We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be to experience the medina in style”
Review of Dar El Hana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar El Hana
Ranked #60 of 223 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My boyfriend and i, and another couple spent 2 nights at Dar El Hana. We were welcomed by the very friendly and helpful Ben. The Dar is ideally situated, just off a main artery so it's not too noisy, in the middle of the medina. Beds are fantastic, breakfast is great, view on the terrace is wonderfull.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 203 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised by Dar El Hana. A refurbished Moroccan family home to which there have been numerous mod-cons added. Situated within easy walking distance to all of the highlights in the Medina.

Ben and Josephine were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The authentic Moroccan breakfast and dinner was consistently great. Definitely going to stay again the next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Dar el Hana is a meticulously restored Moroccan home perfectly situated in medina. Inside, the rooms come off a central, covered courtyard with balconies in traditional tile work and cedar beams overlooking a traditional copper and stained glass chandelier. Each room has its own character and all are utterly charming, spotless clean and authentically appointed with modern, private bathrooms. Do have a look through the photos and pick the one that suits your taste best.

In the right weather, meals are served on the rooftop terrace with panoramic views across the medina out the to the city walls and the olive groves beyond. The food is excellent and do arrange to have dinner on the roof one evening complete with a few drinks, sunset, the noises of an ancient city winding down for the day.

I've been back a couple of times now. Next time I'll bring another few friends and we'll book the whole place out.

Josephine, the owner and her lovely staff will ensure you have an amazing visit to Fes.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at Dar el Hana for three days in September and it was perfect! Anthony and Josephine have renovated a house to perfection! It is exactly what you picture a Moroccan guesthouse to be!

I arrived via plane very late at night, and arranged for a transfer from the airport. Ben, one of their managers, picked me up and demonstrated the scheme of manuever of everything in the house. One of the things I liked best about Dar El Hana is that they give you a set of keys, so you can come and go as you please.

The next day, Josephine and Anthony sat down and went over maps of the medina with me, and gave suggestions on where best to go, landmarks on how not to get lost, etc.

I also arranged two trips: 1 full day trip to Volubilis and Meknes, which was fantastic and a great way to get out of the bustle of the Medina (the guides were very knowledgeable) and a half day city tour of Fez. Josephine and Anthony did a great job with the Fez city tour guide because I learned so much in a few hours!

They are so accomodating to your needs and will do everything they can to make your stay more enjoyable. I had an early return to Casablanca, and Ben was insistent that I eat breakfast before I depart. . .so his daughter (who prepares terrific breakfasts and keeps the house immaculate) left it all laid out in the kitchen for me, and explained to me how to work the coffee maker.

I cannot say enough good things about Dar El Hana ! I hope to return when the weather is cooler!

Room Tip: The room over the balcony has a beautiful bathroom; the hibiscus suite has a detached bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gambatte Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Dar El Hana. This is a beautiful secluded little guesthouse with a fantastic well restored roof terrace overlooking the Fez Medina. Anthony and his team were very welcoming, helpful and friendly and gave us many good tips for negotiating the confusing streets of the Medina. The internal courtyard and terrace are beautifully decorated and restored to their original condition. Beds are very comfortable. This is a very good intro to Moroccan culture and cuisine - Anthony's wife gives cooking lessons. It is a lovely peaceful centrally located oasis.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavelkorchagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at Dar el Hana in late April 2011 ....members of a party of seven friends from Australia. From the minute we arrived in Fez we loved it and walking down the ancient alleyways towards the Dar was a real experience. We were met by Ben, the manager and later Anthony who is the son of the Australian owner Josephine Kwan. Both were helpful and answered all our questions about Fezand what to do.

Anthony arranged a guide for us for our next full day and this is highly recommended as otherwise you will be totally lost (although a friendly face is always on hand to give you advice on how to get back).

Anthony also arranged a day trip to Volubilis and Meknes and a transfer to the airport at Casablanca on the day we left Morocco.

The dar is the real thing, with dark wood, ornate iron and wonderful interior mezzanines, plus a great roof terrace where we ate the first evening. Josephine has restored it with love and a wonderful eye for authenticity.

We would highly recommend Dar el Hana but warn it is NOT suitable for those who cannot climb or do not like stairs as there are many levels and the stairs are steep and narrow.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pubhillfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were welcomed by Ben a very helpfull person who gave us an explanation (with maps) what to see and visit in Fes. The housekeeping, done by Fatima, was exellent and loving.
We stayed in the Aladin room, just next door to the entrance of Dar El Hana for 3 nights. This room is beautifull and big but very noisy due to it's groundlevel street location. You hear people passing and children playing all evenings and mornings.
All in all we had a very good stay,
Livia- The Netherlands

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livia1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Boujloud
Riad Boujloud
#30 of 223 in Fes
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#64 of 100 in Fes
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#48 of 100 in Fes
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Hana

Address: 22 Ferrane Kouicha, Talaa K'Bira | Cherabliyene, Fes Medina, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $74 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is our specialty. Just 5 min walk from secure car parking and taxi access, pre-arrange a rendezvous and enjoy the welcome of our household staff. We help you orientate yourself with maps and information, and off you set confidently, to explore the Medina. On returning to Dar El Hana, relax in the tranquil atmosphere of this recently restored traditional Moroccan home. The modest decor reflects comfort and quality, accentuating the restored zellige, cedarwood and ironwork of 300 years. Dinners and cooking lessons can be arranged on request. We can also arrange excellent Guides and onward travel arrangements. Our 4th room, Aladdins Suite, is a comfortable room at very affordable price. We have stairs up 3 levels to the terrace. No elevator. Independant Family accommodation is also available with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar El Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Hana Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing