We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD POISONING”
Review of Riad Ghita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Ghita
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

JUST RETURNED FROM Morroco,stayed at Riad GHITA IN Fez,I feel this info is very important,ate salad in Riad Ghita and my friends and family got terrible food poisoning.No website up and running to complain either?very unhappy!spent another week when got home recovering.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank amrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Riad Ghita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

We only stayed in Fes for one night and we stayed in this Riad. The staff were very helpfull and kind. We ate the evening meal here wich was delicious! (we spent 6 days in Maroc and this was the nicest food we tried). Nice terrace where you can enjoy breakfast looking over the Medina. The rooms where quite pretty and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melgmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Staff were lovely and the whole experience was just beautiful. They are extending the building at the moment. It would be interesting to see what that one will be like.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nams1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Riad Ghita provided some of the best food we ate in Morocco, their cook is outstanding! The staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our twin room was spacious, with A/C and TV. The shower was hot with great water pressure. We ate on the roof terrace each morning with stunning views of Fes Medina and the surrounding hills. Our host organised a day trip up to the Lower Atlas mountains for us with a pleasant, English-speaking guide. Riad is just on the edge of the Medina, so easy to pick up a petit taxi to the New City if needed. The Riad had great wifi which was useful. We really enjoyed our time at Riad Ghita and would go back again any time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Overall this is a stunning riad, but a couple of things were not quite right about it. I personally dislike false advertising big time!!! We had stayed in Marrakech and came up by train. Someone had told us that Fes Medina was fairly complex so we accepted the riads offer of 15 EUROS to pick us up. It was a huge rip off as a taxi is only about 15 Dirhams and we paid more than 150 Dirhams - charged from the riad. Their actual brochure (and website) advertises that they are "in the heart of the Medina" - this is a complete lie. The riad is easy to find because it is right on the outside edge of the Medina. Our riad in Marrakech was on the outside edge and we REALLY wanted to be in the heart of the next one.
We also found the owner very friendly on the first night BUT when we didn't order dinner with him nor book a guide through him, he disappeared and so did his service. (Dinner prices were at least DOUBLE of Medina restaurants serving the same menus. When we needed to pay for our rooms their CC machine did not work. They said it must have been our banks........rubbish! Between the 2 of us, we tried 6 different credit cards and none would work, so we had to go looking for a cash machine! Not appreciated late at night!

There is no doubt this riad is just gorgeous with beautiful rooms. Very clean with good beds. Stunning decor.............its just far from everywhere and NOT IN THE HEART..........basically a "5 minute walk" is really a 20-30 minute walk as its impossible to find a simple route. Fes is fabulous but the Medina is ancient with complex walk alleys. We just found this riads marketing and administration rather dodgy! Lovely helpful staff though!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandloverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Riad Ghita is easy to find from Bab RCIF. I was a walk-in customer... i had arrived after a long haul flight from SA in Casablanca and taken the train immediately to Fes. I was exhausted when I arrived so was happy to find this Riad. It is beautifully furnished in traditional Moroccan style. I stayed here twice, with a trip to Chefchaouen in between. The first room was OK, but the second room (lalla Zineb) was amazing. I have never stayed in such a vast and beautiful room! The staff were very friendly and welcoming, it felt like coming home when I arrived for the second part of my stay. The hotel organised a guided tour of the Fes medina with Raashid which I enjoyed very much. I would highly recommend getting a guide from the hotel (especially Raashid) to see the medina. Raashid was kind, very informative and helpful and spoke excellent English. He made this day in Fes one of the highlights of my two week trip to Morocco.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianainspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We arrived around midnight and were greeted warmly by a staff member who had stayed there to meet us. It was the beginning of our two night stay in the heart of Fez.The staff went out of there way to look after us .We had a beautiful homecooked evening meal on the terrace overlooking Fez.Location is excellent and it gives you a great Moraccan experience staying in a restored Riad.Certainly beats staying in a tourist hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#49 of 100 in Fes
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#38 of 100 in Fes
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el-Ghalia
Dar el-Ghalia
#61 of 100 in Fes
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#57 of 100 in Fes
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad-Boutique Borj Dhab Fez
0.3 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ghita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghita

Address: 52 Bouajjara, Bab Jdid, Fes 55000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#36 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $50 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Ghita 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ghita is a traditional, splendid house abode of notable one situated to the heart of the old city of F??s and fine neighborhood R'cif. Accessible by car with a big kept parking lot to proximity of the Riad. The Riad is built in a palace dating back to the 16th restored century with authenticity and respect of the architecture hispano moorish, perfectly equipped essential modern comfort to your well being ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Ghita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ghita Hotel Fes
Riad Ghita Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing