We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad in Fes”
Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Tizwa Fes
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2009

My wife and I spent three nights at the Riad Tizwa in Fes. Our experience was very good. The staff could not have been more kind and friendly. We were in Room 1, which we thought was wonderful. The breakfasts were excellent. Since the weather was good, we took breakfast on the rooftop terrace, overlooking the city with a view of the mountains. We had a dinner there, which was also excellent. They arranged a guide for us for a half day, and he was excellent. I plan to return, and also try their other Moroccan riads.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cndwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 214 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2009

Beautiful, affordable riad in a great location. Super quiet. Great breakfast on the rooftop every morning. Miriam and staff were very welcoming and spoke very good English. We stayed in Room #2, which was on the top floor. Really pretty fairly large room but small bathroom with a bit of an awkward shower with very little water pressure. We could have paid more to stay in a bigger room with a better bathroom. Room 4 is the best! Huge bathroom with tub and on the rooftop, so totally separate. Get that if you can.
The first night we arrived the staff sent us to an amazing restaurant around the corner but it was $$$$. Try to stick with recommendations of places to eat off trip advisor. More affordable. One that we loved was le kasbah and cafe clock, both nearby.
The riad staff also hooked us up with 2 great tours. One of the medina which was amazing and the other tour of the mid-atlas mountains. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aef9892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Welcoming and inviting, Riad Tizwa's staff made every effort to make us feel at home. Dining on the rooftop was such a treat, and the food was quite delicious. Our rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The location was perfect for exploring the city and the guide provided for us by the hotel was knowledgeable and charming. Overall, I would highly recommend staying here and at their sister riad in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whipple69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

A lovely little hotel just on the edge of Fes' incredible Medina. Luxurious, comfortable, and staffed by wonderful friendly people, the hotel was a treat. A half day visit to the Medina with the hotel's chosen guide is also strongly recommended - fluent in English and an authority on Fes history, he found the perfect balance between information and brevity to make the day fascinating. Another highlight was a visit to the local hammam, accompanied by one of the staff - if you fancy being scrubbed to within an inch of your life by a half naked octogenarian this it your chance!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retsianapav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Well, where to start? I returned from our big Morocco adventure about 3 weeks ago and am sadly back to serious, normal life!

My sister and I LOVED Morocco and staying at the Riad Tizwa in both Fes and Marrakech was one of the many trip highlights.

Firstly Fes – I followed the owner's recommendation about Room 4. Staying on the rooftop was quite magical and the huge star lampshade in the bathroom inspired me to buy one of my own. Amazingly it made the trip all the way back to Singapore undamaged! The Riad itself is gorgeous, and so beautifully restored.

The Riad manager, Merieme and her team looked after us wonderfully, so much so that we felt completely at home. In fact my sister made firm friends with Taha – enjoying his company for a cigarette or two on the rooftop in the evenings!

Merieme also organized for Hicham to give us a tour of the Fes Medina. He was great company, spoke good English and was extremely knowledgeable. I loved the fact that he took us behind the main streets to meet many of the artisans off the beaten track, including the man who makes the rattan mats for all the mosques in Fes.

I would also like to express my thanks to Merieme for her care and help. We had a small mishap on our last day in Fes, meaning we would have missed our train to Marrakech. Merieme personally came to the train station and organized our new tickets at no additional cost. She was a real life saver.

At the Riad Tizwa, Marrakech Sanaa and her team also looked after us wonderfully. Unfortunately we both caught a little dose of food poisoning but the roof terrace was the perfect place to chill out and recover.

Everything about both Riads was authentic and elegant ... each with its own unique style. I loved the fact that many of the furnishings and decoration were recycled, second-hand or antique, preserving the way I would imagine a Moroccan home might feel. Oh, and the natural products in the bathroom were so gorgeous I think we bathed more often than we really needed to!

We would like to thank the owners for making all the booking arrangements so easy, and to the teams at the Riad Tizwa in Fes and Marrakech, for looking after us so wonderfully. Both Robyn and I will definitely stay with you again when (not if) we return to Morocco and we will of course recommend the Riad Tizwa to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyGirl-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We spent 2 nights in this Riad in October. Great building - fine detail - rooms were a trifle modern though. The people running the Riad - Merien - were great. Very Helpful. But, when it came to paying the bill it was like dealing with a fanatical bank teller. Spoilt the experience somewhat.
We also stayed a night in Riad Dar Cordoba (next door) because of room availability in Tizwa. This was also a beatifully detailed building, but were not left with the feeling that every last Dirham had been squeezed out of us. Also received very good - and cheap - restaurant recommendation.
We ended up staying 3 nights in the Riad Tizwa in Marrakech also, and whilst this was more of a traditional Moroccan house than the fine detail of the Fes Riad Tizwa, the fanatical bank teller spirit was also there. Disappointing.
Don't know whether it is just us, but a top quilt, and no available top sheet, is not the most comfortable in a hot climate.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryMcMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is the second time we've stayed with Tizwa - the first in Marrakesh. at the time that seemed idylic - a fresh fruit salad , yoghurt, and wonderful pastries with good coffee and tea on the terrace with the view of birds flying around a blue sky and the sounds of the medina as the prefect background.
then this time we stayed in Fez - Malika's cooking and cooking lesson were exceptional. Samir and Taha served us with generous smiles and a warmth that came from the heart.
can't wait to go back
again a wonderful terrace and a parade of storks to watch at breakfast on the second day and views to die for, plus glorious food
what more could anyone want !!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthJauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ibn Battouta
Riad Ibn Battouta
#21 of 100 in Fes
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#51 of 100 in Fes
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#43 of 100 in Fes
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes 30030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Fes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $48 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tizwa Fes 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing