We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great rooms, Great food, Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Arabesque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Arabesque
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great rooms, Great food, Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I visited Riad Arabesque with a travel group that had rented all the rooms for three nights. On our arrival we all had a great time comparing rooms with one another. Each room is unique and spacious. Breakfast on the porch overlooking the city was excellent. Dinner was true Moroccan and it's quality can be attested to by the fact that locals were dining there as well. The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful as well. The rooms are all named and don't have numbers. I could not remember the name of my room but it was at least in sight of the bar when I wanted to charge to my room so I could point to it. The only concern is that the stairs to the upper rooms are a bit steep.

Room Tip: Steep stairs to upper level, try for ground floor if that's a problem. Every room is different...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    36
    16
    14
    22
See reviews for
23
76
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As a frequent traveler I have stayed in many places from minus 5 star to 6 star, slept under the stars in The Sahara but Riad Arabesque was a complete surprise.

The exterior is typical of the Moroccan way, unobtrusive and hides the internal jewels so well inside.

The greeting at the door upon arrival is honest, and welcoming and of course an invitation to partake of mint tea is offered.

Appropriate "Buddha Bar" music permeated the riad and was so soothing even at night. A great touch.

Upon entering the central area the decor almost takes your breath away. Beautifully decorated in old world charm an absolute visual smorgasbord. I was then shown the balance of the ground floor area, The internal pool and fountain is the centrepiece of the courtyard, I sat there for hours each night access the WiFi.

My rook on the first floor was large, extremely large with a comfortable bed, appealing furniture and enough room to spread out for a small army of people.

To top it off, the menu was the best presented and flavoursome food I experienced during my two week extensive travel through Morocco. The presentation was second to none and the taste? I had just wished I had not eaten for days beforehand so I had room and could eat more of this wonderful food. To eat traditional Moroccan food in the environment was a match made in heaven.

Youssof, one of the support service of staff was first class and was demonstrated so well on the last day of my brief stay when I had to leave at 4am for a 6am flight. It was raining most of the night, yet I had one of my bags carried, in the rain, several hundred meters to the already organised and waiting taxi at the medina gate.

Would I recommend Riad Arabesque? Absolutely, I just need to find another excuse to stay in Fez so I can partake of this once in a lifetime experience again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBadBorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I rented the entire arid for three nights. We were 26 in the group and we had 15 rooms. There was only 1 room that was not as great as the others. All in all, my group had a wonderful stay. The tag could not have been more gracious. The food we have at dinner was stellar. The breakfast was good, day two it was better. One thing that you have to remember, it is Morocco. If you want 5 star By US standards, you might not like it.

I feel hat it is 5 stars for what it is. I is much more enjoyable to. stay in a place that is authentic. The owners of the place treated us all like Royalty. You won,t find that down the road at Palais Jamai. Matter of fact. our dinner at Palais Jamai was, just okay, but not vey personable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InglishSanLuisObispo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I can't remember the name of our rooms, but we we were 2 friends travelling together and each had a junior suite. We loved our 3 night stay earlier in April. It was quiet and our rooms were lovely. The staff were terrific and we liked the location. We did not try the fitness centre or spa (if there was any)

Room Tip: I can't really provide a tip to help travellers secure a good room, but my guess is that all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thank you Amina ! What a treat. Gorgeous Riad. We stayed in the chaouen Royal Suite, colourful tiles, ornate ceilings, beautiful stained glass doors...the details are exquiste. We stayed here for 4 nights. It was a highlight of our trip. (and there were a lot of wonderful places we stayed). Yes the food is more expensive than other places but it deseverves because the lamb was the best, most succulent lamb we had in the entire month we travelled in Morocco. Great location with the nie view over the medina. I had a hammam that was soooo relaxing. Just make sure to wrap your hair afterwards if it's a chilly night (with the argan oil it stays damp until you wash it out) Like all Riads/Dars there is a central courtyard so if there are guests with children you might be up earlier than you had hoped. But, amina and her staff are there to ensure you have an amazing stay. They are helpful and informative. Enjoy! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrova a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place need a total change. We arrived on New Years Evening maybe not the best time for a hotel to recevie the guests as it was 11 PM (1 hour before midnight). The place was through our booking told as a five star Riad. Our first expericance was that the way to the Riad was a dirt road up from the the main road around Fez Medina. There was a parking but no investment to make it look nice. A guard was looking after cars but no staff to receive the guests. The way up to the Riad was narrow stairs and one had to walk through the several rooms before entering the main room. This place had the newyears party, fully understandable but the staff got stressed that we came at this time, they aksed twice if would like to see the party (ofcourse so the could earn extra on it at last minute). We said no as we had children and was tired. They then took us up to a room on 3rd floor. The room was a kind of junior suite that we booked but it was defintly not reprsenting a five star place and the bathroom was not on the same level as one had to go down stairs to it and that was dangerous for our 2 year old son. My wife complained and wer got another room now much better looking on the 1st floor.

In our booking there was included breakfast. The breakfast was not fantastic. It contined fried eggs, Moroccan bread and Orange Juice from packet. Coffe or Tea. Why a place like this can not make fresh orange juice or get some additional fruits is strange specially as the Medina have it all available to low price.

Other impressions is that everywere there is cracks and things that needs fixing in public areas. Electric bulbs does not work. The Patio is dangerous for children. A la carte menu only contains Moroccan dishes and could have alternative dishes and inovations. Internet is not working well and only available sporadicly.

To make this Riad a five star place all must change. Management, interior, safety, and amemneties. The place at present is only a two star Riad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had the best time. It started when when first arrived including collecting our bags, welcome music and tea followed by an excellent dinner. We had wonderful service during our stay, the onsite manager Jaffa was very helpful and so to the other staff.

I was great to expirience a true Moroccan Riad. Recommend it. The guide arranged by the hotel was average, but I would not brave the medina without one.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GrizzleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Salam Fes
Riad Salam Fes
#28 of 94 in Fes
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.1 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#17 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Damia
Riad Damia
#56 of 94 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.7 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#29 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Arabesque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Arabesque

Property: Riad Arabesque
Address: 20 Derb El Miter | Zenjfour, Medina, Fes 30030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Fes
#28 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#38 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Arabesque 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RIAD ARABESQUE was built at the beginning of the last century and was recently restored, preserving its original features.This charming town house has stunning views of medina the old city of Fez and the Zalagh Mountains.Arabesque comprises: * 16 different traditional style suites each one unique: o 2 royal suites one of them with a real fireplace o 9 Ambassador suites o 5 Juniors suites * A patio and garden with a fountain in the centre * A well-stocked library * ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Arabesque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Arabesque Fes
Riad Arabesque Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing