We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Traditional Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Dmana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Dmana
Ranked #52 of 94 Hotels in Fes
Alaska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Traditional Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Riad Dar Dmana is a guest house converted from a large family home built about 600 years ago. There is a large common court, used for dining. The huge carved wooden doors, the chiseled plaster work around the doors, the painted tiles, the richly embroidered cushions let you imagine the court of Sheherezad. Each room has a private bathroom. The family meals are excellent. The Dar Dmana is in the new medina so you need a guide to find the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakkasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    50
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
21
50
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The last review explains the good rating of this place on Trip Advisor; it can only be because people get cheaper rates if they give good reviews.
I stayed in one of the ground floor "suites", a double room with space for a sofa, but not a suite by any stretch of the imagination. The celing light & alcove lights didn't work, just a couple of low wattage wall lights, so I had to rely on my torch quite a lot.
The stench of sewage coming up from the bath plug hole made the whole room smell, & got worse when anyone in the riad flushed their toilet. There was also a very strong smell of damp.

The place is authentic in the sense that a lot of earth buildings that I saw in Morocco were falling down. The structural cracks in the wall above the bed were such that I actually prayed, before I went to sleep, that the place wouldn't collapse on me in the night. Can't say I've ever done this before...

There was mould on the walls, mainly in the bathroom, & something growing in the toothmug, which evidently hadn't been cleaned in quite a while.
I normally unpack, but didn't like to here as the place was so dirty. There were only 4 hangers (plus some cobwebs) in the wardrobe anyway, together with some heaps of seeds (possibly to try to cover up the bad smells?)

Walking around the sides of the bed involved climbing over furniture, as the bed was too wide for the width of the room. Wiring was pretty dodgy (see pic).

On the positive side, the architecture in the common areas was pretty & the staff were reasonably friendly; a couple of them (the owners?) also spoke English, which was a bonus.
However, do be aware that most of the photos accessible from the Trip Advisor website appear to be of a different riad; only about 20% appear to be for Dar Dmana.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WRGie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

You can get great rates if you ask nicely and promise to spread the word (for example, by writing a trip advisor review!). Fantastic interior and unbeatable location - quiet side street but only a 3 minute walk to Boujloud.

Room Tip: top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm1091985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Riad Dar Dmana as part of a smae tour group. My room was on the ground floor adjacent to the eating are. It was spacious and well furnished. My one complaint is that my hand wash never dried and everything in my suitcase was became damp. Other guests on the upper floors had the same complaint. Our group dined here one night and the dinner was excellent. I recommend the experience. I have attached some pictures to encourage you to dine at the Riad. The staff are a family group and offer very fine service. This Riad should be part of your trip to Fes.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms did not have an outside window. Make sure you geta room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esccec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here in April 2013. The building has been beautifully restored. The rooms are individually decorated, very attractive, and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful. This was a highlight of my trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so rooms on the ground floor may be preferred to those on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tish91423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is a beautifully decorated riad, with a majestic courtyard and comfortable rooms. Staff was very friendly, nice and accommodating. Breakfast was small, but very authentic and tasty. The downside was the guided tour we took with Mohamed, a guy who seems to belong to the hotel staff. The staff told us that the medina was a very complicated braid of alleys and that we would not be able to see the city without a guide. We took the tour, and asked to see Fes' historical sites. Well, the tour ended up being a very disappointing shopping tour. In the end, we were very disappointed and annoyed and the guide pretty upset as we shopped in stores other than the ones he took us to, which seemed to be pretty much tourist traps. Stay at the riad, but don't take the guided tour. By the way, the medina is not that complicated to navigate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimie_Bamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay and learn. We stayed here as part of a tour group of 15 guests and this family (generational) run riad goes above and beyond to make their guests feel at home. Each room in the riad is unique with three floors to traverse to cover them all, and with interior access overlooking the center courtyard, now dining room. The tile lined twisting steps took us all the way to the top floor to our room which had a full bath and a small window with a view of the street below, allowing for some sunset photos and vibe of the locals as they walked along the alley below. Dinner and breakfast were provided for us and what a treat they were. Full meal deals with entertainment in the evening. A very friendly and special place just steps from the Medina.

Room Tip: Consider whether or not you want to climb the steps to the top floor, or be in one of the rooms near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvenskPojken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#19 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Damia
Riad Damia
#56 of 94 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 94 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#2 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
11.8 mi away
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
#45 of 94 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dmana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dmana

Property: Riad Dar Dmana
Address: Rue Sidi El Khiyat | Rue Salaj, Douh, Batha 20, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Fes
#33 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Dmana 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dmana is located inside La Medina, in the UNESCO's World Heritage List but ideally positioned close to the Batha square and having easy car access. There is a parking 2 minutes away the Riad. Rooms : Being a Riad the rooms vary from one to the other but all has been decorated with care and taste, in traditional Moroccan style, reflecting the characteristics of the traditional Moroccan houses. All the 10 rooms and 4 suites has air conditioning, fairly big bathrooms and satellite tv, wifi as well as direct telephone line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Dar Dmana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dmana Fes
Riad Dar Dmana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing