We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Arabesque
Nearby Hotels
$209
$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$366
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$158
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
$44
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$187
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,306
$204
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
$85
$82
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
145
47
29
19
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
47
29
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbooked a triple roomtraditional buildingthe ownermajor attractionslike royaltyan excellent dinnerarabian nightsswimming poolold palacenarrow streetsbeautiful decorthoroughly enjoyed our staydelicious mint teamoroccan hospitalitytaginebeautiful placestayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 264 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had the best time. It started when when first arrived including collecting our bags, welcome music and tea followed by an excellent dinner. We had wonderful service during our stay, the onsite manager Jaffa was very helpful and so to the other staff.

I was great to expirience a true Moroccan Riad. Recommend it. The guide arranged by the hotel was average, but I would not brave the medina without one.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank GrizzleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a excellent time in this Riad in Oct.The building is beautifully decorated, it has a nice yard and roof top to have a panorama view of whole Fes medina. Our room is very spacious, with lovely Moroccan features. Very cosy. The window overlooking the yard. The first night when we arrived was quite late, so we decided to have dinner at Riad. There was a group having dinner, we had nice Moroccan musicians and belly dancers, it was relaxing and food was nice. Especially the salads and Tagine, very flavoured. So we decided to have dinner on the next day, the couscous was also delisious. Owners are very friendly and made us feel welcoming, they recommended tour for us ( to visit medina you better have a guide, whole town is a like a maze), also they even drove us to the other side of town as we asked for spa place to relax. After 2 days, we just felt like be at home. We checked out early morning, owner also prepared full breakfast for us at 5am in the morning!! There is no other big hotel chain would do that for you! The Riad is at the edge of medina, so you have the best access to visit the town by foot. We will definite recommend everyone to visit here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QiaoQiaoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here in the first week of October for 6 days. When you first walk in, it definitely has a WOW factor - very Moroccan accents everywhere. The room is superb as well - clean, spacious, warm and beautiful. We stayed in the Medina room. The staff are fairly friendly albeit communication was limited as all of the housekeepers do not speak English. It wasn't really a problem for us as we spoke French and a little bit of Arabic; make sure you at least brush up on basic phrases as it will come in handy. However, Jaafar is the one that speaks fluent English and he is the best person to speak to with regards to any queries you have. Amina and Khalid (the owners) are very friendly too.

The Riad is located near Sofital Palais Jamais, which makes it easier for you to take a taxi back to in the night, if you're out and about. You can also walk to the merenid tombs yourself eithout having to pay someone to take you there (just outside that Medina gate opp Palais Jamais. Walk out and take a right at the second roundabout. you should find yourself walking uphill and along a slightly windy road)

The main qualms are as follows:

1) the Breakfast isn't necessarily fresh - we would see them use the same Jam/Honey/Bread and move them onto our table. One time, one of our slices of toasts fell to the floor and our server decided to plop it back onto our plate!

2) The excursions are VERY expensive. For e.g, an excursion to Voliboulis & Meknes will set you back 1400 Dirhams which is by no means cheap.

3) They will NEVER recommend any anything outside of their riad. We asked them to recommend a restaurant outside the Riad and Amina just fell silent. This is not the kind of professional behaviour we as travellers expected to see from a Riad that claims to offer the best service our there.

4) The internet is very sketchy and tempermental, and that needs looking at, especially as they are advertising it so vigourously.

As a young couple (26 & 27 respectively) , we didn't find any people in that age group staying there.

All in all, a nice Riad, but i'm sure there will be better ones out there.

Room Tip: the MEDINA room that we stayed had double height ceiling so id recommend staying in that room or similar rooms. Makes for a brighter and less claustrophobic stay.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTwos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012, and I must say it is one of the worst places I have stayed in. The rooms at first are pretty and well decorated, but as you look further its tired and decrepit. I was promised an airport pick up, which I did not receive. In my booking reservation it stated that we would have complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in the room. When we showed the manager this, she looked confused and said our booking was wrong and that we don't do that here.
During my stay in Fez, my family became extremely ill with food poisoning. I put this down to the fact that we weren't used to the food. However, I came down one morning to have breakfast and found one of the waitresses cleaning the cutlery and glasses we were eating off in the dirty fountain water in the hotel.
The final straw came when they started to spray the whole downstairs area with a chemical to get rid of insects and bugs. The guy that was doing it was covered in a suit and had a mask on, so I'm assuming its not a healthy chemical and one that is probably banned in elsewhere in the world. We were not warned about this chemical spraying, and found ourselves being gassed in one of the seating areas downstairs. All of the staff had masks on, but they obviously felt we as paying visitors did not need them. We protested to the staff and they said that it wouldn't last long. After a good half an hour we had no choice but to sit in street outside the hotel to get away from the chemicals.
Save to say I will never be returning to riad arabesque!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gl0betr0tter2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A group of us went to eat dinner here and the food was so good (esp. the seafood pastille) that we ended up returning the next night. The view of the old city is incredible and the service was really good too. I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone. We did not get the chance to stay here, but I would have done so in a heartbeat when I saw the pool!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffhalvorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews