We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Riad for You and Your Party Alone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Saada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Saada
Ranked #30 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
369 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“A Riad for You and Your Party Alone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

As others here write, we were offered the opportunity to book the entire place, all four of us, although the riad could easily have held many more people (not sure how many). As a result, we had our own staff, something that took some getting used to. Don’t recall the names, but we were met by one of these folks at our drop off point and our luggage was carted deep into the medina where this facility is located. Very colorful inside, it was great to spread out and enjoy oneself. We had breakfast each of our three days (including a very early morning when we had to depart for the far south of Morocco) and it was good. We also enjoyed a dinner. One day, we were out kind of late and the staff simply waited for us to return, concerned for our safety as it can be a bit treacherous-seeming in Fez after dark. Very nice people.

Our room was quite large, as was our bathroom, as was the entire riad. One problem note for the disabled, or even the slightly disabled: there is an issue with the bathroom. First, one cannot get up the stairs easily to a second floor room. Then, the ground floor room has its toilet in one direction (outside of one’s room) and the sink and bath in another direction. It is not an easy bath in which to climb and I had to help my wife. Also, it is not a shower, but rather has a spraying wand. This is not a complaint, as many folks do not have problems with such things (I don’t), but an important notation for those who do.

Except for the caveat for even the mildly disabled, our entire party enjoyed our stay here and would recommend that others take advantage of renting an entire riad all for your own party. While this is not one of the more luxurious riads (which have pools and fountains, etc.), it is a very nice one.

Room Tip: You might want to wait until you and your friends arrive to see who likes what room as there are a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I'm a New Yorker who loves to travel to exotic places. I fell in love with this place when I visited Morocco for the first time this summer. Magical place with the kind of hospitality that makes you feel like you are among your lost family!! The experience was surreal. The food was amazing, the architecture is brilliant. Overall if you want to experience the magic of Arabian nights in another century, go to Riad Saada!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Riad Saada was such a lovely introduction to Morocco. The couple who manage the riad are warm and welcomed us like family. I forget the name of the woman who manages the food, but she is a very gifted cook; our meals there were exquisite. The whole riad is covered in hand-made tiles, and the view from the roof is great. This place is right near the heart of the old medina; it took us several tries to find our way out of the narrow, labyrinthian alleyways. We visited during the hot summer, which meant there were very few tourists in Fes and we had this riad to ourselves; the flip side is that there's no A/C. We requested fans for the second and third nights, which the managers quickly provided, and which made it very easy to sleep. Overall, we would highly recomment Riad Saada.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennan_Family_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

As a group of 5 adults we rented this Riad complete with staff. It is a delightfully restored Riad in a great location and the staff (Si Mohammed, Bahia and Fatima) were most obliging. We took half board which meant that we could explore the city all day and come home for a home-cooked Moroccan meal (decided upon during breakfast) at night. Lots of interesting discussions and much fun and laughter were had.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Correa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lleida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

The riad has really been our home for thees days. Bahia has cooked really good meals for us and Simo has been the best host; very kind, helping us in everything we needed.
An advice: try the pastilla, espectacular moroccian meal.
If we come back to Fes, we will repeat, sure!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juditva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at Riad Saada in Jan 2007. The whole trip went without a hitch. It's a private house so you book the whole place out - we had it between 4 of us but it's easily big enough for 10 or 12. We were met at the airport by Mohammed and transferred to the Riad which is inside the Medina (old citty walls). We arrive early in the morning so Bahia (the brilliant cook) made us some breakfast and some deliciously sweet freshly squeezed orange juice.

The Riad has been restored beautifully - I spent the first hour taking photos of all the lovely details. Theres a couple of bedrooms on the ground floor and then up some steep steps to the first floor there's four more that all look out onto the central courtyard. Then on the top floor there's another bedroom and a roof terrace. I would love to come here in summer when the sliding courtyard roof gets rolled out of the way. As it was January it was very cold - Fes Medina has lots of high walls so a lot of places don't get the sun. It was also very cold at night so if you visited over winter I would recommend you take some very warm clothes - little heaters don't make much of a difference in a high-ceilnged, marble riad. There's a patio heater but obviously this can only be used in the central courtyard.

We ate in the riad on all 3 nights - that wasn't the original plan, but the food was so good on the first night that we had to come back for more. I'd recommend the little meatballs, I can't remember the name of the dish but it was lovely. You can't buy wine in the Medina but it's very easy and cheap to get a taxi to a local supermarket to pick some up. We hired a guide for a day - the one recommended by Riad Saada. This was great as he was very knowledgable, but I would warn you to keep your wits about you if your guide takes you anywhere to buy carpets/throws/leather e.t.c. as the price increases significantly if you are with a guide as the guide will get a cut of the profit later on. I would recommend using the guide on one day to get a feel for what you like, pick up a card from any stores that you're interested in so you have the address, then go back the next day without the guide so you can barter and get a much better price for whatever you want.

Some streets aren't totally safe after 8pm when the mosques close so we stayed in on all 3 nights. There's a CD player and plenty of CDs - mostly french and moroccan music which was fine by us. Make sure you take some playing cards, dice or other games to keep you occupied after dinner. There's also a shisha pipe so we got some apple tobacco and had a go on that.

Fes is a brilliant city, there's so much atmosphere to soak up. We met loads of lovely people and only got hassled a couple of times by people wanting to be our guides - they left us alone after they'd seen us out with an official guide. As far as tourism goes, we didn't bump into many tourists while we were there. Not sure if that's because we went in January. Ryan Air has started to fly to Fes now though so I guess the number of tourists will increase - my advice is to get there quickly before it becomes more like Marrakech (although it would've been fun if there'd been some snake charmers like there is in Marrakech).

The city and the riad come highly recommended from me. I really hope I can visit again sometime soon.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — Brrr, cold in January
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geomog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#27 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#49 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Laayoun
Riad Laayoun
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Saada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Saada

Property: Riad Saada
Address: 4 rue Siage | ancienne medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Saada is a carefully restaurated arabo-andalous riad is the center of the old medina of Fez. It is rented entirely, for 2 to 12 persons. The service, breakfast, daily cleaning, cooking by 3 persons are included in the renting price.Riad Saaada particularly cares about its insertion in the quarter of the medina : everything is bought in the quarter. Simohamed and Bahia can go with you to the traditional hammam of the quarter. Simohammed can teach morocan music and language, care on the children. Bahia can teach moroccan cooking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing