We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Moroccan beauty”
Review of Riad La Cle de Fes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad La Cle de Fes
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Moroccan beauty”
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed in this riad for 2 days in May during our visit to Fes. The place is gorgeous. Its decorated with the traditional Moroccan style so you feel that you are living in a little bit of history. The location is just excellent and the food perfect. I would absolutely recommend this Riad, however I would not recommend the room where we staying. This room was their latest addition, so I dont think it shows on their website. Of course this room was clean and nicely decorated but 1) the bathroom was tiny and dark and 2) it was divided into 2 levels, where the living room area's roof was way too low (almost touching our heads) and the bedroom was ok. So the living room felt a little uncomfortable to walk around. However, I have to point out that we were told by the Riad's owner about the roof situation and we decided to go anyway since this was the only room available.
All in all I would go back to this Riad and would just pick a different room :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    60
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
97
217
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I spent 4 days in this riad. Overall we had a wonderful stay: the manager was very welcoming and made us feel at home. Although meals are fixed, they are very tasty and a good sample of maroccan cuisine. The place is clean, well decorated and the overall atmosphere has a lot of charm. On the not so bright side: we had a few problems with the electricity and the appliances probably due to the fact that the riad is a typical old maroccan house: however someone was sent within the day to fix everything. We also found the place a bit pricy, particularly the evening meals. I would not recommend this place to people with disabilities as the rooms are located on the 1st and 2nd floor with steep stairs and no elevator

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightofpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Our experiences in Morocco and italy were truly amazing, but Naima and her staff were the best part. When my daughter and I arrived in Fes in the evening we were very apprehensive abou going out, but Naima said we could follow her to the market and so we eased into the Souks with a local! She made us a special Royal Couscous when my son arrived weary from his long plane trip. She was so warm and delightful and never said no!

Our room was a huge triple and the furnishings, mosaics and every detail was perfect and comfortable. At night I looked our into the darkened courtyard and the most richly colored stain glass just appeared- a detail I had not noticed when I was in the main court- a regal
common room with the high ceilings that riad are know for. The roof top terrace was also nice but we did not have too much time to spend there while going about our tour of Meknes, Volubilis (You must go!) & Moulay Idriss and Fes.

So I have to rate this the tops- I have traveled and stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world but this was the most unique and personal hotel experiece ever. We all loved it and special thanks to Naiema who reall y does a stupendous job!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamolderdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Riad Le Cle De Fes is a tranquil haven in the buzz of the Fes Medina.

We arrived in Fes at 10pm with three young children and no accommodation booked. Not a good idea - the local touts tried to convince us to take up some truly awful accommodation options. Fortunately, I had checked Tripadvisor a few days earlier and had copied down the name of Riad Le Cle De Fes. It was not easy to find, but well worth the effort.

The ever-calm Naima helped us to deal with one of the more persistent touts, and we were soon able to relax sipping mint-tea in a lobby that is reminiscent of the Alhambra! Our room was comfortable for a family of five, despite being one of their smallest (due to our late arrival). Our room and the Riad were beautifully furnished in traditional Moroccan style, but at the same time it was very "family friendly", with Naima and Mohammed going out of their way to look out for our three rather rowdy boys. They also helped us with guides and up-to date tips on how best to enjoy the Medina. All in all, Naima and Mohammed have created an atmosphere that is less that of a hotel and more that of a family home.

The traditional breakfasts (with different local breads each day) and the spectacular dinner are a real treat.

While still in Fes we told other travelers of the Riad, and noticed several people move from elsewhere to stay in the Riad, once they had seen it. I doubt that you could do better in Fes at this budget.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I booked this Riad based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. The owner, Francois is forthright and warns you of the pros and cons of your rental. So in the end there are no surprises. Our rooms were lovingly decorated with authetic Moroccan and African artifacts. Perhaps the most beautiful aspect of this lovely Riad is the people who work there. Naima makes your trip particularly delightful. She went out of her way to help us in every possible way and we cant thank her enough. Muhammad is a bundle of energy. He came to light our fireplace every night and was never without a smile. You cant go wrong with this Riad.

  • Liked — people
  • Disliked — internet was down
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betteradvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Riad La Cle de Fes is a beautiful riad, large and with wonderful design details. Our room was very large, with a working fireplace and a separate, large bathroom. The room could be quite drafty but, in addition to the working fireplace, there is sufficient electrical heating provided.

While the environment is grand, I found the service to be lacking. Check in was very unwelcoming. Meals were unremarkable. The menu was fixed and not announced to us in advance. Transportation was never offered nor organized by the riad (unlike my experience at another riad).

The manager Naima's treatment of us at checkout in particular was brusque and insulting. Although my travel partner and I are conversant in French and managed quite well with other Moroccan hosts, we observed Naima was considerably more friendly even sociable with guests who were native french speakers.

  • Liked — The room was spacious, lovely and clean
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Grafittix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed here for a few nights on a two week trip to Morrocco.
There was a bit of a mix up with our reservation and the dates on which we were supposed to be staying. I don't think the mix up was really anybodies fault but the Riad manager dealt with it in a very poor manner and made us feel very unwelcome. The Riad itself is very pretty but you will get better hospitality, quality service and a warmer welcome elsewhere in Fes. The director didn't seem able to cope with all the guests and the service at dinner was poor and quite brusque. We were also asked to leave a tripadvisor review which I find is contrary to the spirit of tripadvisor.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronnie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
31011996, Propriétaire at Riad La Cle de Fes, responded to this review, January 17, 2009
The travellers arrived at the riad 14 days before the reservation. The riad was closed for annual leave with all his staff. My manager Naima was about to leave by train 3 days rest in his family and the passengers arrived in reporting that he had registered but without specifying that happened with 14 days in advance. In fact, my director had canceled his trip and vacation. She came to open the riad for this traveler. We were disrupted so it is possible that the reception is not the same as usual. We ned to find another cook and find replacement staff.
Finally this is after all to see a rather unpleasant message on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Cle de Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Cle de Fes

Property: Riad La Cle de Fes
Address: Medina, Fes 30030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fes
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#13 Family Hotel in Fes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Cle de Fes 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Riad next to the Batha square in Medina. This house maze leads us to the heart of the Moroccan civilization, refined and full of charm, like the 3 patios, one with a small pool .You discover 5 bedrooms, 2 with sitting area and fireplace .They are all bright, furnished and tastefully decorated. This is an intimate Riad and also outward with its panoramic terrace The cooker takes you into the discovery and explosion of flavors. This is a very different place from the other, looking to the future, respect for the old, and the freshness of his choice for modern decoration, is not it today is, the vision of Morocco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad La Cle de Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fes Riad La Cle De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing