We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Pension Kawtar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Kawtar
Ranked #18 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We ended up here on the recommendation of Lonely Planet after other arrangements fell through. The location is excellent. The rooms however are cramped and airless on the lower floors. Sound travels extremely well between rooms. We saw a couple of huge bugs in our room (I've lived in tenements, so I am not as put off by bugs as some). I would recommend choosing one of the rooms (there may be only one or two) with shared facilities, rather than one with the shower and toilet in the room. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    9
    3
    16
See reviews for
5
25
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I came to find this pension via the lonely planet. it was a very concrete discription about the pension. the reception guys are helpful and nice. the neighborhood is so quiet and romantic. i really enjoyed the time i spent there

Actually, the price was ok in comparison with the services they offer. For those who would judge its quality should note that the hostel is not a 5 star quality. And honestly I prefer the run family hotels because I like feeling of being inside a family atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

After staying 3 days at the pension we realised later that it was so nice to be there with those amazing guys at the reception; they were so helpful indeed. The terrace was showing a panoramic vision of the surroundings, the rooms were small, simple but still clean and compatible with the price we payed. Anyway, it was one of the amazing places we spent in Morocco!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We found this pension in LP and Rough Guide and both recommended this place. Well, we do not. The both guys at the reception were very nice and helpful (even though when we decided to leave the place they didn’t want to hear about giving back the money), but the rooms - small, with questionable hygiene, dirty sheets, with a diseased looking cat nearby, small windows, even smaller bathroom, flies all over. The terrace was promising, but again - cleanness was not present obviously for a long time. The price was quite high - 35 EUR per room, for this amount you can get a decent room for example at Hotel Juane Sbile, near the Medina…

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kajtimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fes hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ancona, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

the pension is into the medina, so to reach it you have to walk through narrow derbs (streets), that are really dark at night and where you always find people smoking and trying to sell "something"to you.
Very high price for the room: 25/30 € for a room as small as the bed inside!! Window is 20 cm large, no place where you can put your luggage, clothes or anything else. Shower is in the same room as the wc, so if you have a shower, water will be everywhere and you cannot use the toilet anymore for that day. They didn't give us towels and even if they told us there is free wi-fi, it didn't work at all. Breakfast is horrible: cold milk with watered coffee...last but not least: very unkind staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentida981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor regarding this pension I was a little apprehensive. For not the first time the reviews were fairly inaccurate in my opinion. I paid 12 euro a night and for that I got a clean and comfortable room ( however could have done with windows to let some fresh air in). The location was very very good. Right in the heart of the Fes medina. The terrace was pleasant and the breakfast was very nice. The staff seemed friendly and helpful. One criticism would be the shared bathroom on the first floor which was rather grotty. The ones upstairs seemed nicer. I always go by the rule you get what you pay for. When you pay 12 euro a night don't expect five star but you could do an awful lot worse than this little pension.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Beware, bed bugs in the terrace room. Place is way overpriced compared to others, and when I showed them my obvious bites they insisted it was an allergic reaction and wouldn't let me move to one of the many empty rooms without paying extra.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Bugs and staff
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahcwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 68 in Fes
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Dar Jannat
Hostel Dar Jannat
#1 of 68 in Fes
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#5 of 68 in Fes
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Farah
Dar Farah
#20 of 68 in Fes
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#26 of 211 in Fes
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kawtar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kawtar

Property: Pension Kawtar
Address: No. 25 Taryana Seghira, Fes 30030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Kawtar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kawtar Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing