We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb place”
Review of Riad Saada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Saada
Ranked #33 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A superb place”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had reserved through Airbnb, and I was hugely pleased with the Welcome. Hicham is a perfect welcoming person, tells a lot about Medina, is eager to make your stay as confortable as possible, and is very efficient. The cooks are superb, the food is amazing. The Riad itself is a splendor.

A beautiful place, a very competent and service oriented staff made of this a unique stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soudoplatoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent six wonderful days in and around Fez. Riad Saada is beautiful, comfortable and the staff was wonderful, especially Hicham. Traditional Moroccan breakfast each morning at a time of our choosing included mint tea, coffee and a splendid fresh squeezed orange juice. We ate two dinners out while in Fez and both were quite good. Yet, the rest we had in Riad Saada prepared by the staff. Dinners at Riad Saada were better than the restaurants and much less expensive. Eat in. The house stays cool despite the summer heat outside. The WiFi was reliable, fast enough and free. We also relied upon the Riad Saada staff to arrange a guided walking tour of the Medina, a 3 hour driving tour around Fez, and a day trip to Meknes and Voliubus. These went well and were very worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Riad is in a perfect location half way down the gentle slope of the medina in a quite location. It is also easy to find again once you are ready to venture into all the alley ways of Fez (the fountain is a great reference point). Mohamed is there to greet you at the entrance into the medina - ever smiling and happy and will organize for a cart to take your bags down. Entering the Riad through the large wooden door is such a lovely surprise and like coming home. In fact Bahia, Fatima and Mohamed great you by saying to treat it as your home! I stayed with four friends and we had fun deciding which rooms each would like - on the second floor they are connected with a lovely library / reading room perfect for relaxing. The stairs are steep (but then also good exercise), always lots of hot water, big rooms with very comfortable beds and always a pot of mint tea nearby.
We were the only guests staying - so had the whole Riad to ourselves - this seems to be common so that you have the luxury of the whole Riad to your selves not matter how many people are in your group. If you arrive in time for sunset the roof is amazing for the views looking over Fez and listening to the call to pray.
Bahia's cooking is just incredible - kofta with eggs, lamb with almond and prunes, aubergine salad the list goes on - but the best thing being is that she is really happy to invite you into the kitchen and show you how to cook Moroccan food - and the opportunity to drink Moroccan tea in the heart of a Moroccan kitchen. Language is not a barrier here - there is the international language of food or failing this Mohamed is always willing to translate.
This Riad is not the most expensive or up market of Riads but if you want to experience amazing hospitality and feel like you have a home away from home this is a place to consider. Nothing is too much for the lovely people who work here. I will definitely be back next year to learn how to make Pastilla!
Ka kite ano

Room Tip: Each room is different and each have a view of the central court yard. I would wait for everyone to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tineke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in this Riad as a group of 8 friends and were able to enjoy this Riad as if it was our home. Welcomed with lovely mint tea and biscuites. Worthwhile having dinner in the Riad, as the food is very good, beautifully served and much easier than trying to find your way in and out of the Medina of a night without a guide. Beautiful decoration within, worth going to the terrace for the view and listening to the "call to prayer" across the city (quite amazing). Staff were fantastic and could not have been more helpful. You are met at the edge of the medina and they have organised cart carriers to get your bags to the Riad. For older travellers, need to watch out for the very steep steps up to the second floor and terrace. Central roof over the courtyard can be opened.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyNessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in the Riad as a group of 6. The food served in the evening was really good and every effort was made to cater to those of us who had slightly upset tummies (inevitable in Morocco I'm afraid). The Riad is really beautiful and stays quite cool on the inside even when it is boiling hot outside. There is a lovely terrance which is great in the evening and a welcome break from the madness of the Medina. I couldn't recommend this place more highly. The staff are absolutely lovely too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triona_dunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

As others here write, we were offered the opportunity to book the entire place, all four of us, although the riad could easily have held many more people (not sure how many). As a result, we had our own staff, something that took some getting used to. Don’t recall the names, but we were met by one of these folks at our drop off point and our luggage was carted deep into the medina where this facility is located. Very colorful inside, it was great to spread out and enjoy oneself. We had breakfast each of our three days (including a very early morning when we had to depart for the far south of Morocco) and it was good. We also enjoyed a dinner. One day, we were out kind of late and the staff simply waited for us to return, concerned for our safety as it can be a bit treacherous-seeming in Fez after dark. Very nice people.

Our room was quite large, as was our bathroom, as was the entire riad. One problem note for the disabled, or even the slightly disabled: there is an issue with the bathroom. First, one cannot get up the stairs easily to a second floor room. Then, the ground floor room has its toilet in one direction (outside of one’s room) and the sink and bath in another direction. It is not an easy bath in which to climb and I had to help my wife. Also, it is not a shower, but rather has a spraying wand. This is not a complaint, as many folks do not have problems with such things (I don’t), but an important notation for those who do.

Except for the caveat for even the mildly disabled, our entire party enjoyed our stay here and would recommend that others take advantage of renting an entire riad all for your own party. While this is not one of the more luxurious riads (which have pools and fountains, etc.), it is a very nice one.

Room Tip: You might want to wait until you and your friends arrive to see who likes what room as there are a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I'm a New Yorker who loves to travel to exotic places. I fell in love with this place when I visited Morocco for the first time this summer. Magical place with the kind of hospitality that makes you feel like you are among your lost family!! The experience was surreal. The food was amazing, the architecture is brilliant. Overall if you want to experience the magic of Arabian nights in another century, go to Riad Saada!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#56 of 99 in Fes
608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#26 of 99 in Fes
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#58 of 99 in Fes
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Saada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Saada

Property: Riad Saada
Address: 4 rue Siage | Ancienne Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Saada is a carefully restaurated arabo-andalous riad is the center of the old medina of Fez. It is rented entirely, for 2 to 12 persons. The service, breakfast, daily cleaning, cooking by 3 persons are included in the renting price.Riad Saaada particularly cares about its insertion in the quarter of the medina : everything is bought in the quarter. Simohamed and Bahia can go with you to the traditional hammam of the quarter. Simohammed can teach morocan music and language, care on the children. Bahia can teach moroccan cooking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing