary dark streets (not really scary - Fes just feels so medieval!!).
All in all, I can't imagine a better place to stay in the city. Oh, and fabulous roof terrace, too - we spent many a lazy hour gazing at the sky line and enjoying the delicious breakfasts up there.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yogaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

My group had an enjoyable stay at Riad Tizwa. The riad is beautiful and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The location is great and the roof top breakfasts are memorable.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddbelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

My second visit to Riad Tizwa in two years - and I was welcomed like an old friend by Meriem and Samir. The setting is as elegant as ever and the service professional, warm and discreet.
From the delicious roof top breakfast to finally laying my head down in the beautiful rooms - it was all perfect.
The staff are exceptional and their local knowledge invaluable and generously shared.
No better spot in all of Fes to call home.
Look no further and make your booking now - you wont regret it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxylady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Riad Tizwa in Fes. The best thing about it is the location. It is on a quiet side street, but it is very close to anything you could want to see in Fes, and Fes is a beautiful city to walk around. The hotel is quite close to the Bab Boujloud and the souks. We enjoyed visiting all of the medersas best.

The riad is beautiful on the inside, intricately decorated with beautiful tiles. The free breakfast is good (served anytime of day which can be good if you are jet-lagged and sleep in late), and mint tea is available anytime for free. We didn't eat any other meals there because they were quite expensive. The service is great and everyone who works there is really nice. We even met the owner while there and chatted with him a bit about how he chose the tilework in the riad. You can also use their laptop for free anytime to check email, etc. The people who work there speak great English so that can be quite helpful.

We took one of the tours through the hotel--to Meknes, Volubilis, and Moulay Idriss. It was a bit expensive but well worth the convenience of having a personal driver (though you should be aware that he is a driver, not a guide, so remember to bring your guidebook).

There were a couple things we didn't like as much. First, the name of the hotel isn't written anywhere outside the door, so it is quite hard to find the first time. Also, the bathroom in our room was small with a very low ceiling. The shower was kind of hard to use, especially for a taller guy. But we managed. The last thing was we really wish the room had a safe. All of the other places we stayed had them, and here it was a bit inconvenient not to be able to leave valuables or extra money in a safe. Despite these though, we'd probably stay here again, especially after having seen the locations of some of the other places we had considered. This location was definitely the best. And it really is worth staying here just to see the inside of the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoorestTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The first impression was amazing. Arrived at midnight, and Samir (the most gentle guy in Morocco) was waiting me with some tea, bread and a wonderful soup. "To feel like in your home" never made so much sense. When I asked "what time is the breakfast served" the answer was: anytime you want. Things like this, together with the Meriemme's afternoon cake, the breakfast at the terrace, wonderful bedroom (the bed is just amazing) and quite good location makes me almost obligated to return. And return as soon as possible. Thinking twice... "To feel like home" is not fair, as I don't feel all that relaxed neither in my own place. Thank you Samir, Meriemme & Richard!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlinneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I stayed at Riad Tizwa while attending a photo workshop in Fes. The staff could not have been more accomodating. A driver was sent to pick me up from the train station, and helped me with my bags to the riad. Once I arrived, one of the staff members, Samir, made me mint tea and immediately presented a map of the medina so that I could get my bearings. Breakfast is served at any time, usually up on the roof patio, and includes homemade yogurt, coffee, tea, orange juice, croissants, french bread, jam, butter, and fruit. I'm sure if there was anything else that one wanted, it would be added. Everything I needed was provided, and Samir couldn't have done more to make everything perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okaycards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#24 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#13 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Tafilalet
Riad Dar Tafilalet
#18 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#14 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laayoun
Riad Laayoun
#6 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Property: Riad Tizwa Fes
Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Fes
#13 Spa Hotel in Fes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing