We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great base in Fez” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Damia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Riad Damia
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Fes
dc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“great base in Fez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This riad is clean and welcoming. Could use a little better signage outside, but being near the gate makes it easier to locate when you're wandering around all day. Yes, the medina is daunting, but this riad offers a calm respite from the chaos of Old Fez. The staff were helpful and definitely went out of their way - we were both suffering from some travelers' sickness and the staff were super accommodating and kind. Great AC and water pressure although the shower is handheld. We stayed in two different rooms on two separate stays and were pleased with both.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for three nights during our time in Fes. The taxi didn't know where it was by the address, but after spending time in Fes, I realized that's probably very common. It's off a side street close to a main gate, which later made it much easier to find once we got our bearings.

The Riad, as we learned, is technically not a riad as it doesn't have a garden. That being said, it is a very nice place to stay. The rooms were large with very local decor. The riad itself it gorgeous. The woodwork and the tiles are stunning. The shower is hand held so you need to be ready for that. But the pressure is steady and the water is hot and it wasn't a problem at all.

It provides a complimentary breakfast which was fine - mostly bread products.

The staff speaks some English - enough to get by. The credit card machine was a bit wonky but it worked in the end.

While I would probably want to try other locations if I find myself in Fes again, I'd definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurGalVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent 3 nights in December 2013 at the Riad Damia which is a beautifully preserved old home. Welcomed by Farid and his assistant, our stay at the Riad was lovely because the feeling of staying in a Riad is very unique. It was nice to stay in Ziat and not too far from the gate, I think staying more centrally within the medina would have been quite a different experience given the people, noise and confusion factor that Fez presents.

Our room itself was not much to write home about but I think that they have better rooms there.

All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the ground floor are roomier. The suite is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenyansalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a lovely welcome when we arrived from the owner and his steward who looked after us extremely well during our stay - very helpful, courteous and attentive. He arranged all the transport and day tours that we wanted - and these were all excellent. The Riad itself is stunningly beautiful and the rooms are exquisitely decorated and furnished. Fez is an astonishing city to visit and we can only give the Riad Damia our highest possible recommendation for a happy and memorable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb (we got a tour to see them all!) Our preference is a top floor room looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are four friends who had wonderful three nights in Riad Damia, which is a real treasure in Fes. The riad is a traditional fine home, tastefully redecorated by the owner who greeted us on arrival. The rooms are huge, with adjoining bathrooms. Evenings spent in the atrium were relaxing affairs, with the caretaker waiting on us under pleasing guitar music on the stereo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteinunnA335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
450 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I arrived at Riad Damia totally sick (this often happens in Morocco I believe) and was sick half of the days while I stayed here, but I can never forget this lovely place. The inside of the house if incredible with mosaic tiled walls, carved wooden ceilings, lovely courtyard. The room we stayed (with full bath) was also incredible. Not only the place is lovely, but the staff is incredibly...staff probably being one man (Adjin) who took care of us while we were there. First night when I was sick and unable to eat anything, he didn't bark at getting me some bananas and hot water even when it was fairly late.
If I have to go back to one place in Morocco, I'd definitely go here again!

Room Tip: The room with full bath (I believe a suite) might be little more expensive, but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

A wonderfull traditional riad in a quiet part of the old town, very helpful owner and accomodating live in caretaker. Fantastic service and a real haven after a trek around the medina, how it should be, not for those who love insipid boutique dwellings rather a proper Fes experience, not to be missed! Watching the sun set from the roof terrace is unforgettable, a real gem of a place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Morso101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#39 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#58 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#50 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#27 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar el-Ghalia
Dar el-Ghalia
#61 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#44 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Damia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Damia

Property: Riad Damia
Address: Derb Sornas | Derb Sornas, 10 - Bab Ziat, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Damia 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the walls of the Old Medina, yet accessible by car, Riad Damia is a exquisitely maintained masters residence blending the beauty of Andalouse tradition with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Damia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Damia Fes
Riad Damia Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing