We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular riad”
Review of Riad El Yacout

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad El Yacout
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at the Yacout in the medina of Fes, and this is a phenomenal hotel. Around 660 years old, the riad features stunning architecture, terrific rooms, and wonderful food. But the highlight is the service - Griselda (sorry if I'm misspelling her name) and her staff go out of their way in making sure that each guest is taken care of like family. Its location in the medina makes it very convenient as well - e.g., you can have your rug delivered to the riad instead of lugging it around with you as you explore the medina. One of the finest hotels that I have ever stayed in - comparable to the historic palace hotels in India, and the historic hotels in Southeast Asia.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello again.

Thank you for the kind words and the very nice review of our riad. It is greatly appreciated by our staff and we strive to ensure every guest leaves as happy as you :)

It was a great pleasure having you guys here and you were wonderful guests, who are more than welcome back at any time to our riad.

Hope to see you soon.

Kriselda and the staff at Riad El yacout Fez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Riad El Yacout
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 502 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

we stayed in this out of this world hotel for a few nights as a friend orgsanised it for us,this was before we realised that U2 had recorded there album there(which is funny as i am irish),and a few princesses also and i can see why,it is an oasis in the hussle and bustle of fes, fes is amazing and old,full of history,which is amaizing but to step through the door into silence and swim in the pool and just relax in the lavish surroundings, thanks to mohammed you are a professional, yet wonderfully friendly manager,you helped us and made us feel so at home,thanks for making our honeymoon so so special. we will be back
thanks again
Ruairi & Anna

Room Tip: stay here!!!! its great
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruairi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hello there,

Thank you for the wonderful review, it us much appreciated and will be passed on to the whole team.

Fez is a charming traditional city and im pleased you got to experience a bit of its charm with us :)

Im glad you enjoyed your special occassion and it was with us, hope to see you for your first anniversary ... :)

Happy Holidays

The Riad El Yacout team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Riad el Yacout is situated on the edge of the Fez medina, about a five minute walk from the entry gate. We were booked into it by our tour company, and felt they had made a good choice. It is a large and imposing old building decorated in Moroccan style, and we were given a huge room opening off the central courtyard. The staff were welcoming, attentive and very helpful and made our stay very pleasant, thinking of little things that might make us comfortable -- a glass of mint tea when we got back at the end of the day, for example, or help logging into the wifi. Our room had a large, comfortable four poster bed, several daybeds piled with cushions, a small tv, good lighting (but not very good for reading in bed) and an effective air conditioner for heating. The bathroom was adequate, with plenty of hot water and a large sink and tub. The toiletries were pretty ordinary -- little bars of soap and supermarket brand shampoo -- but there were generous towels, tissues etc. Breakfast was served in the central courtyard (which is not heated) and consisted of coffee, several kinds of bread or crepes, flavoured yoghurt, la vache qui rit cheese, and eggs were available on request. The wifi is only available in the courtyard and is a bit slow, but fine once we got into it. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the warm welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hello again.

Thank you for your review, we enjoyed having you at the riad. And of course, its a pleasure to help with anything we can, to make your stay that much better.
We appreciate all feedback received, and we strive to improve from them.

We look forward to having you stay with us once again...

Happy Holidays.

The Team at the Riad El Yacout

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Step back in time while staying in this authentically restored riad . Ornate with mosaic walls and floors softened with decorative typical Moroccan lamps, colourful rugs, plump cushions and sofas, the heart of this place is in the inner courtyard anchored with a fountain . Round tables covered by Moroccan embroidered linens surrounded by plush armchairs are strategically placed along the perimeter of the courtyard. The rooftop slides back to reveal the open sky when weather permits. The bedrooms have windows that open onto the courtyard . This is typical of the architectural design of the era this riad was used as a family home. Sounds of conversation from other guests do echo and waft upwards to the bedroom we occupied . Owned by long time Fez resident, Allol and his daughter, Khadija who studied several years in the USA, an effort is made to get to know guests and tune into their preferences. Room was comfortable , furnished with rich burgundy velvet and brocade . Lamp fixtures were attractive though did not shed much light . Bathroom had an exotic sunken tub and shower and was pleasant to use. We appreciated the scattered fresh rose petals on the bed and mother of pearl in laid table. Laundry was efficient and inexpensive. A continental breakfast was served though compared to other places we stayed , we found the quality and selection average. We did not have dinner here as we had gracious private home hospitality . Other guests spoke of their enjoyment of the Moroccan dishes they tasted.

Room Tip: Room on upper level is preferable as more privacy is possible. Exterior of guesthouse is deceptive...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and lovely descriptions, it was a pleasure to read> we always love hearing what our guests say... and we loved hearing what you had to say.

You are more than welcome back to our Riad, in the future.

Happy Holidays

Riad El Yacout Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I joined an Explore tour of Morocco here and decided to book an extra night at the start to relax and acclimatise. Arriving after midnight after a long day of travel was a little disconcerting as the riad, in the heart of old Fes close to the Medina, is approached on foot through narrow alleyways but at the journey's end is a 'fairy-tale castle'. All was revelled the next morning when Fes sprang back to life. A wonderful Moroccan breakfast and a welcome from the owner, family and full complement of staff. We spent a relaxing morning by the pool and they recommended a walking tour of the Medina in the afternoon with an official guide. There is a fixed price for this, and it was a shame we had no-one else to share the cost, but as a personal tour it was comprehensive and we agreed worth every dirham. When all members of our group had arrived from various world destinations we took in the local attractions together travelling as far as Meknes, Moulay Idriss and Volublis, returning to the comfort of El Yacout for three further nights. We stayed in other unique riads, kasbahs and hotels as we continued our tour south to the Sahara and then west to the coast and I think everyone in the group would rank El Yacout as one of the best.

Room Tip: Our room entering onto the pool area may have been smaller than the exquisite suites higher in the m...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikepgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I can't begin to tell all you future travellers to Morocco how fabulous Riad El Yakout is in Fes, Morocco.

Khadija is the daughter of the owner. He recently refurbished the riad back to its original beauty and glory. My friend and I unfortunately only had the the pleasure of staying there one night, but the stay was WONDERFUL. The riad is absolutely beautiful. Khadija is a delight - she spent some time in America, so speaks impeccable English (important to us ignorant people who did not try to learn even a few words of Arabic or French). But, not only that, she always went out of her way to make you feel welcome and that you were the most important guests she had ever had stay there.

The food is exceptional. Our breakfast on the day we sadly had to leave was fit for a king. I am not exaggerating. We asked Khadija why there was so much food and her response was that they wanted to showcase what Morocco has to offer. I ate so much, I could barely leave the table.

As for the rooms. They were beautifully appointed. We had a "two-storey" room. One bedroom with twin beds was on the first floor and the next room with a double was a few steps up. Really quite unique. The bathroom was HUGE and all the wonderful little products you could hope for, including the shampoo with Moroccan argan oil. (I bought some - believe me it works!).

We enjoyed our stay very much and, again, I would highly recommend staying there.

Bev F.

Room Tip: ANY room will be a delight.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at several Riads in our recent two week travels throughout Morocco. Without doubt, the Riad el Yacout was the best we encountered. The facility is clean, quiet, well-situated, beautiful, the room -although small- was very comfortable, very well lit and complete, and the large shower was reliable and the water pressure strong. The resident manager, Kriselda-Erin, is vivacious and lovely. Being from S. Africa, her English is perfect and she did a number of things to make our stay and meals (breakfasts and dinner) problem free and memorable. We give the Riad el Yacout the highest rating possible: excellent !!
Lynn and Lloyd Malin Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. November 17, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Yacout

Address: 9 Derb Guebbas Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fes
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#18 Family Hotel in Fes
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $100 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Yacout 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Old medina of the imperial city fez, Riad El Yacout is an ancient private residence of a rich merchant that was restored by a group of talented Fassis craftsmen to its former glory. When you arrive, you will be mesmerized by the serenity and tranquility that reign in the Riad and by the chanting of the birds and water sounds coming from the marble fountain that is gracefully centered in the courtyard.The winter garden exhales soft and refreshing scents. Take time to taste the mint tea in the comfort of the Moroccan living tradition.Admire the Arabo-Andalusian architecture which detects an art of refined living. Columns and arcades set up meticulously with floral and cursive sculptures marvellously engraved on Plaster and cedar doors.Discover the Moroccan gastronomy and enjoy the delights of the rich and varied Moroccan art of cooking. Our dishes are prepared with the finest spices and organic ingredients to give our guests a taste of the real and authentic Fassi cuisine.The meals can be served in patios, Moroccan living room, terraces or in intimacy of your residence according to your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Prestigia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad El Yacout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Yacout Hotel Fes
Riad El Yacout Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing