We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm, very friendly welcoming!!!great riad. highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ibn Khaldoun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Ibn Khaldoun
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“warm, very friendly welcoming!!!great riad. highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Bilal, the employee of the riad who dealt with us was very friendly, extremely helpful. He was such a great host!!!!
What an unforgettable hospitality!!! He made us feel at home!! The riad is charming, very beautiful, very clean too!! extremely well located for a visit to the medina!!
Do not hesitate to stay in Riad Ibn Khaldoun as you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    39
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
51
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed five nights at this beautiful riad conveniently located right on the edge of the medina (near the food markets). I was traveling solo and they took very good care of me, arranging a driver from the airport, a female guide (Farida Chaaibi, excellent!) to show me the sights, and even took me to the neighborhood hammam which is something tourists rarely see! Bilale and the rest of the staff speak perfect English and French, and were like family to me by the end of my stay. The food is delicious, make sure to book at least one dinner with them.
I had a suite (even though I booked a single, there were empty rooms since it was low season) with cable TV (at least four movie and TV series channels in English) and a very good heater (in the winter, it may be mild in the daytime, but nights and mornings can be quite chilly in the desert, so bring layers!) I spent a lot of time lounging on the roof-top terrace with a book and mint tea. They'll even bring your breakfast up there to eat in the morning sun.
Be sure to note in advance that there are many stairs in the riad (unless you stay in the ground floor suites and don't ever go to the roof), and that it's normal to hear not only the multiple calls to prayer, but also the neighborhood "sounds" (I counted a donkey, sheep, rooster, the guard dog next door, and a few random scooters). So bring ear plugs if you're a very light sleeper. WiFi works perfectly on the ground floor lounge.
As an aside, I was not bothered too much as a solo female walking around the riad, perhaps because I wore trousers and a black coat and hat, and did not have a camera around my neck and a map. Once in awhile someone would ask if I was looking for something, bu if you ignore them they usually go away immediately.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parisheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China (US Expat)
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We arrived around 11pm at the Riad after taking a ferry from Tarifa, Spain and then a 5 hour train from Angier to Fes. So we were very please that the two nightes we stayd at Riad Ibn Khaldoun was just was we expect - quiet after all the Chaos that day.

We were greeted with the traditional sugared mint tea. Checkin was efficient and Bahil was very friendly.

The steps are very steep and I was happy that Bahil graciously carried my bag. We stayed on the 2nd floor - my husband and I in the "honeymoon" room and our two teenage children on the opposite side. The kids room had 3 twin size beds and a large bathroom so they were very comfortable.

The second night we had dinner in the Riad and I would definitely recommend the food. It was a fixed menu and we were served bread, soup and lamb followed by desert and fruit. Probably the best meal we had in Morocco.

The power went out for 2 hours unexpectedly on the second night. Given it was December, our rooms were a bit chilly. Bahil brought candles and we watched movies on our iPAD. We made the best of the adventure. A Riad in the dark was actually charming and they managed to have our dinner cooked by the scheduled 9pm timeframe.

Our host came by during the evening to chat and tell us more about the Riad and it's history. He was very charming and we met his daughter as well.

The rooms were very large and comfortable. The only reason I gave a "3" for sleep quality was that our room was too cold probably since the heating / airconditioning unit was at the ceiling (20 feet up). Kids room was much warmer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank china_mom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Little did we know, when O and I decided to go to Fes, that we would end up in such an amazing riad. Our mouths dropped as soon as we walked in (the exterior is scary by UA standards, but don't worry about it). The place is breathtaking and so is the staff. In particular, you will most likely be greeted by Bilal (the hotel manager who wears several other hats). He is a true gem and a perfect gentleman. He took the greatest care of us as I am sure he does of all his guests. Mr. Khaldoun, as we have come to call him (it's not his real name but it is fitting since he is the boss), is equally amazing. What a surprise to see such commitment to a guest's comfort and happiness! you will love the place.*****

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria va
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Don't let the appearance of the alley stop you from going to the Riad Ibn Khaldoun's front door. Once you are inside, you find a comfortable riad, a very helpful and friendly staff, and a mini-museum of Morocco. Mr Lazrak is a great host and guide. Let him guide you through the maze of Fes. He seems to know everyone and he should be the Mayor. The Riad has a fascinating lobby, spacious bedrooms, and a terrific view from the rooftop terrace. The spiral stairs were a challenge for my old legs but the view was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

In this Riad my dream of 1001 Nights came true. Very beautiful and stylish old building. Very quiet and peaceful, right in the heart of the Old Town. The city of Fes is huge, but the location could not have been better, really everything is within walking distance of this hotel.
My room (Suite Kaftan) was a dream. The bed was great (excellent mattress, variety of pillows for every taste).
I had dinner in this Riad (hotel) twice, both times it was very good, the food excellent, the wine was delicious.
Best part about the Riad: service. It seemed like everybody had nothing else on their mind other than how to make me happy. Bilal organized an amazing fashion show (I still have to smile when I think about it), the owner also organized a great guided tour of the Medina as well as a day tour to the Atlas Mountains where I got a chance to feed 'wild' monkeys which was an amazing experience.
Also important to note: they were always 100% correct with money, everything was fair, all prices as were agreed, everything with a statement, absolutely no unpleasant surprises, you can 100% trust them.

When I left I had to admit: it really did feel like I was staying with friends.Well done, I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

unexpected pleasure - riads are a great way to experience spending tiome inside the medinas in morocco, and this placewas great - very gracious owner/host, good food, nice rooms,and well located in the midst of Fes' bustling old city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akane5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dar Attajalli
Dar Attajalli
#31 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#38 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ibn Khaldoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ibn Khaldoun

Property: Riad Ibn Khaldoun
Address: 7 Derb Sefli | El Makhfia, R'cif, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ibn Khaldoun 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Riad in the heart of the Medina of FEZ Old medieval aristocratic residence built by our great grandfather in the late nineteenth century, RIAD IBN KHALDOUN is a luxurious jewellery of Andalusian architecture, richly decorated with arabesques spiritually searched. It is well ventilated, sunny and has a sun terrace with panoramic view (360 °) overlooking the Medina of FEZ and the surrounding hills. Located in the heart of the Al Andalous district of the Medina of FEZ, just 20 meters from the parking R'cif .RIAD IBN KHALDOUN is close to the historic monuments: El qaraouyin University, Al Andalous University, the Medersa Attarine, the Medersa Sahrij, the Medersa Cherratine, the Mederssa Bou Inania, the Zaouia Moulay Driss, the Zaouia of Sidi Ahmed Tijani, Dar Batha museum, wood museum, Andalusian music museum, Borj Nord museum...). All the traditional souks: attarine, carpets, ceramics, coppersmiths, carpenters, dyers, tanneries, weavers, zellige….are also close to the RIAD IBN KHALDOUN. The popular food market R’cif is inviting you by its flavours to feasts and pleasures of the fassi family table and to the ancestral ceremonial service. Our RIAD IBN KHALDOUN presents you an introduction to the history of Morocco, its culture and its legendary hospitality. With its 9 charming suites, a beautiful single room, restaurants, a patio paved with white marble, the blue zellige of FEZ, wrought iron windows, attractive sculpted plaster, woven textile, and carved wooden doors of cedar from the Atlas mountain chain. RIAD IBN KHALDOUN invites you to experiment authentic traditional life of FEZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Ibn Khaldoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing