We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable experience at Ibn Khaldoun”
Review of Riad Ibn Khaldoun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Ibn Khaldoun
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Little did we know, when O and I decided to go to Fes, that we would end up in such an amazing riad. Our mouths dropped as soon as we walked in (the exterior is scary by UA standards, but don't worry about it). The place is breathtaking and so is the staff. In particular, you will most likely be greeted by Bilal (the hotel manager who wears several other hats). He is a true gem and a perfect gentleman. He took the greatest care of us as I am sure he does of all his guests. Mr. Khaldoun, as we have come to call him (it's not his real name but it is fitting since he is the boss), is equally amazing. What a surprise to see such commitment to a guest's comfort and happiness! you will love the place.*****

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

Don't let the appearance of the alley stop you from going to the Riad Ibn Khaldoun's front door. Once you are inside, you find a comfortable riad, a very helpful and friendly staff, and a mini-museum of Morocco. Mr Lazrak is a great host and guide. Let him guide you through the maze of Fes. He seems to know everyone and he should be the Mayor. The Riad has a fascinating lobby, spacious bedrooms, and a terrific view from the rooftop terrace. The spiral stairs were a challenge for my old legs but the view was worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

In this Riad my dream of 1001 Nights came true. Very beautiful and stylish old building. Very quiet and peaceful, right in the heart of the Old Town. The city of Fes is huge, but the location could not have been better, really everything is within walking distance of this hotel.
My room (Suite Kaftan) was a dream. The bed was great (excellent mattress, variety of pillows for every taste).
I had dinner in this Riad (hotel) twice, both times it was very good, the food excellent, the wine was delicious.
Best part about the Riad: service. It seemed like everybody had nothing else on their mind other than how to make me happy. Bilal organized an amazing fashion show (I still have to smile when I think about it), the owner also organized a great guided tour of the Medina as well as a day tour to the Atlas Mountains where I got a chance to feed 'wild' monkeys which was an amazing experience.
Also important to note: they were always 100% correct with money, everything was fair, all prices as were agreed, everything with a statement, absolutely no unpleasant surprises, you can 100% trust them.

When I left I had to admit: it really did feel like I was staying with friends.Well done, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dtf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

unexpected pleasure - riads are a great way to experience spending tiome inside the medinas in morocco, and this placewas great - very gracious owner/host, good food, nice rooms,and well located in the midst of Fes' bustling old city.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akane5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I didn't stay here, but when I go to Fes again I surely will. I was traveling in Morocco on a University sponsored trip to study the food culture of Morocco and we had one of our most rewarding experiences here. The proprietor showed our group around the food stalls in the medina and then the riads chef prepared a fabulous meal while we watched and lent a hand.
We went on a tour. The minimal rooms were spacious and the roof had tables and afforded a great view of Fes.
This is a small, yet professional run family establishment, which affords a rare opportunity to stay in a beautiful old building within the medina.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

While I didn't stay here, I did have dinner here and it was a wonderful unique experience. We happened to have the proprietor as our guide through Fes that day when he invited our small group to his Riad for dinner that night. We had no idea what to expect but ended up being blown away by the experience. The place was gorgeous! We felt like royalty. As we ate a traditional Moroccan meal, we learned about the customs surrounding the procedure. The food and ambiance were wonderful. After dinner we had the opportunity to visit several of the rooms available for guests. They were very elegant with modern bathrooms. I wished I could have stayed for the night. After dinner we had the fun of playing dress up in some antique Moroccan clothing. Lots of fun and photos. Lastly we climbed the stairs to the roof garden where we were able to view the city of Fes by night. What a marvelous experience this was.....the best of my Moroccan trip. The last I checked, the website was not yet complete but hopefully will be soon. Check www.riad-ibnkhaldoun.com

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sujancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2006

A lovely new riad has opened in Fes, a dazzlingly beautiful building restored to its former glory in the 19th century and recently refurbished to a very high standard. Located in the Andalusian quarter of the medina, Riad Ibn Khaldoun will entice you, delight your senses in every way, and allow you to become a part of Moroccan life during your stay. The host and his staff cater to your every need, often anticipating your desires before you realize what it is you want. The staff can prepare magnificent, traditional Moroccan dinners and a fine breakfast is included in the price. The host speaks 8 languages so chances are you will be understood! In addition he is a licensed guide and has an amazing store of knowledge about Fes and its surroundings. If you are looking for enchantment, Riad Ibn Khaldoun is the place for you. Every comfort is there, just waiting for you!

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank luluthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#47 of 100 in Fes
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 100 in Fes
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 100 in Fes
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#30 of 100 in Fes
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ibn Khaldoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ibn Khaldoun

Address: 7 Derb Sefli Mokhfia | El Makhfia, R'cif, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $60 - $798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ibn Khaldoun 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Riad in the heart of the Medina of FEZ Old medieval aristocratic residence built by our great grandfather in the late nineteenth century, RIAD IBN KHALDOUN is a luxurious jewellery of Andalusian architecture, richly decorated with arabesques spiritually searched. It is well ventilated, sunny and has a sun terrace with panoramic view (360 °) overlooking the Medina of FEZ and the surrounding hills. Located in the heart of the Al Andalous district of the Medina of FEZ, just 20 meters from the parking R'cif .RIAD IBN KHALDOUN is close to the historic monuments: El qaraouyin University, Al Andalous University, the Medersa Attarine, the Medersa Sahrij, the Medersa Cherratine, the Mederssa Bou Inania, the Zaouia Moulay Driss, the Zaouia of Sidi Ahmed Tijani, Dar Batha museum, wood museum, Andalusian music museum, Borj Nord museum...). All the traditional souks: attarine, carpets, ceramics, coppersmiths, carpenters, dyers, tanneries, weavers, zellige….are also close to the RIAD IBN KHALDOUN. The popular food market R’cif is inviting you by its flavours to feasts and pleasures of the fassi family table and to the ancestral ceremonial service. Our RIAD IBN KHALDOUN presents you an introduction to the history of Morocco, its culture and its legendary hospitality. With its 9 charming suites, a beautiful single room, restaurants, a patio paved with white marble, the blue zellige of FEZ, wrought iron windows, attractive sculpted plaster, woven textile, and carved wooden doors of cedar from the Atlas mountain chain. RIAD IBN KHALDOUN invites you to experiment authentic traditional life of FEZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Ibn Khaldoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing