We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original palace in the old quarter”
Review of Riad El Yacout

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad El Yacout
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Riad Yacout is tucked away in the old quarter of Fez. The building is a great example of Moroccan architecture. The rooms are a little funky with heavy red drapes and bedding, but the baths are newly renovated and very nice. It is a perfect location for exploring the old town of fez and the souk. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is sufficient. A quite place to relax.

Room Tip: They have a pool with rooms around it or rooms in the main house.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hello again.

Thank you for the kind review, and we remember you just as fondly.

It is our aim here at the Riad the preserve the culture and the art history that once was. It is an inspiring cultural experience being in Fez, and I am glad that you got to experience too.

Hopefully inspiration will strike again and you will find yourself once again in this medieval maze :)

Best wishes and happy travels

The Yacout Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Riad El Yacout
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 502 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

This Riad is astonishing. It is situated in the medina of Fes. It has exquisite architecture and mosaic everywhere. The rooms were huge and clean. The service was excellent. We felt welcome all throughout our stay and the breakfast was abundant. This Riad has a pool so dont forget your bathing suit!!! It also has a huge central courtyard where you can relax with a cup of mint tea. This riad is an escape from reality and a paradise in the middle of an old medina. The only down side of this riad is that the wifi isn't that good. But apart from that I highly recommend this Riad if you want your stay in Fes to be a special one

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrissinaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hi again....

Hope all is well and that you remember your time in Fez fondly.

We appreciate your kind words and your review of your stay with us greatly.

It is one of the wonders of the old medina, the riads within them, sadly that also means that these walls and the ancient medina is not ideal for WiFi signal even though we do have the best equipment for the WiFi.

That aside, im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and should you ever be in Fez again i hope you will stay with us !

Best Wishes and Safe Travels

The Yacout Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The riad is just fantastic and the location could not be better. you are within walking distance to Batha's square and the blue gate. The medina is literally couple minutes away. My husband and I enjoyed our room a lot. It was overlooking the pool and the decoration was just exquisite.
the service was wonderful. Kriselda the manager is just a phenomenal host and manager.She organized all our guided tours and transfers. and made sure our stay was comfortable and stress free.
Breakfast was a true culinary experience. The food just kept coming and everything was just delicious. we made sure to try all the different Moroccan dishes before sightseeing.
We just can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: the rooms by the pool are so lovely. I definitely recommend them
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosario c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hello again

Thank you for the review, every bit of feedback in important to us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, you were lovely guests.

We hope that you will remember your time with us as memories of adventure ! :)

Safe Travels

Kriselda and the Yacout Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Yacout, with a group of friends and family in May.

Located not very far from the main street (a big fountain opposite) where our driver had stopped, which is great when you have the amount of luggage we did.

We were welcomed into the riad, by a lovely indian woman, who spoke english perfectly. She was friendly and charming, a very good host indeed. After that kind of welcome, we thought, this can only get better, and we were right. We were given as part of the Morocco hospitality, Mint Tea with lovely biscuits. And then walked to our room which was on the first floor. The halls of this riad are in bright mosaic and a great treat to look at if you have a particular interested in these intricate designs. I was left fascinated.... and wanting to see more !

The room was wonderful, room 8, spacious, beautifully and artfully, i may add, decorated, I fell in love with the coffee table as well as the accompanying chairs. Felt very much like a VIP.
The towels were soft and big, and felt like a giant hug. The room in general was clean and tidy.

Breakfast was unexpected, endless supply of food. Dinner was also an unexpected pleasure. We had asked for the Cous Cous for dinner, also big portions, delicious.

A special thanks to Chriselda (above mentioned Indian lady), she was a truly wonderful person and made our stay that much special. Its all about the company you keep.

We enjoyed our stay here, and will be recommending our family and friends to visit too.

Room Tip: Enjoy a cup of morning coffee the pool court...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazybee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hi again :)

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Riad.

We appreciate it greatly, of course you guys were a pleasure to have.

We, like you appreciate the little things about the Riad as well, we strive to protect and preserve the history and the cultural art embalmed within these ancient walls.

Of course, this goes without saying... You are welcome anytime :)

Kriselda and the Team at Yacout

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

A my title implies, this riad was a lovely escape from reality, even if just for 2nights.

The courtyard is a spectacular sight, upon entering this old building. The room did not disappoint either. Clean, air-conditioned, charmingly decorated, everything you would expect to find in luxury place.

Thank you to the wonderful reception staff as well as the restaurant lads, we appreciated your kindness and attention.
Felt right at home.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor, allow a lovely view of the great hall, the height is the charm
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdTraveller124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hi again ....

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Anita Desai, a children's book author and traveller herself, once said;
“Wherever you go becomes a part of you somehow.”

I do hope that the your escape from reality here at the Riad El Yacout, will remain apart of you and your memories of Fez.

Happy Travels

Kriselda and the Yacout Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I also stayed at Riad El Yacout with reviewer RM47. It is a stunning building. Certainly a very special riad and whilst my personal experience was different I do agree that for such a lovely riad there were some things that were a little disappointing i.e. the cleanliness of the tables in the morning (the dirty table cloth was left on the tables from a dinner the night before despite staff being on early in the morning) and the little touch of no bottled water.
As for the response from the Manager - our group certainly did not knock on any doors at night to check if they were vacant! We are all hospitality professionals who have worked in the industry for many years collectively and we would never do such a thing. Having said that some of our group noticed that one or two rooms remained empty on the night RM47 complained about the standard of her room.
My room was lovely but if I had been assigned the same room as RM47 I too would have been disappointed as it certainly was not of the same standard.
Please take this feedback in the spirit in which it is intended....just a way to improve customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor that open out into the central court.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest.

We do greatly appreciate our guest feedback. If you check on our responses throughout, you will find that we generally do thank clients for the attention to detail, and their willingness to share these views with us so that we way improve.

I thank you for your fair review of the riad. The rooms that you mentioned that remained empty, actually did not remain empty. the arrival for these rooms only turned up at the riad at 1h30am from the airport. As for the knocking it may have not been you but we didnt receive a complaint from the other guests staying upstairs on the same floor with you. As i said in my earlier response, we didnt pay it any mind as we did not want to cause further upset.

Further to that, these old houses, have been deliberately kept the way they were initially built, that is to preserve the history and the authenticity of the rooms and the riad. Each room in teh riad differs in some way, no matter how big or small the difference is, they do differ.

I am however glad that you did like the riad and you room, and regarding the dining hall, we have taken necessary steps to ensure that will not happen again.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

We hope that you will visit us again and we will definitely do our very best to ensure you have a 100% good stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The building is one of the most beautiful ancient homes that I have ever seen. The courtyard and rooms are breathtaking . You feel like if you are in an Arabian fairy tale.
Service is really good. The waiters and receptionists are very professional. They go out of their way to help the guests.
We will definitely go back

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward5498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hello again....

Thank you for the review and the kind words.

We appreciate your feedback, and of course you made it easy for our team, wonderful and memorable guests indeed.

Come back soon.

The Yacout Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Yacout

Address: 9 Derb Guebbas Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fes
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#18 Family Hotel in Fes
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $100 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Yacout 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Old medina of the imperial city fez, Riad El Yacout is an ancient private residence of a rich merchant that was restored by a group of talented Fassis craftsmen to its former glory. When you arrive, you will be mesmerized by the serenity and tranquility that reign in the Riad and by the chanting of the birds and water sounds coming from the marble fountain that is gracefully centered in the courtyard.The winter garden exhales soft and refreshing scents. Take time to taste the mint tea in the comfort of the Moroccan living tradition.Admire the Arabo-Andalusian architecture which detects an art of refined living. Columns and arcades set up meticulously with floral and cursive sculptures marvellously engraved on Plaster and cedar doors.Discover the Moroccan gastronomy and enjoy the delights of the rich and varied Moroccan art of cooking. Our dishes are prepared with the finest spices and organic ingredients to give our guests a taste of the real and authentic Fassi cuisine.The meals can be served in patios, Moroccan living room, terraces or in intimacy of your residence according to your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad El Yacout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Yacout Hotel Fes
Riad El Yacout Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing