We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Changed our plans to stay here an extra day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad La Cle de Fes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad La Cle de Fes
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Changed our plans to stay here an extra day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was a very special place in the medina of Fes. We stayed here in March, 2012--weather was fantastic. The common areas are truly beautiful, the rooms very individualized and quite interesting, and the rooftop sitting area may be the best in the city. Certainly one of the highest. Service and food excellent--we arrived after dinner one evening, so they made us a special light meal just for the two of us and we ate in a quiet sitting room that was private, comfortable and quiet--really amazing. We also had a bottle of wine and some appetizers one evening on the roof, watching the evening birds as the sun set. Unbelievable. Location very good--easy to find from outside of Fes, but easy to access the heart of the medina from the riad. It is also just around the corner from where U2 and Bono stayed a few years ago to do a video.

Room Tip: Each room is different. Tell them what you want in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    59
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
93
210
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

This riad really has no flaws in my opinion. The decor is beautiful. Close to sights and activities in Fes. Amal is a great help; knowledgeable about the area and very hospitable.

Mohammed takes care of any other needs you may have and is possibly the best cook in Fes. Thanks again to the staff and proprietors for a wonderful end to my vacation.

Room Tip: DON'T BE FOOLED BY THE ALLEY LEADING TO THE RIAD. The area looks sketchy at first, but it is ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a marvelous place to stay. The riad itself was restored not long ago; its interior is simply beautiful, with spacious rooms and a park-like central courtyard. Amal and Mohammed went far, far out of their way to make us feel like we were their guests and welcome in their home, not just "guests" in a hotel.

And Halima, the chef? The only reason to avoid the word "superb" is that all the food we ate in Morocco was superb. We stayed three nights and saw no reason to eat anywhere else.

Legend has it that if you leave your riad in the Fes medina and take more than two turns, you'll never find it again. We're pretty sure it's true! So make sure you arrange for a tour guide to show you around … and then to return you safe and sound to Riad le Cle de Fes when you're ready to relax in comfort, and to enjoy yet another meal that's so tasty you can't even explain it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnathonemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

This riad was so interesting to look at, the staff were lovely and meals large and tasty. As an English female travelling alone with little French, this place made me feel safe and comfortable. I would recommend to anyone wanting to see Fez. The only down points are that in the riad the price of alcohol was 10 euros for a small beer. If girls are staying on their own it is safer to eat early and be back before dark or eat in the riad. I will return with friends or family next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms look amazing, noise travels throughout all riads though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraMalara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We loved the four days we spent as well cared for guests in this wonderful home away from home. The riad is a beautiful building which has been restored and decorated with great skill and highly artistic talent. It is well located in a quiet street close to the old medina. The staff were all extremely helpful and did everything in their power to ensure our visit to Fes was highly enjoyable. I particularly enjoyed an excellent cooking lesson with Amal, the riad's charming manager, and value the tips on Morocan cooking that I learned from her. Our meals at the riad were always very good, and cheerfully presented by Mohammed. Iolande provided outstanding information on places of interest and helped us in arranging various outings. If we are fortunate enough to return to Fes, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingKiwi6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I hate being the voice of negativity, but we were underwhelmed by our stay here. The Riad is nicely decorated and clean. The rooms are cavernous which makes heating them almost impossible. The bed was not the most comfortable - I woke up with back pain which rarely if ever happens to me. The internet is pretty much unusable here. Our major disappointment was the service. They were not unpleasant, but really didn't go our of their way to make us feel welcome, despite the fact that we were the only guests there. We were also disappointed in the restaurant recommendations the manager provided. We asked for a good, authentic restaurant in the area and were taken to probably the worst meal of our entire trip in an overly-touristy restaurant nearby that was filled with equally discontented tourists. The second disappointment came when we asked for a recommendation for a tour guide who has a knowledge of the history of the city. We were told this was no problem and a guide was arranged. He was at best, apathetic and had minimal knowledge of the city's history - despite his "official tour guide" status. He took us to one or two historical sites in the medina before proceeding to drag us through a series of stores hoping to gain a commission. At the end of the tour, he tried to raise the price. When we mentioned this to to Riad manager she seemed less than concerned, which was bothersome.

In short, its a nice building, but in our opinion, the finer points of service are definitely lacking here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderluster94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
31011996, Propriétaire at Riad La Cle de Fes, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Your message held all my attention, and I am really sad to let a traveller leaving the RIAD LA CLE DE FES dissatisfied. It is for me and all the staff a great disappointment because we work hard every day so that all is perfect although we are in the heart of Medina with all the technicals disadvantages that we meet each day. About the service which was for you the most negative point, I feel really afflicted, the RIAD LA CLE DE FES received the note of 5/5 by 205 travellers out of 209. We will go on to progress to satisfy you and to be better. I thank you for your comments which always enable us to progress and to remain to listen travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The architecture is awesome and this old riad has been restored in an artistic style with great decorations. The rooms and bathrooms are good and so is the air conditioning. The internet access was terrible, but was made up by the hospitality of the staff, particularly Amal the helpful and gracious manager, Mohammed and and Halima, the cook.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinamariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#27 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Cle de Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Cle de Fes

Property: Riad La Cle de Fes
Address: 21 Derb el guebbas douh Fes medina, Fes 30030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fes
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#13 Family Hotel in Fes
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Cle de Fes 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Riad next to the Batha square in Medina. This house maze leads us to the heart of the Moroccan civilization, refined and full of charm, like the 3 patios, one with a small pool .You discover 5 bedrooms, 2 with sitting area and fireplace .They are all bright, furnished and tastefully decorated. This is an intimate Riad and also outward with its panoramic terrace The cooker takes you into the discovery and explosion of flavors. This is a very different place from the other, looking to the future, respect for the old, and the freshness of his choice for modern decoration, is not it today is, the vision of Morocco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad La Cle de Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fes Riad La Cle De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing